We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
+44 1728 648219
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 303: English reviews
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We lunched here on the Inn to Inn walk from Westleton. Good food and beer, prompt service and a lovely log fire. Just the thing to refresh us before the walk back.

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
Saffron Walden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our 3rd visit here. We love and every meal we had was super. The service and the staff is great. The manager even reconized us

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Passed this place on Sunday and it looked so nice resolved to call back, such a nice building. So went for lunch today and Said to my husband we might have to take our muddy boots off but I needn't have worried! Very basic inside with hard plain wooden chairs (some pretty little cushions would have been nice) basic tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked a table at The Ship so we could entertain a business friend from Chicago USA. Sadly her husband could not attend this time. It was our friend's first visit to Suffolk, so we thought The Ship in Dunwich would be a good place to eat. We all had the roast beef followed by a warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jag308
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

We enjoyed a lovely lunch of smoked mackerel pate and fish and chips. I didn't think I could manage a starter and the huge plate of fish being enjoyed by other diners, but the barman happily offered a half portion which was ample. This was a very traditional, cosy, friendly pub with lovely staff, pretty conservatory and courtyard area. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

We went to The Ship at Dunwich with friends for a meal and were appalled at the poor quality of the meals we had. The menu was incredibly limited in choice and in no way catered for anyone who was potentially dieting. Myself and my husband had the Cod and Chips. The chips were burnt on the outside and cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank teriwallis2016
Shipmanager, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

When I read a review such as yours I really do wonder if you really eat with us as what you describe is a s far from the experience we wish our customers to have. I can only promise that we do not intend our food to be served in this way and if it was as you describe then... More 

Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

Friendly atmosphere with very pleasant staff and a good selection of food and drink. However, we seemed to be forgotten as customers - we were sitting in the conservatory and once the meal was presented we were left on our own. A pleasant "how's the meal?", "can I get you another drink?", "anything for dessert?" would be expected in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigD108
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast here - good choice, freshly prepared local produce, delicious coffee, and grapefruit juice which actually tasted as if it had just been squeezed!

Helpful?
Thank nuala57535
Shipmanager, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review and the perfect start to a day in Suffolk. Thanks so much for reviewing us. More 

Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

Five of us went for dinner. Two had 'ham, eggs and chips'. Plentiful, tender ham and well presented. One had fish pie which had watery sauce with a minimal seafood content. Another had roast duck in a light jus. Very tender and tasty. I had an eight ounce steak (medium). It was reasonably tender but no more than 1.5 cams... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heff_260
Shipmanager, Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and for the positive comments about certain elements of your meal. We do apologise if the fish pie was not up to par, frustrating for us too as it sounds like one of our team not paying attention when filling the pie dishes. We would have cooked a fresh one or refunded you of course if... More 

Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

At the end of a pleasant walk we had lunch at the Ship Inn, which was lovely. It ticked all our boxes: Gluten free - check; Dog friendly - check; Child friendly - check; Good choice on the menu - check; Good food - check; Aspalls on tap - check! Thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
Shipmanager, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we really liked reading this one! Ticking all the boxes - Check! More 

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$51 - US$51
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Dunwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1728 648219

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ship Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?