We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Di Paolo's Cafe

5 Marina, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1DA, England
+44 1424 210337
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“ice cream” (170 reviews)
“gelato” (16 reviews)
“sorbet” (7 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 18:30All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Marina, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1DA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

One of the first true family run restaurants in Bexhill, watched it grow over the years, a great family place to go and eat, friendly staff superb food and not extortionate prices to. what more can I say,,,,,,,,,,,,Oh,, yes, the ice cream, did I mention...More

Thank Nick J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my wife there for spaghetti carbonara, it came including mushrooms, which should not be in this dish, and my wife is allergic. We sent it back, and they just picked out the mushrooms and nearly all of the ham/bacon, so that it was...More

Thank mikestick2017
Pasquale P, Manager at Di Paolo's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm really sorry about your meal with us but I understand that any allergies with any food should be disclosed with the waiter before ordering so we can cater for you accordingly, you didn't let us know until the your order arrived at your table....More

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Been with Friends answer Family. Have to say best ice cream shake ever but bit pricey. Pistachios ice cream is brilliant there. Can have breakfast too

Thank Gill G
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Di Paolol's for my disabled, wheelchair bound, mothers 85th birthday. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. There were 5 of us but they gave us a table for 8 to give us plenty of room. They let my nephew bring his...More

1  Thank Steve C
Reviewed 5 April 2017

There is really one reason to go to Di Paolo's, and that is ice cream. In summer they have an amazing range of award winning homemade ice cream ranging from chocolatey to fruity and everything in between. There really is no greater treat and if...More

Thank Perry S
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Lovely ice cream by the beach, loved it. Would recommend the salted caramel or the cadburys creme egg one, it was delicious!

Thank Sapphire8487
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Stopped for lunch on Mother's Day after a seemingly fruitless search for somewhere to eat (even a coffee and cake shop was fully reserved!). No frills but friendly staff serving good, honest, great value food. The omelettes and paninis kept us all going until dinner...More

Thank Katie D
Reviewed 27 March 2017

if you have never had an ice cream there, you have not lived. Excellent as always with many many flavours. Be warned they only take cash, so make sure you have some in your pocket

Thank Steve R
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Cash only. By the time I walked all the way to the cash point there was no time to order, wait to be served, eat and make it in time for the car parking expiry time so we had to leave. Take away ice cream...More

Thank aloiv80
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Their ice cream is fabulous. True Italian ice cream that is so popular. On a warm day the queue is an expression of how good it is. Meals at Di Pablos is inexpensive and the staff are efficient.

Thank Lyn M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wickham Bistro
55 reviews
.23 km away
Rocksalt On Sea
176 reviews
.18 km away
Marinos Fish Restaurant
169 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bexhill Beach
389 reviews
.54 km away
De La Warr Pavilion
633 reviews
.08 km away
Egerton Park
194 reviews
.30 km away
Bexhill Museum
120 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
mowglibeano
I thought at the heart of every Italian was family, you're an Italian restaurant and you should promote this. 2 of my daughters were part of the group of mums you was so rude to on Tuesday. I'm appalled you treated them so badly. How long do you honestly think it'd take to drink a hot drink, it'd hardly have any impact on lunchtime trade, and if you assumed otherwise have you not heard of the saying don't assume as it'll take the a** out of you and me! Would you have been so rude to a group of elderly customers, I'd be very surprised. I look forward to your response. Mandy Thomson
9 June 2016|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from Pasquale P | Property representative |
I'm really sorry for you experience with us, we are currently under going a major refurbishment and we're low on covers that day. No excuse for the response you got and our deepest apologies to you and everyone involved.
4
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 07:00
08:00 - 18:30
Monday
08:00 - 07:00
08:00 - 18:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 07:00
08:00 - 18:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 07:00
08:00 - 18:30
Thursday
08:00 - 07:00
08:00 - 18:30
Friday
08:00 - 07:00
08:00 - 18:30
Saturday
08:00 - 07:00
08:00 - 18:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Marina, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 210337
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing