We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse

$$ - $$$, British,
420 Ongar Road | Pilgrim's Hatch, Brentwood CM15 9JN, England
+44 1277 374946
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good25%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“apple pie” (4 reviews)
“pies” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
420 Ongar Road | Pilgrim's Hatch, Brentwood CM15 9JN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

The place always looks busy so we decided to pop by on 3rd January. I am moving to Brentwood few months so I thought to explore and try the local pub & restaurant. My fiancé and I ordered ribeye steak yet out stock so chosen...More

1  Thank sstaley
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the Sunday roast. My wife's had the turkey and all was fine. I went for the beef duo, mine was cold and had to be returned to the kitchen. When a replacement was brought out the carrots, parsnips and pot of gravy was hot,...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I do believe that i have spoken to you at the pub and offered you a resolve. We do look forward to seeing you again to show you how great we really can be

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there for a family Christmas get together, there was eleven of us. It is a nice old pub, that feels cosy inside, with helpful friendly staff. Most of my family said there appetisers were ok, but mine was appalling. It read on the...More

Thank jimandnia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited yesterday (Sunday, Xmas Eve) without booking a table and was surprised they quickly found us one. Trio of roasts was delicious. Just the right amount of veg and meat. We asked for extra gravy and this cake quickly. My husband was a little disappointed...More

Thank Rachel H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff need training! When we arrived there were less than a dozen people in there. We had to call someone over to order our meal. I had the lamb duo which was very tasty. Unfortunately, the carrots looked way past their sell by date but...More

Thank Socialitelady
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Socialitelady thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I'm really sorry to see that the meals and the service you received were not to the high standards we set ourselves. I have escalated your comments to our supplier to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After visiting this restaurant for the first time I found it be be a beautiful restaurant very quirky and very friendly staff but the food was not very good and the portions very small the other disappointment was that they closed the 11 0clock on...More

Thank Denis S
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Denis S, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I hope that you had mentioned the issues with your meal to your server who would have done their best to rectify this for you at the time. I have also reviewed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A disappointing visit. The management have failed to train their staff appropriately, there was no warm welcome, real care or attention to detail. A clear lack of training was demonstrated when our bottle of wine was just placed on the table with the lid on...More

Thank Lucy L
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

What a shame, it’s a great location, pretty pub, plenty of parking but the food is a lottery as to whether you’ll get ok food or downright poor food. Visited on a early Sunday eve, not busy, comfortable. One half of my plate was sort...More

1  Thank Deborah K
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I visited with family group of 7, All adults. There is good parking and inside is very welcoming. We had a round table which is ideal for groups of this size and there was plenty of space around us. The menu offers a very interesting...More

Thank KevinLeah
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team and pub! we look forward to seeing you in the future! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have...More

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

I left a bad review back in October and revisited again today - what a remarkable difference. The roast was perfect and service 100% Staff were very helpful and the food couldn't be faulted. Huge improvement and I would recommend!

Thank Allmeadows
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

I’m so glad to hear you had such a great experience, and have restored your faith in us! We look forward to welcoming you back for more great experiences

Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel
1,046 reviews
2.85 km away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
838 reviews
2.97 km away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
682 reviews
3.10 km away
De Rougemont Manor
770 reviews
5.53 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown Brentwood
450 reviews
.18 km away
The Robin Brentwood
61 reviews
1.60 km away
The Pilgrims Korai
59 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kelvedon Hatch Secret Nuclear Bunker
595 reviews
4.12 km away
Old MacDonald's Farm
892 reviews
3.18 km away
Rope Runners
245 reviews
4.11 km away
Weald Country Park
214 reviews
1.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Black Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 420 Ongar Road | Pilgrim's Hatch, Brentwood CM15 9JN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Borough of Brentwood  >  Brentwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 374946
The Black Horse in Brentwood is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing