We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The John Russell Fox

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The John Russell Fox 10 High Street, Andover SP10 1NY, England
01264320920
Website
Today
07:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub whilst parked up for the night in Andover, I had the 14oz Aberdeen Angus steak with a side of onion rings washed down with a couple of pints of cask ale, loved it, clean pub, friendly staff and a great atmosphere, will definitely be back, well done Witherspoons.

Helpful?
Thank fasteddie774
Shrewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Come here regularly for get together with former work colleagues, the food is always good and served hot, we are usually a party of around 12 and all meals come out together. Excellent value. Staff friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank rachel19142014
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the John Russell Fox! I am so pleased that you visit regularly and enjoy your meal every time. I look forward to welcoming all of you group again soon, Charlee More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Slow food service - but apart from that they do great toasties, & fry up is okay, pancakes are to die for. Staff are not very smiley look like they always having a bad day - prices are good for food would be better if overall was a £1 or 2 cheaper then I would give 5 stars. Cos the... More 

Helpful?
Thank chloeclp
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoy your food and I am sorry that you feel you are waiting a long time to be served. This is an area I am currently working on with all of my team and hope to improve very quickly. I look forward to welcoming you... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

Not for romantic dates but for easy drinks and food this is the place. Very reasonable prices with good food. Matches the cheap eats and drinks model. Happy to recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Berkeley H
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the John Russell Fox. I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming plenty of new customers alongside yourself based on this. Thanks again, Charlee More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband popped in before the cinema tonight, my husband stood at the bar a very long time to order he said they were to busy all chatting to each other only one member of staff. Food was out quick tho and very nice, but unfortunately didn't have the pudding me wanted so got us a replacement. Really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tanya19792014
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your food and shall act upon your concerns about the speed of service. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I hope that you will visit us again soon. Many thanks, Charlee More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

Came in yesterday morning with my dad for breakfast. He had the large breakfast, I had the standard, both of us had a coffee which was refillable and all for under a tenner. Breakfast quality was good this time and the plate was hot and the beans were warm. Got here about 930 and was not too many people in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the John Russell Fox. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and found them to be very reasonably priced. I'll pass on your compliment to the lady who served you as I'm sure she will be as grateful as I am. Hope to see you again soon, Charlee More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Nice upper level and lower level split giving a choice as where to sit. Standard spoons food and drink but staff always seem polite and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank daydrinker1966
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased that you like tha layout of our pub and find that standards of staff to your liking. I am very proud of all of my team and love getting complements about them. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon, Charlee More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

While shopping in Andover the last few Saturdays we tried to give the John Russell another go for Breakfast, however last Saturday the Menu had been changed to only Roll's etc. & a waitress said there were no Cooked Breakfast's being served because there were problems in the Kitchen, ( we went elsewhere ). Tried again today, same Menus, inquired... More 

Helpful?
Thank davejO5713JF
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for your feedback, we are currently experiencing some maintenance issues within our kitchen, this has prevented us from doing any fried or grilled food for the past couple of weeks. We are currently waiting on some parts so we can get the kitchen fully up and running again, and hope this will be as soon as possible.... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This is our local and after many years I think I'm able to now comment. We travel a lot and visit Wetherspoons all over the country and I'm sad to say this is the worst by a long way. Under staffed, dirty tables, awful toilets. And yes I've written to wetherspoons to complain and not one responsed. The staff moan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bluedustmite
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you for you review of the John Russell Fox. I am saddened by the comments you have made and would like some further information on the issues you have raised. If you could please email p1345@jdwetherspoon.co.uk with the details of when you last visited so that I can look further into this. Many thanks, Charlee More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Came in the other day for a breakfast. Had a traditional breakfast and a filter coffee. The coffee is refillable, just go back up and help yourself. Was quiet so it came out in less than 10 mins. The last couple of times I have been hear the beans were cold but not this time. Under a fiver was excellent... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
John Russell Fo... A, General Manager at The John Russell Fox, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and found us to be good value for money! I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks, Charlee More 

Travellers who viewed The John Russell Fox also viewed

 
Andover, Hampshire
Andover, Hampshire
 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to The John Russell Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 23:00
Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The John Russell Fox 10 High Street, Andover SP10 1NY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Andover
  • Phone Number: 01264320920
Description
JD Wetherspoon establishment located in the middle of Andover. Serving breakfast from 07:00-12:00 daily, a wide range of meals from 07:00-23:00 and a vast selection of drinks from 09:00-00:00 daily.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The John Russell Fox and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The John Russell Fox staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?