We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scotsmans Pack

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
+44 1433 650253
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 347: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely little pub serving tasty food. We thoroughly enjoyed the beef in ale pie, and another of our party had the gammon. Good food and a good price. Definitely can recommend.

Helpful?
Thank RaJSheffield
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food here, the pie is a favourite amongst customers and the staff ;) Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack More 

UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was actually nice but seriously let down by the lady behind the bar. We didn't receive a friendly welcome or service. Even though it was quiet in there, we seemed to be an inconvenience. It's a shame because it was our first visit but will probably be our last.

Helpful?
Thank m12-c4
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your food, the feedback you have given about the service you received will be looked into further. We would love to hear more about your visit on 01433 650253. We hope you will return and hopefully we can restore your faith in our pub. Shanna at... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poor customer service in this place, made to feel like we were putting the staff member out by asking to pay separately, sorry... Not made to feel welcome, miserable attitude towards us. The food was actually really nice which bought this place 3 stars, cheer up though please.

Helpful?
1 Thank James G
JessicaReay, Front of house at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am really sorry you had a bad experience with us and the feedback you have given will be looked into further. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your food and would love to hear more about your visit on 01433 650253. Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans... More 

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was walking up Stanage from Hathersage in the snow that made all our party need a filling and tasty Sunday lunch. And that's what we got, from the roast lamb with enormous Yorkshire pudding to mushroom risotto and gnocchi. All tasty, all good portions and made very welcome despite having no reservation. Oh and they take dogs in one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hairygreek
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed the food here and left feeling full! Your kind words will be passed on to the rest of the staff. Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on the Saturday and received excellent friendly service that we decided to lunch the following day. Whilst the steak and ale pies were excellent- although vegetables would be nice, the experience was let down by rather disinterested service. We watched as the landlord ignored customers for some time whilst speaking to friends. We also were made to feel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us on your second visit and your feedback about the service you received will be looked into further. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your food on both occasions and hope you will return to let us restore... More 

Holmesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have visited this pub/restaurant a few times in recent months and have never been impressed with the personnel behind the bar. It is a nice enough pub and the food is good but I think a little overpriced. On this occasion I was with 5 of my walking friends one of whom went to the bar while awaiting the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
JessicaReay, Front of house at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us and the feedback you have given will be looked into further. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the food here at The Scotsmans. Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack. More 

Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

I've eaten here many times, as food has always been reliable with generous portions. I've particularly liked the fact that, in the past, meals came with a bowl of fresh vegetables. Our recent visit this week, it seems to not be the case any more which is a terrible shame.

Helpful?
Thank rod_campbell
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. The meals that are served with a side of vegetables are stated on our menu as not all our dishes come with vegetables. We do offer vegetables as a side on our menu and these are always available to order. I hope... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

We got back from a snowy cold walk on Stanage Edge and spent a couple of hours by the fire in this welcoming pub. The menu choice was great and the taste was even better

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Andrew W, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, by the fire is definitely the place to be after a cold walk! Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack More 

Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Just spent a great weekend in Hathersage and had a few long sessions in this pub. They have a small room where dogs are welcome that had a great TV for watching the 6 nations Rugby. Very friendly staff and the food was lovely. It would be good to have more sharing platter type food here as we have also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne Marie B
Andrew W, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us as we try hard at the Scotsmans to provide a comfortable and welcoming surrounding. I will pass on your thoughts about the sharing platter as it could be something that could work well here for drinkers! I personally worked on the days you... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
220 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We stopped at this pub for a quick drink. We where welcomed straight away. There was a gin menu and lots of people where ordering from it. Most of the pub was laid out for food and the smell of food was amazing. There was a side room for that wad full of people and dogs! Was so cute. Love... More 

Helpful?
Thank devonstar12
Andrew W, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm very happy to hear you felt welcome and have positive feedback about our new dog friendly room! Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack. More 

Travellers who viewed The Scotsmans Pack also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Scotsmans Pack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$41
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Hathersage
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 650253

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scotsmans Pack and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsmans Pack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?