We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-2 Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
+44 1420 85580
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here dozens of times over the years - always been OK. Last night - it was only a quarter full BUT - the fryer had broken (no chips), the chicken was burnt to a black coal (they took it back and replaced it with something else), the pasta chicken meal had only 2 pieces of chicken in it, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverley2014
love_prezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Prezzo - Alton, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Prezzo. We are disappointed to hear this was your experience of our restaurant. What you have described is by no means what we expect, and we can definitely do better. We will do all we can to ensure this experience is a one off and would be delighted if you were to come back and see... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Been here a couple of times with friends over the last year or so. Always get great service and food. Prices are not too bad, especially if you use the student discount. Large choice of food, but all Italian themed, never had a problem with what we've had though, always tasty! Had the hazelnut cheesecake tonight and it was amazing!... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
Kosice, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I had visited this restaurant few month ago with my friends for lunch.ww wasnt vry happy.So we trying again. What a massive change... Very nice open smile welcome from young lady. Lovely piadina menu. Very good explanation of a wine menu too. Desserts are nicely presented. We stay for good couple of hour. The new manager make huge difference to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Enjoyed a very pleasant early evening meal here. Very friendly , efficient service and delicious well cooked food. Particularly enjoyed the vegan sharing starter. Find it hard to understand the recent reviews . Will definitely revisit

Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima59
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Used to love Prezzo's in Alton but the past few visits have been hugely disappointing. The most recent visit consisted of a huge wait for our meal, undercooked pasta, bland food and a lack of table service. People were being served their meals who had arrived after us. The meals ordered were not the usual tasty dishes and frankly just... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank OT14
love_prezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Prezzo - Alton, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Prezzo. We are disappointed to hear this was your experience of our restaurant. What you have described is by no means what we expect, and we can definitely do better. We will do all we can to ensure this experience is a one off and would be delighted if you were to come back and see... More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

No one wants to wait over an hour for their main courses and then to have those courses tepid, but a free dessert and drink showed that the Manager and the front of house staff were trying.

Helpful?
Thank John F
love_prezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Prezzo - Alton, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Prezzo. We are disappointed to hear this was your experience of our restaurant. What you have described is by no means what we expect, and we can definitely do better. We will do all we can to ensure this experience is a one off and would be delighted if you were to come back and see... More 

Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Keep giving this place a chance but no more I think. All the food was cold. Pizzas we kind of muddled through with but a pork dish we had to send back. Vague promise to get another one but, in the end, the same plate came back from the microwave. No apologies and nobody seemed to care much. The pizza... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
love_prezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Prezzo - Alton, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Prezzo. We are disappointed to hear this was your experience of our restaurant. What you have described is by no means what we expect, and we can definitely do better. We will do all we can to ensure this experience is a one off and would be delighted if you were to come back and see... More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Turned up on a sunday lunch time without booking and were shown to our table, the staff asked where we wonted to sit and we were given several choices, we ordered a started and main course, the service was a little slow but we were in no rush, but the service we did receive was very good. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Booked our table, and to our shock at dinner, they put us right at the back of the restaurant, where no one else was sitting. Asked several times to the staff that actually were around to change our tables, and didn't get a response till about half an hour in. Drinks also took about 3 hours to come (bearing in... More 

Helpful?
Thank hell123456789
love_prezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Prezzo - Alton, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our restaurant. We are disappointed to hear this was your experience of our restaurant. The slow service and poor quality food you have described isn't what we expect. We will do everything we can to ensure this experience is a one off and would be delighted if you were to come back and see how good... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

It is a month since I emailed the company and have had no response to my questions and comments. The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of our group enjoyed their meals. However, the restaurant does not seem to know how to cook pasta. I sent back my spaghetti dish as it was grossly over cooked. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJW1949
love_prezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Prezzo - Alton, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Prezzo. We are really disappointed to hear this was your experience. We are also sorry to hear you have not received a response to your email. We would like to know more about your experience, please could you forward your email to social@prezzo.co.uk. More 

Travellers who viewed Prezzo - Alton also viewed

 
Fleet, Hampshire
Aldershot, Hampshire
 

Been to Prezzo - Alton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-2 Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Alton
  • Phone Number: +44 1420 85580
Description
Located in the centre of Alton on the Market Square, within easy reach of local shops and bars and only a 3 minute drive to the rail station. Prezzo Alton occupies a welcoming, characterful building in the heart of this old market town. In addition to its bright modern interior, this restaurant boasts an attractive outdoor seating area where guests can dine al fresco.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Prezzo - Alton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?