We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Topped Oak

$$ - $$$, British,
2 Hough Green Road, Widnes WA8 4PE, England
+44 151 257 8031
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good21%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible22%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (5 reviews)
“salmon” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Hough Green Road, Widnes WA8 4PE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch with work colleagues. Prices were good. Pub was quiet as midweek lunchtime but still took a long time to serve food. Food was very average. Nothing terrible just bland and flavourless. there was nothing bad about the place but equally nothing that made you...More

Thank James H
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi James, sorry to hear your experience with us wasn't great. Could you give us any tips on how to improve for the future? Hoping to hear from you very soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were 4 of us and decided to have the two courses for about £9 each. 3 of us had a starter and my Mum wanted a desert with hers. My nachos had very little cheese on whereas the other two had quite a lot....More

Thank hbeno532
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm really sorry to hear of your experience. I was working that evening and I believe the member of staff tried to explain about the extra £2 but it got lost in translation somewhere! Unless...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great taste of drinks on the bar. Nicely decorated. Friendly staff. Mmm food...... All the starters were far But handy hint try not to do the toast crispy.... for the pate My rack of ribs looked liked it was bbq outside with all the sauce...More

1  Thank Stuart G
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Stuart! We really appreciate your words. We will take all your comments on board for the future and hope it hasn't put you off too much. I can only apologise for the poor quality...More

Reviewed 16 March 2018

Steak & ale pie should have been reported under the trades description act! Thick pastry top and bottom with a coating of congealed gravy with bits in in between! 1/2 handful of chips and a t spoon of peas! Shocking! Also lentil cottage pie was...More

Thank Gillian D
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Gillian, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We have a new menu starting 21st March, so if you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to...More

Reviewed 11 March 2018

This pub restuarant was very busy when we went, very noisy so the service was very poor. We waited for around 1.1/4 hours for our meal to arrive, and no apology or smile of welcome. Food was okay but not wonderful. Prices were fair.More

Thank jetsaver
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Jetsaver, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We do take all feedback on board so I will pass on your comments to the...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

I have eaten here a number of times as I live nearby. The food is bland, tasteless and cold. Simple things like a prawn cocktail no taste, a few prawns thrown on a barely chopped up iceberg lettuce. Best thing about it was the bread...More

Thank raemmi25
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest opinion. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Your messages will be passed on to our kitchen team to help us improve....More

Reviewed 26 February 2018

We went Sunday as this is quite local to us, In the past we have not had to clear tables or wait so long to be served due to lack of bar staff but the last 2 times we have visited have been horrendous, Our...More

Thank cornwalldreamer56
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

I’m really sorry to hear thing weren’t up to standard for you on your visit at the weekend. I can only apologise for the problems you had with staffing levels, this is something we’re working to improve. We still have the same staff and management...More

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Bar: As I went to the bar to order there was 1 person serving and 8 people waiting to be served. Another member of started shouted so you need a hand, she replied with a "No I'm fine". 12 minutes later I was served. I...More

1  Thank KEVIN025
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hi Kevin, thank you for your honest review. Apologies about your wait at the bar. Unfortunately wait times on food can be a problem as we only have a small kitchen, there is only so much food we can send out at once. Any food...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

On entering we found a table next to the bar that we had to clear ourselves as having 2 young children we didn't want to be surrounded with 6 glasses an empty prosecco bottle and nut packet rubbish. Food was 30 minute wait, the food...More

Thank 393donnae
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for your review! I'd like to apologise that you had to clear your own table, moving forward this is something we'll work on doing a bit quicker. Glad you enjoyed your food and cocktails, and hoping to see you again soon!

Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

I brought my mum here for her birthday, the food was Devine! I ordered the mixed grill, it was fresh, tasty and exceptional value! My mum had the scampi and it was again so fresh and tasty! Dessert was even better, I ordered the chocolate...More

Thank Jane M
General Manager A, Manager at Four Topped Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you Jane for your lovely and honest review! We really appreciate the feedback. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to the team! The chocolate bomb is a personal favourite of mine too :) hoping to see you again very soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Widnes
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
412 reviews
1.71 km away
Travelodge Widnes
195 reviews
2.91 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
415 reviews
2.98 km away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
442 reviews
3.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Upton Fish Bar
35 reviews
.88 km away
The Upton Tavern
193 reviews
1.37 km away
Black Horse Inn
159 reviews
1.23 km away
Indispice
31 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ditton Evangelical Church
1.34 km away
The Albion
1 review
1.38 km away
Memorials to Valour
3 reviews
1.70 km away
Gladstone Memorial Fountain Widnes
6 reviews
1.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Four Topped Oak staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Hough Green Road, Widnes WA8 4PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Widnes
  • Phone Number: +44 151 257 8031
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing