We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ark

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
+44 1273 517808
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

have been several times always pleasant people and the food is always good but is not full menu great for walkers to have a nice lunch and a pint.views over the port and river

Helpful?
Thank williaminkpin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I've been drinking at this pub now for years. I've found (more often then not) it to be an OK deal. Not cheap but not greatly expensive. HOWEVER, my partner and I met here after work and on this occasion, with the bar man not serving anyone, flat out ignored me for a total of 7 minutes before even acknowledging... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ThePhantom2015
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Good morning, I can only deeply apologise. It would greatly help me to rectify the situation if you would contact me to give me a description of this member of staff. My personal number is 07512890807, I am the owner & my name is Penny. Thank you More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited The Ark a couple of times now, met friends on Sunday for lunch and the food was to the exceptional standard as per normal. The staff can not do enough for you and always greet you with a smile.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you! A diamond, is what you are! Every review is a gem to us. I care immeasurably about my business & am hands on at every point, my family are equally supportive, giving a warm, friendly & welcoming atmosphere. Thank you again! More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stunning food and staff that could not be more warm and friendly and chatty Tapas is of exceptional standard, best I have ever eaten. Dog friendly too. I absolutely love this place

Helpful?
1 Thank valperry
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Thank you! We do have lovely people as customers & also lovely staff! We are family run & endeavour to provide the best service achievable. You will often see some of my family members even pop in to work for us in their spare time, giving exceptional service! More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

no atmosphere, the waiter would have had a coronery if he tried to smile,, the food ( Piella ) was disgusting and tastless and actually mde 2 of my party ill. there was noone else there so maybe we should have worked that out how bad this place is .. the first chap came and was pleasent, the next gut... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pete W
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We have received no complaint from you at all at the time, or any communication apart from this.It is impossible for us to rectify any situation if we are not given the opportunity to do so. We also do a check back & at no point did you mention any issue. It is human to make mistakes &... More 

Croyde N.Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went for lunch with her parents and our little Jack Russell dog having been recommended by a lovely local with a black spaniel .First time for us and my in -laws who live in Seaford and it will certainly not be the last! We were made so welcome by the lads. Food was great and so... More 

Helpful?
Thank JGPCroydeN_Devon
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! All of us are enthusiastic about The Ark, & giving our customers a great experience. We love our four legged friends, who bring our two legged friends in! Thank you for your review. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived Sunday lunchtime without booking hoping there would be a table free. Staff very welcoming and accommodating. Great selection on menus. Asked to make a change to my meal which was fine. Food great! Staff great! Beer great! Nice location for a walk before and after eating to look at fishing boats. Nice interior and good size terrace for when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking time to review us. I am so pleased we were able to offer high standards in every area of the whole Ark experience! Thank you again. More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been going in here for drinks for a few months while working in Newhaven, Great little pub with a lovely atmosphere. Decided to eat in here with some colleagues and was disappointed with my choice. I had the "Westcountry" mussels, the meats in and out of the shell were not so big, in a very strange sweet sauce,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fraggleview
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I do remember your party. The mussels were a premium product & were indeed fresh West Country mussels. That day we sold out & had very good feedback on them. The mussel portion sent as a sharer to the other table was a main meal portion, exactly the same weight as your portion. The bowls overflow with mussels.... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a little disappointed on this occasion, the sangria was not as good as usual with very soggy sloppy little pieces of strawberry every mouthful. The Tapas was ok, the paella seemed smaller amount with less meat and the price had gone up! The creme brûlée was excellent.

Helpful?
3 Thank ATBrighton
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Apologies if we did not come up to standard, we always replace products when there is any disappointment, so please, always tell us at the time & we will rectify it for you. The paellas have not altered in size, however, due to prices rises we have had to increase our price. Any queries please don't hesitate to... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Arc is happily our local and on Sunday we had a Sunday roast for the first time and we certainly weren't disappointed! It was the best roast we've had in ages - the rib of beef was delicious!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jellard
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review

I totally agree, scrumptious! The roasts are going down a storm. The lamb shank & beef rib is slow roasted to fall off the bone, accompanied by lovely fresh veg, roasties & a rich gravy. Thank you for your review! More 

Travellers who viewed The Ark also viewed

Newhaven, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 
Newhaven, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 
Newhaven, East Sussex
 

Been to The Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Newhaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 517808
Description
A beautiful bar & restaurant, with riverside views, serving food all day, every day, cooked by our professional chefs daily. Traditional & Tapas menu. Table service inside. A lovely large beach garden. Customer car park. Live music Wednesday & Saturday evenings, & Sunday afternoons. Bar opens at 11am & closes at 12 midnight.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Ark and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ark staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?