We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oldham's Fish Restaurant

13 West Road | Westcliff-On-Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 9AU, England
+44 1702 346736
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cod” (35 reviews)
“mushy peas” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
13 West Road | Westcliff-On-Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 9AU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Visited after matinee at The Plce Theatre as I didn't want togo home and cook. Have been here several times and as always the cod and chips were fresh cooked and tasty.

Thank sassEssex
Reviewed 6 days ago

We arrived early in Southend for an evening at the theatre. Oldhams had been recommended and as it is just across the road from the Palace Theatre we decided to go in. Its a busy fish bar, both for take away and sit down. We...More

Thank deborahk3
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As the title says really. The food is of a great quality and you will be stuffed to the brim, I'm just a bit taken aback with the cost of things really. Cannot duals quality, though.

Thank Ashley_Edwards_11
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A really established fish and chip restaurant offering well cooked and traditionally made fish and chips which I cannot complain about. Some of the best fish and chips southend has to offer, it is a same they are not situated at the seafront.

Thank MilkGirl98
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have used this Fish and Chip Restaurant for years..always freshly cooked..nice crispy batter..chips never greasy..Quality at very reasonable prices.

Thank bigbarryEssex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to eat in instead of a take away. We sat in the downstairs restaurant which is very 70s. The room is very

Thank Sally D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this traditional fish and chip restaurant yesterday lunchtime. There were four of us and the service was friendly, fast and efficient. The restaurant was very busy and all food is freshly cooked. We were very pleased with our lunchtime special of fish and...More

Thank StephenUK2017
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've not had anything else apart from chips from here but the chips are and have been for many years the best big fat chips ever! Perfect blend of crispy outside and hot and fluffy inside.... Good value for money and served by cheerful staff...More

Thank Owlzy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for an honest down to earth fish and chip shop and restaurant check this place out. We ate in, both had fish main course and both very good. Will do again.

Thank Ronald D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been going to Oldhams probably 40 odd years. I love the knickerbocker glory as a kid. Not much has changed and nor should it. I used to waiver between here and Baileys. Sadly since that establishment changed hands. Visitors wanting sit down fish...More

Thank Simon W
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Il Palazzo
319 reviews
.04 km away
Istanbul Turkish BBQ Restaurant Westcliff
63 reviews
.27 km away
O Picado
411 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chalkwell Park
100 reviews
1.14 km away
Genting Casino
130 reviews
1.36 km away
Westcliff Beach
71 reviews
1.28 km away
Argosy Toys
19 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sandy F
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Bronnieb | Property representative |
Apologies for the late reply. Unfortunately the toilets are upstairs and we don't have a lift at this time. Many thanks
1
Vote
jane m
28 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Antal | Reviewed this property |
You may need to ring them in advance. The upstairs room can be booked for private functions but I am not sure about bookings for couples.
0
Votes
Carl S
25 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bronnieb | Property representative |
Hi Carl, we are back to normal times on Wednesday, so it will be 11.30am - 9.30pm. Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:15 - 21:15
Monday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:30 - 21:30
Friday
11:30 - 21:30
Saturday
11:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13 West Road | Westcliff-On-Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 9AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Westcliff-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 346736
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing