We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 High Street | Thornbury, Bristol, Thornbury BS35 2A4, England
+44 1454 413062
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

Good pub grub type food. Nice at lunchtime. Dogs allowed. But...on Saturdays dint expect to get food as they stop early to allow a band to set up. Our order was forgotten so we had to eat whilst the instruments were set up around us. A bit disappointing

Helpful?
Thank parrotperson1
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we always appreciate reviews I am sorry that your order was forgotten however I am surprised at this as I was not made aware of this at the time, unfortunately I am unable to speak to the staff concerned as it is almost 4 months ago since your experience with us however I am pleased... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Very uninspiring ploughman's which didn't even come with a bread roll as standard. Had to pay £1 extra for some equally unimpressive cheap bread. Won't be back in a hurry! Bar staff were pleasant though.

Helpful?
Thank ACE-foodies123
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your trip advisor review, I am so sorry for the ploughman's if you would like to contact me direct I will certainly rectify the problem and I would like to know when you came so I can speak to the staff who were working in the kitchen during that time as malted bread is normally given as... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had a three course set meal for Mum & Dads 60thWedding Anniversary. This is the 2nd celebration we have had at The Swan this year, and once again Sandra made the arranging so easy. The room was decorated beautifully, all of the staff were very attentive, friendly and professional, and the food and drink was excellent. Would definitely use... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sandratrave
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review once again and we are pleased to hear that once again you were very happy with what we did for you on this very special occasion , we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future with another happy occasion. I will certainly pass the details on to the staff that worked... More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We popped in here for lunch we had slow cooked belly pork it was scrumptious. All veg was fresh and tasty had mash with mine.red cabbage also.the flavours were lovely and meal so reasonably priced around 9 pounds. We also had a coffee each which was strong just how we like it.staff seem friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Maria B
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate all the review which are left by our customers we will look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Bristol UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2016

Stopped here for a quick bite to eat, we ordered two roast dinners, one pork and one beef along with two lime and soda's. Bill came to almost £23 and as I sat down i thought that was dear. The two roasts were £7.95 each which meant that i'd been charged about £7 for the drinks! I queried it and... More 

Helpful?
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
Sandra D, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for the trip adviser I take on board the error that was made on the bill and can only apologise for this, we did have a new person on the bar on Sunday and it was his first shift I can only apologise for this. With regards to the beef it did state on the specials board that... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Superb - pub food at its best! A friendly welcome combined with prompt efficient service makes this a pub worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank Keith F
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we are continuously striving to ensure that our customers are enjoying their time with us and coming up with new ideas and polishing up on the existing ones is often hard but we strive to do our best. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016

We went here on a Sunday with my mum and partner. It was a nice day and we had a seat in the beer garden, took our time and ate and drank in the sun. Staff were fantastic, food was great, beautiful deserts! Definitely would go back!

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Hi Robert Thank you for the review we always appreciate the reviews that are left by our customers. I do remember you when you came to us and I will certainly be able to pass the comments on to the staff who worked on Sunday as people often find time to complain but not always to say about the good... More 

Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016

We had a not so good experience food wise - A party of 7 - (6 adults 1 child) - Starters - One had prawn cocktail , the prawns arrived warm! One had soup it arrived with a burger roll not the granary bread as stated - we ordered 2 sharing platers one was forgotten and did not arrive and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank scattyjan
Sandra D, Owner at The Swan, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review I am very sorry that you had bad experience I have checked and I was not around on this particular evening however I have investigated into the person in question has been dealt with. I am again so sorry and should you wish to come back in and discuss the situation with me personally... More 

Thornbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

This pub is such a cracker of a pub. Not only does it look fabulous, the food is delicious and the staff are always welcoming. This place also does a huge amount for the community and for charities. Brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Sandra D, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we always appreciate feedback good and bad. We pride ourselves on the fact we do great things for local charities and we open our doors welcoming everyone in no matter what. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

More than a dozen of my walking group popped in for lunch today and The Swan coped admirably. I chose Lasagne (with garlic bread and Chips) for £7.95, it was very nice and there was plenty of of it, other members of the group were pleased with their meals too, there was no undue delay. We had eaten here previously... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
Sandra D, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Thank you very much for your review we always strive to do our best but sometimes like many others we do make mistakes and endeavour to put it right, however I am pleased that you were happy with your experience at The Swan and look forward to seeing you again soon. If you do come in a large... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$19
Cuisine
Steakhouse
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 High Street | Thornbury, Bristol, Thornbury BS35 2A4, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Thornbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 413062
Description
The Swan is a traditional local pub based on a high street which is situated in an old market town. The Swan is the oldest building in Thornbury and is grade 1 listed. The Swan offers a warm and friendly atmosphere that is Cask Marque listed for its excellant beers and the food is second to none cooked to order and all the meat is sourced locally and daily for the local butcher. The Swan has a self contained fnction room which is ideal for private and corporate functions as well as a beer garden and skittle alley. The Swan is very well liked with people visiting from overseas as it is a traditional local pub which has a lot of history attatched to it which th staff will always be hapy to tell you more about. Food is served 7 days a week from 9 am - 8.30pm Sunday to Friday and opens at 9.00am on Saturday.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?