We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Folly Inn

London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
+44 1327 354031
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“hash” (14 reviews)
“guinea fowl” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Went there for a drink before going to Towcester racecourse (it is an inn.... It says it on the sign). We were told it was a restaurant, not a pub and if we wanted a drink we'd have to drink outside. So we had one...More

Thank Neville F
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are indeed a RESTAURANT not a PUB. The building has been known as an "Inn" for several hundred years! It was not named so by me. We have a strict rule not to admit individuals and groups after 9pm looking for drinks alone. This...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Having had a positive experience here for dinner many times in the past, I recommended this pub to friends. We came here for a drink before the greyhound racing, and were asked to sit in the garden. No problem. We then came back after the...More

1  Thank SparePebble
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are indeed a RESTAURANT not a PUB. The building has been known as an "Inn" for several hundred years! It was not named so by me. We have a strict rule not to admit individuals and groups after 9pm looking for drinks alone. This...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

When you live abroad there are some meals you really miss and Sunday roast is one we really do so when we flew in last weekend and discovered this pub close to our cottage we were so lucky. The beef and lamb both came with...More

Thank Catriona G
Reviewed 4 days ago

Three of us booked into "The Folly" for a family evening meal for a special occasion. The booking person recognised as from a previous occasion (good use of database!) And were able to accommodate us at the time you wanted. An interesting menu was presented...More

Thank John B
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had just popped in for a drink but ended up staying for a meal and I'm so glad we did we had such a fantastic meal, the food was glorious and the service was outstanding. Will definitely be returning in the future.

Thank Sarah C
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Sarah Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review. Great to here that we impressed you so much on your unplanned visit. Sounds like we may be seeing you again soon! Very best wishes, Robert, David & team.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Came on Saturday for a celebratory birthday meal with my husband. We were 10 minutes late to arrive due to it being slightly further. Away Han we anticipated. On arrival, the proprietor (phone in hand) advised he was just about to call us to see...More

Thank Hanna F
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Hannah Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased that you and all of your party enjoyed your visit with us. We very much hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Robert

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in here for food on Sunday. Had to wait a few minutes for a table as it was packed. Service was polite and swift. Two of the party had the roast beef and two had the roast lamb. A good healthy amount of food...More

Thank Lee V
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Lee and thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your lovely review. Our all day Sunday Roasts are indeed very popular and as you already noted we try to source ingredients locally when we can. In fact the vegetables come...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I visited the Folly Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary on the 8th of June 2017. We choose The Folly Inn three or four times a year for special celebrations because we know that we are guaranteed the very best tasting food...More

Thank nbGulliver
Robert J, Manager at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your glowing review. Great to hear that you choose us regularly for your special occasion celebrations. We believe The Folly to be a little bit special - great to hear that you do too! Kind...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here on Thursday 8th June. The food was absolutely outstanding, couldn't find a fault anywhere, as always the staff were friendly and always go the extra mile. Thank you all for making it a great night.

Thank Donna T
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Donna Thank you so much for your glowing review which is truly appreciated by the entire team here at The Folly. We hope to see you and Paul again very soon. Very best wishes, Robert, David & team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Business meeting this lunchtime at the Folly The decor might not be as flash as some in the locale (its fine by the way) but the food definitely delivers both style and substance My pigeon starter was sublime. My duck main with cherries was superbly...More

Thank MJH1
Robert J, Owner at The Folly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for posting your excellent review. I am so pleased that the food hit the spot and i apologise for the acoustics. We do indeed have background music but clearly it was a little too low on this occasion. Kind regards, Robert,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough, Towcester
133 reviews
1.29 km away
Dilraj Indian
260 reviews
1.12 km away
185 Watling St. Pub & Kitchen
418 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whittlebury Park - Golf Course
17 reviews
4.56 km away
The Canal Museum
147 reviews
4.64 km away
Silverstone Circuit
907 reviews
5.72 km away
Gayton Marina
10 reviews
7.50 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
supercritic2015
How far from Silverstone racecourse are you?
30 January 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Robert J | Property representative |
We are around 4 miles away - still close enough to hear the roar of the engines on race days!
0
Votes
Jacqui P
Reading through the reviews Im slightly confused the manager replied to the review entitled 'Dreadful Manager' stating they were not a pub however in a reply to a review on 17th Nov he himself referred to the establishment as a 'pub restaurant Please clarify do you only welcome diners or do you also welcome those who want a quiet drink?
30 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Robert J | Property representative |
As explained many times in these reviews we are a RESTAURANT and diners take priority. When we are busy we simply do not have the space for guests looking for a quiet drink as EVERY table is booked. We are not a pub - that... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$38
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:15
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Towcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1327 354031
  • E-mail
Description
The Folly Inn is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by rolling countryside on the A5 opposite Towcester racecourse. The original building dates back to the mid 1700's and is the quintessential thatched English inn, full of character and understated style.

The Folly is a destination venue for those looking for exceptionally good and innovative cuisine. Head chef David Horak sources local ingredients where possible and uses them in imaginative dishes based on great British classics with a contemporary twist. All food is cooked to order from fresh ingredients in our own kitchens.

To the rear of the building the garden offers a secluded and safe area away from the main road. An ideal space for families and those with their four legged companions! On fine days al fresco dining is available here.

Easy to find, ample car parking for up to thirty vehicles and easy access makes The Folly Inn is an ideal place to meet up and dine with friends, family and colleagues.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing