We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Topped Oak

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Hough Green Road, Widnes WA8 4PE, England
+44 151 257 8031
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 10:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 224: English reviews
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I poppers in for a quiet lunch as we hadn't visited in a while. We were very impressed and will be back. They have an offer during the day off a fixed menu - 1 course for £4.49, 2 for £6.49 or 3 for £8.49. We worried that such reasonable prices would mean low quality food -... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dubya666
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely pub with a great atmosphere and fab staff. Love a Fizz Friday with the girls or Sunday lunch with the family. The new menu is great, chicken and avocado salad I highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank hcrrgn
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! 😊 we really appreciate your feedback, and great to see you're enjoying our new menu! Thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Dropped in at the weekend, waited far too long for service, and meals were very poor. Avoid this place- there are plenty of far better pubs in the area. Indifferent service, horrible meals and shockingly bad children's meals Why should my kids be fed such rubbish? Is this what you feed your own children? No chance of a return here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chunkymunky24
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Hi Chunkymunky24, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We regret that you didn't enjoy your visit at the weekend. Really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal or children's meals. We would like to discuss this with you further if possible so we can find out what went wrong. Please call us on 01512578031 and... More 

Rhondda, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited friends living in Widnes and they decided we would try out this place for Sunday lunch.........Terrible Sunday lunch, frozen veg and the smallest amount of chewy beef Very very poor!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bev J
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Hi Bev, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We would like to apologise for the problems with your Sunday lunch. This is not our usual standard and we would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please give us a call on 01512578031 and we will aim to turn your experience into a positive... More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my family went today 1. Starters (mushrooms) were tasteless 2. I ordered carbonara which was Luke warm when I received a new one it had been microwaved and wasn't nice at all (snotty pasta ) 3. My partners steak was cold and chip portion was smaller off the main menu than it is on set menu I was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jackielaughton
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Hi Jackie, thank you for taking time to leave us feedback. We would like to apologise about both your starters and your main meals. We aim for a much higher standard so we do regret that we didn't meet that standard on this occasion. We would like the chance to turn your experience into a positive one. Please give us... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

myself and 2 friends came for food and a catch up after work...... busy but gema and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome and gave great service ...thanks we had a lovely evening and will be returning..our food was delicious

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Sharon! We really appreciate the feedback, and we'll pass on your lovely comments to Gema. We're really glad you enjoyed the food and our high standard of service 😊 More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was really looking forward to coming back here as last time me and my boyfriend had delicious meals here. This time wasnt as pleasent. We ordered two mixed meat roasts which were quite enjoyable. And pizza chips and beans for my nephew. There was no beans left this was at 1pm in the afternoon. We waited almost half ab hour... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CallyD
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Hi Callyd, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Four Topped Oak take our reviews very seriously. We're really sorry we didn't meet the standards from your last visit. We are glad your enjoyed your roast dinners, but we're really sorry about the time you had to wait for your nephews ice cream and it... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My parents popped in recently for a quick drink and my 80 year old father left his wallet behind. He only realised the following day. Someone had handed it in and my mum went to collect it. The bar man refused to take a reward. There was £200 cash it in the wallet at the time.Thank you for your honesty,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tillymint H
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review Tillymint. We really appreciate it. We're so glad your father got his wallet back with the contents intact, and very proud of the behaviour of the staff! Your wonderful comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to Jordan. :) More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub to have an early evening meal on Wednesday 29th March with a friend. It's a long time since I have visited this venue and I was very pleased to see the place had been refurbed. A new menu had been introduced that day. I had a beautiful super food salad topped with a very generous chicken breast.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Linda! Really glad you enjoyed your meal with us! We'll pass your comments onto Josh, he'll be very pleased. Is there anything we can do to push the 4 star review up to a 5? Thanks, general manager More 

Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

This is a pub specialising in hearty food at very good prices. The wides range of clients you could imagine from kids to pensioners and a reasonably ok layout that enables you to have a quiet space. Staff are friendly and accommodating and service is generally ok. For the price, it does what it says on the tin and based... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
FourToppedOak, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review John, if you could let us know what we need to do to get 5 it would be much appreciated regards Gary More 

Travellers who viewed Four Topped Oak also viewed

Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire
 
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Four Topped Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Hough Green Road, Widnes WA8 4PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Widnes
  • Phone Number: +44 151 257 8031

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Four Topped Oak staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?