We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro

The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent4%
  • Very good6%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible77%
19 Jul 2017
“It couldn't be as bad again. Could it?”
19 Jul 2017
Restaurant Hours
Cafe, British
$$ - $$$
The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am an old age troglodyte, so I never really have very high standards. However, I don't think I have ever been in such a nice tea room. Upon arrival into Castleton, I was in need of a lavatory. The "Dolly's Hidden Tearoom 'n' Bistro™"...More

3  Thank Fred S
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I have read the other reviews on here, and I find it hard to recognize any of the experiences described. No, there is no fancy cutlery or crockery but we found a lovely atmosphere and a very welcoming owner. We came before lunch, so the...More

Thank Majbritt A
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The owner is simply not learning from all the bad feedback. The special of the day was a Ploughman's Lunch. With two of these and two awful coffees the bill was £26. The lunch was worse than the coffee. Hidden Tea Rooms. It's not hidden...More

Thank Liveonelife
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The worst scones I have ever had in my life. It felt like I was eating a mouthful of kitty litter. The staff didn't help either. BOOOO!!!

2  Thank BinBagBilla
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

What this establishment lacks in basic hygiene is more than compensated by the flamboyant basil fawlty styled proprietor who will offer you scons. I chose not to choose the scons. I chose the plowmans "selection of cheeses" Which comprised of two slices of cheese barely...More

5  Thank Paul R
Reviewed 10 June 2017

My husband and I stumbled upon this quaint sounding Tea Room with our 2 sons (20,23). Our youngest son, a lover of the more 'traditional' things in life, was keen to have lunch there... oh, how I wished I'd seen the reviews on here before!...More

3  Thank David M
Reviewed 27 May 2017

I've never written a review for anything before, but as it seems this place relies on its reputation as the worst tea room in Castleton/the UK/all of human history (depending on who you ask) I thought I would. I just wish I'd known that's how...More

2  Thank jban28
Reviewed 21 May 2017

This is the worst place I have ever been, avoid it like the plague! We went for afternoon tea, the owner is rude and quite frightening. The place is dirty and the service was awful, cups chipped, tea served in a chipped coffee plunger. Scones...More

3  Thank 164sb
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Got a far as the door when I saw the grotty looking cook/owner coughing up and spitting out his stomach contents on the door step. The stench ouzing out of the door also put me off. Place should be closed down.

2  Thank MickHickman
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Not sure how we managed to patronise this awful place which, in basic terms, brings shame to Castleton. We noticed the owner in the area before entering, not realising who he was, but when he followed us upstairs we foolishly felt obliged to patronise this...More

2  Thank 745miker745
Nearby Restaurants
Tilly's Of Castleton
209 reviews
.12 km away
482 reviews
.13 km away
Ye Olde Nags Head
657 reviews
.18 km away
The Ramblers Rest
116 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peak Mountaineering Day Tours
411 reviews
.38 km away
Treak Cliff Cavern
499 reviews
.13 km away
Peveril Castle
372 reviews
.20 km away
Speedwell Cavern
926 reviews
.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
OMG. You simply have to be a relative of that scruffy, horrible man to leave such a glowing review about what everyone else can see is a dirty and unwelcoming dump of a tea room. He was rude to us on both our visits and we saw him have 3 arguments with customers in a 2 hour period during the 2 times we ate and drank there. He overcharged us and the table next to us and even threatened a teacher who was on holiday because she only wanted drinks not food. The lady reported him to trading standards and the council, as did i over hygiene issues. He has recently been warned to improve hygiene and cleanliness in general. It is an over-priced dirty slum with an owner who is very lucky i didn't give a good hiding to, the way he spoke to my wife. He came within an inch of a thumping. I refused to pay instead, told him i would see him in court if he liked and we left, so bad was the food and the experience the second time. We only returned to give him the benefit of the doubt in case he was having a bad day, but no, he is always an arrogant and rude idiot. Total prick, sorry. I suggest you read all the reviews...
21 August 2017|
Response from Majbritt A | Reviewed this property |
I can only go on my experience and not what others have written. No I am not related to him. There were 3 of us there and we all enjoyed the experience. Yes, I have eaten in cleaner places, but it still doesn't change our... More
12 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Traveller3333333 | Reviewed this property |
Nothing funny about this place. Our neighbour went in May and the bill for awful food and cold coffee was £78 for 4 people. Ploughman's Lunches all round and scones all round plus a coffee each. Almost £20 for a ploughman's... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Restaurant features
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Castleton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing