We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel Restaurant

$$ - $$$European, , Seafood
Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
+44 1502 722186
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good11%
  • Average22%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (7 reviews)
“treacle tart” (5 reviews)
“duck” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

we had a loverly table for two at the front of the restaurant. the food was well cooked and the choice was very good. All of the staff were very helpful and attentive.

1  Thank Peter M
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the service you received. We hope to see you again in future.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited the Swan for Valentines Night for a meal in the ‘Still Room’ we chose the Valentines Menu all we can really say is it was absolutely outstanding from start to finish from service to the most amazing dining we have in a long...More

Thank SouthwoldKiss
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed every course of our Valentine's Day menu. We hope to see you again in future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and a colleague visited here today and the service we received was fantastic by all of the team. They exceeded expectation and couldn't do enough to accommodate us. The coffee was also great and we both had lunch which was of a superb standard....More

Thank Lisa D
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your colleague enjoyed your lunch with us. We will pass your lovely feedback on to the Restaurant and Kitchen Teams. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is such a frustrating review to write because we really wanted the beautifully refurbished Swan to be great, but unfortunately it is STILL incredibly inconsistent. We love the Tap room and ate there shortly after the Swan reopened and it was really good so...More

3  Thank Mike H
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted that you returned to dine with us again. We are sorry to read that there were some issues with your courses but pleased our team offered you a discount by way of apology upon your complaint....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best afternoon tea experiences I've had. The tea was booked for me as a birthday surprise, but the service was attentative throughout our visit, with a large variety of cakes available, personally I liked that the tea experience was more heavy on...More

1  Thank MissRStyles
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday surprise Afternoon tea with us. We hope you return in future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm privileged to have a job which means I've experienced some fantastic culinary treats over the years, not just when being a restaurant advertiser for the likes of Marco Pierre White and Gordon but also in a corporate capacity over the last couple of decades....More

2  Thank adamnicoll
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are absolutely delighted that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience with us. We will certainly pass all your feedback on to the relevant teams. We look forward to welcoming you and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good news is that the furbished Swan is lovely and the beer is very good. the bad news is that they cannot prepare moules mariniere (£8) or a ribeye (£25) properly prepared. The service was very poor with complete mis communication between customer, waiter...More

8  Thank Reydonsuffolk
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear that there was an issue with your meal and the service you received. We would be grateful if you could contact us with more information regarding your experience so we can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the swan for other half's birthday lunch on a Monday in January. Very stylish hotel/pub/restaurant...however the food wasn't quite as good as I expected. It was just very average and very expensive for what it was. Bar staff were also struggling, one chap working...More

4  Thank KatF1985
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that enjoyed the changes at The Swan but disappointed you did not find your dining experience matched your expectations. We would appreciate further contact from yourself to determine which restaurant you dined in so we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We walked into the hotel and were ignored by the reception staff, who just stood there and stared at us. We carried on walking and walked into the Still Room. We were given a table by the window which was lovely and were impressed by...More

7  Thank Gareth B
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your visit to The Still Room Restaurant. We hope that you enjoyed your meals and we're sorry to hear that on the occasion you visited the staff were not as friendly and attentive as they usually are. We will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The service, atmosphere and food was exquisite. For a first time afternoon tea it was a massive treat for my Grandma. For me, a rare treat away from my 3 small people. Thank you to the swan for truly memorable afternoon tea. And I have...More

2  Thank Hannah R
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear you and your Grandma enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. We will pass your feedback on to the whole team involved.

PreviousNext
12345611
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Southwold
The Swan
68 reviews
.00 km away
The Crown
405 reviews
.08 km away
Blyth Hotel
806 reviews
.58 km away
Randolph Hotel
354 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sutherland House
1,373 reviews
.21 km away
No. Fifty One Cafe
491 reviews
.19 km away
The Little Fish and Chip Shop
635 reviews
.02 km away
Coasters
791 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Southwold Lighthouse
372 reviews
.28 km away
Southwold Pier
1,960 reviews
.45 km away
Alfred Corry Lifeboat Museum Trust
161 reviews
1.32 km away
Adnams
73 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
casamartin48
30 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from taylioNorwichUK | Reviewed this property |
I dont know who the chef is but the food we had 14th Jan was amazing
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$14 - US$91
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Southwold
  • Phone Number: +44 1502 722186
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Swan
Description
Passionate, inspired, experienced and eager to challenge convention, our Executive Chef Ross Bott and his team are set to make their mark. With our two restaurants at The Swan, we offer variety, choice and outstanding food and drink. Our Tap Room is a showcases Adnams’ beers. Quality ingredients and unique flavours are true hallmarks of both our beers and our food menu. Our Tap Room and bar is open from noon to 10pm, serving a full menu all day, every day, no booking is required. The Still Room is elegant yet relaxed and informal and the food is delicious and challenges convention. It’s a lovely environment in which to enjoy exceptional food, award-winning Adnams drinks and great service. The Still Room is open from noon until 3pm, and 6pm – 10pm. Booking is recommended. We have two Private dining rooms – the Reading Room and the Juniper Room. Menus and drinks lists are personalised to your needs and occasion.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing