We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wren's Nest

Wren Nest Retail Glossop Brook Road | Surrey Street, Glossop SK13 8GN, England
+44 1457 890910
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good27%
  • Average26%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“stuffing” (5 reviews)
“yorkshire pud” (3 reviews)
“roast dinner” (6 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wren Nest Retail Glossop Brook Road | Surrey Street, Glossop SK13 8GN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for carvery on Saturday around 7.30pm. Very disapointed! Not hot enough, Beef really tough , roast potatoes dry and Yorkshire pudding chewy. In carvery area floor had food on it and was slippery. Been good in the past but not this visit . I...More

Thank suehanrahan55
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for your feedback Sue we are really sorry to hear this please ring and ask to speak to the manager so we can investigate and resolve this matter our number is 01457 890910 if anything in the future is not too your liking...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for tea today just after 3:30pm we ordered our food I had to wait for quorn lasagne that came out watery. I went up to get carvery we had to wait 15 mins for chips mash cauliflower roasts. The beans looked like they...More

Thank Donna W
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you for your feedback Donna we apologise for any upset caused to you please ring us on 01457 890910 ans ask to spwak to Lianne the manager and see if we can do anything to rectify the problem thank you -Karen

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good service, tasty food. Place is always clean and has some tables available if you come in without booking.

Thank Kasia B
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 star review Kasia hope to see you again soon. Paul

Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

It was ok. Food was nice, there were no signs on the gravy so I used what I thought was beef flavoured which was actually onion. This ruined my meal, I was pretty gutted. Meat was really fatty. Their treacle pudding literally seemed as though...More

Thank Beth W
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback Beth. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. If anything is not quite to your liking, please inform a member of our friendly team who will do there best to rectify it. Thanks Paul

Reviewed May 6, 2018

This is a welcoming friendly low price carvery. The interior is a standard modern pub restaurant. You order at the bar, the prices are low, the food nice and the portions large. If you are looking for a cheap family Sunday lunch this is the...More

Thank Anna20202015
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Thankyou so much Anna! We look forward to seeing you soon - Lianne

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Why is there a 3 .99 mark up on the food Sundays? Sunday menu price guid is on the right just above kid section in smaller writing! 10 out of 10 for diverting the eye as we are taught to read left to right. So...More

Thank Johanne R
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Hi Johanne, so sorry to hear of your disappointing visit yesterday. Our Sunday carvery is priced at £7.99 with kids eating for £1. I'm disappointed to hear of the food quality issues you experienced, please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and use...More

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

I came here with the family for a Sunday meal. First of all the Sunday prices were hidden away in the corner so fish and chips mon to sat is £4.59 yet Sunday is £7.99 for a fish that's been under a heat lamp for...More

Thank wilson301191
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Hi Wilson401191, I'm so sorry to hear you were disappointed. Please be assured that we will be addressing the issues you have raised. If anything ever falls short of your expectations, please speak to a Duty Manager who will replace anything that isn't quite right....More

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Great priced carvers, excellent choice of meats and veg combined with fantastic service. Can not fault the place and would recommend to families.

Thank Luciafaithtravels
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks so much for the review! We hope to see you again soon - Lianne.

Reviewed March 6, 2018

This public house sits beautifully on the Derbyshire Countryside. Friendly staff greet yoiu on your arrival. The bar is the place to place your order of the vast menu on offer. They have a fantastic breakfast menu. This is ideal if wanting a good hearty...More

Thank Tracey W
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

wow thanks so much, Tracey W! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit! Thankyou for the lovely review, Lianne - GM

Reviewed February 26, 2018

Been eating here now for a few years....our last visit the food was very good.. Meat well cooked..plenty of veg,a good value meal... Staff are always freindly....only criticism needs up dating..

Thank Sue O
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Thanks so much for the review, Sue O! We are happy you have been dining with us for a long time, thank you for your continued patronage.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Glossop Hotels
Travelodge Glossop
512 reviews
.80 km away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
149 reviews
2.22 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Tameside Hyde Hotel
521 reviews
4.48 km away
Springfield Hotel Marple
92 reviews
8.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Napoli Ristorante
409 reviews
.64 km away
Panaderia By Dowds
78 reviews
.50 km away
Ayubowan Restaurant
422 reviews
.48 km away
The Victoria Lounge
184 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Manor Park
107 reviews
1.30 km away
Howard Park
16 reviews
.67 km away
Prince Of Wales
11 reviews
1.04 km away
Lauras Coffe Lounge
9 reviews
.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wren's Nest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wren Nest Retail Glossop Brook Road | Surrey Street, Glossop SK13 8GN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Glossop
  • Phone Number: +44 1457 890910
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;