We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Lion

) #8 of 50 Restaurants in Thirsk $$ - $$$ French, British,
8 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LB, England
+44 1845 574302
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (17 reviews)
“steak” (31 reviews)
“belly pork” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
French, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LB, England
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Following on from a 1 star food hygiene rating from the council, the black lion is now closed indefinitely. "To let" boards in the windows and doors locked.

Thank JessicaTT187
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Now closed. The most recent appallingly bad food hygiene rating can't have helped and I thought no the lease was up for renewal. Looked good from the outside but generally more tourists eating in there than locals as word got around and most people are...More

Thank pb1867
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Have been here for a meal several times and it never fails to disappoint. This occasion was no exception. I am sorry to hear that this establishment has now closed.

Thank Godfrey C
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Looks like it's gone for good!!! All closed down. Was looking forward to a juicy steak after. Local recommendation... ended up in the nearby Indian called Henna. So far so good...

Thank michaelmO7913AJ
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

7 of us were meeting here tonight to hold our writing group evening only to find the pub was closed. Completely closed with a security firm board in the window and all menus removed, blinds down, etc. We're not sure why as there weren't any...More

Thank Froglet68
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Ate here whilst staying in Thirsk for the weekend. Food was good, the mussels were beautiful! Service was friendly and efficient and with a sense of humour from Emily . A lovely little bistro.

Thank nickyholmfirth
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Went to this place as a treat for my wife, she had always wanted to try it. On booking was not told there was a party booked in. On arrival, told dinner woul be a bit late, approx 20 min. Order given. One hour later,...More

Thank Bob W
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Arrived with our dog for some lunch about 14:00pm on Tuesday 11th April. We Sat down and ordered some drinks. I popped to the loo and when I came back my wife told me she was rushed and had to order for me as the...More

Thank Chris N
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

First time visitors after a recommendation staff,food and restaurant all very good a little bit over priced

Thank Dave W
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We went for Sunday lunch 4 adults and a toddler . Nice interior . 3 of us ordered Beef which was so chewy and fatty it was like eating a shoe. We asked for some more drinks whilst eating the meal but were told they...More

Thank nick1354
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bliss Cafe
536 reviews
.21 km away
Yorks Of Thirsk
189 reviews
.11 km away
Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar
218 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
World of James Herriot
741 reviews
.16 km away
St Mary's Church
88 reviews
.30 km away
Thirsk Racecourse
90 reviews
.94 km away
Thirsk Museum
59 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Vecihi T
So why the single star?
26 November 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from ProfessionalMan007 | Reviewed this property |
I didn't give a single star at all, I gave it 3 stars. In my opinion the food was 4/5 stars but the ambiance was poor, decor drab and there was no heating within the room and it was cold, my wife was shivering right... More
0
Votes
ExtraShot
Do all suites have a fridge and microwave please?
12 January 2015|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from JohnnyExile | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately, we only went in for an evening meal as we were staying in a local B&B, so I'm unable to help. I'm sure if you ring them they will be able to answer your question.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$25
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Thirsk
  • Phone Number: +44 1845 574302
  • E-mail
Description
****2015/2016 Rosette Award**** The Black Lion Bar & Bistro offer a great selection of delicious excellently prepared French and English cuisine sourcing locally produced ingredients. Set Menus available £16.95 for 3 course French or English and full A la Carte menu available
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing