We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rice Bowl

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
132 Watling Street East, Towcester NN12 6BT, England
+44 1327 351482
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely appalling, I've never been treated so bad in all my life, being told off for not eating everything off of my plate, so rude, food isn't even that good and I love Chinese food, I definitely wouldn't call it an all you can eat buffet as you can only pick what you can completely finish therefore you can't try... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjanekeal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely first experience here and worth a visit but you may want to chose a set menu as I got a bit carried away and consequently the bill was a big one x the food was delicious and the staff very helpful. Have lived in Towcester for 6 years and not found this little gem until now. We will go... More 

Helpful?
Thank JES1253
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

We are glad you had a good time and left with what sounds like a very fulfilled stomach. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just had a takeaway from the Rice Bowl which we were extremely disappointed with. Two of our three dishes were, if I'm honest, inedible. The chicken with cashew and yellow bean sauce has left me with a horrible coating in my mouth and feeling quite sick. The crispy chilli beef was very bland and leathery rather than crispy... More 

Helpful?
Thank alison m
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Good evening, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your takeaway order. As a Restaurant/ takeaway, we cook our takeaway orders the same as how we would with our restaurant dishes. The dishes that your ordered are amongst some of our most popular dishes, I am sorry that on this occasion we have let these dishes down.... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Have eaten their takeaway on a number of occasion's over the years and I've never been disappointed. Really good Chinese food. would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank chestercake
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know of your experiences. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Good service, nice food, reasonably priced, managed to fit us in even though we hadn't booked a talbe.

Helpful?
Thank Jackiesreviews
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We will always try and endeavour to seat all our customers whenever possible. More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 1.30pm on Saturday lunchtime, the restaurant was open and entirely empty - not one customer. We asked if we could have a table and the lady apparently in charge said "we close at 2 so you'd have to be quick". We about turned, at which she said - "oh, I don't mean to hurry you" - I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dick C
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are sorry that you felt you were unreasonably turned away. At lunch time we are open from 12-2pm. Our doors are still open at 1:30pm as we are still taking takeaway orders. The staff member in the restaurant that afternoon just wanted to politely let you know that the restaurant was due to close in 30minutes, which... More 

Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Recently refurbished in classic 1985 wallpaper the establishment is clean and the staff understand the principles of being restauranteurs unlike many others who deem this to be their trade...once sat and admiring the fish in the tank (were they to be my starters) no...the food came out as ordered in streams as one was most hungry...and one left completely satisfied...the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lord_Marty_of_Food
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful and unique comments. We do hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We visited The Rice Bowl as my mum loves Chinese food and was treating us. We did the all you can eat buffet. We had an assortment of starters all of which were delicious. There is a variety of main courses, not huge but a nice selection. We couldn't fault anything, tasty food, well presented and full of flavour. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
RiceBowl132, Public Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you and the family had a nice evening. We do hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The food was mediocre, the portions were a little small and the special fried rice wasn't particularly big or full of meats either which was disappointing. I ordered it to collect and I was able to pick it up really quickly! I'm not 100% sure if I will order from here again.

Helpful?
Thank Luke B
RiceBowl132, Public Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest comments. I am sorry to hear that we didn't offer food to your expectation. I will pass your comments onto the management team. We hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

They have an eat lots deal off a set menu. Really good quality food There are many warnings about taking the Micky and leaving food to stop the idiots which is all fair enough They could do without repeating that again when you order. They clearly don't know that our family can mop up large quantities without leaving a crumb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikemday
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you found our food pleasing. We do appreciate that the Ts&Cs are not an ideal way to start the evening, but unfortunately we have had people who did as you say " take the mickey". We look forward to seeing you and your family again. More 

Travellers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Towcester, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 132 Watling Street East, Towcester NN12 6BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Towcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1327 351482

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rice Bowl staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?