We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cromwell Arms

$$ - $$$, British,
Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
+44 1794 519515
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
“salmon” (6 reviews)
“salad” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited on Christmas Eve 2017 with a group of 13 friends. The food was tasty (chocolate brownie yum!) but overpriced for what it was. My husband ordered some lamb chops for £17+ and all that he got was two small lamb chops and a tomato....More

Thank bjlarner
Reviewed 1 week ago

well, it's well designed, looks good has, accessible toilets and not much in the way of issues for wheelchair access so that's all positive. The food is pretty good although the menu is limited sometimes, I went on a Sunday for instance and by the...More

Thank Julian F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Joined friends for NYE dinner, food and staff were great. I thought that we would be having an event to welcome the New Year in. Sadly disappointed. The entertainment appeared to be a duo entertaining their mates in the bar. Where we were seated it...More

Thank BTPRS1000
Sean O, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so pleased you enjoyed the food on our New Years Eve menu and I have passed on your lovely comments to the rest of the staff. We appreciate your feedback regarding...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently came here for a christmas meal as a group of 14. The setting is very nice however the food was very disappointing. For starters the parsnip soup was on the cold side of luke warm, it tasted nice just needed to be hotter, the...More

Thank LizzieB439
Sean O, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lizzie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate receiving feedback. We have had great comments regarding our Christmas menus this year, I am sorry if on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I have passed on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There’s not a lot to complain about here - great food at reasonable prices. I would say portions could be more bigger, and the cheese board is underwhelming but lovely place, nice beverages and quality food.

Thank Chris N
Sean O, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chris, Thank you for your great review! I have also passed on to our head chef regarding the cheeseboard. We hope to see you again in the new year! Emma Chapman

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for lunch with a friend today. All food really tasty and well presented. Staff helpful and attentive.More

Thank sallyballypingpong
Sean O, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sally, Thanks for the feedback from your visit yesterday - it's great to hear you had a fantastic time and I'll make sure the team see you comments. Have a lovely Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back to The Cromwell in the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lunchtime Christmas team meal for 10. On the expensive side at £25 for two courses so you would expect great food. Service was ok apart from the constant 'mind the plates hot' - they weren't! I had the traditional turkey fare which was ok apart...More

Thank Steve J
Sean O, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Steve, Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to us - the feedback is always appreciated! I'm sorry you felt the food didn't live up to your expectations and I've passed your comments on to my Head Chef. We've had some fantastic...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a table for a Friday lunch but a person very kindly rang to say the area we wished to seat would be busy until 4.00pm. So we agreed to arrive at 5.30pm in stead. We arrived as booked to be told the table...More

Thank SalisburyDavid
Sean O, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi David, As discussed when you visited, we really were sorry we couldn't accommodate you on the table you had a requested - at this time of year it is hard to judge how long tables will be with us and the particular group (friends...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 5 present and past colleagues meeting up for a meal out & catch up. Staff were very accommodating and the food delicious... I opted for roasted Quail which melted in your mouth with each bite, followed by a delicious salted...More

Thank Carol K
Sean O, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Carol, Thanks for taking the time to review your meal with us. Delighted to hear you enjoyed everything and the team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cromwell soon. Kind regards, Sean

Reviewed 24 November 2017

We went for dinner during the week we found the food not great and quite overcooked especially for the price! The pub has a nice decor and good location but may be the kitchen needs looking at!

Thank fishermike80
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Romsey Hotels
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
617 reviews
.74 km away
The Abbey Hotel Romsey
20 reviews
.75 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
903 reviews
4.16 km away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
301 reviews
4.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Suan Thai Restaurant
258 reviews
.62 km away
Three Tuns
416 reviews
.29 km away
La Parisienne
449 reviews
.61 km away
The White Horse Brasserie
226 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Romsey Abbey
274 reviews
.74 km away
Plaza Theatre
69 reviews
1.23 km away
King John's House & Heritage Centre
84 reviews
.79 km away
Romsey Rapids Sports Complex
325 reviews
1.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cromwell Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Romsey
  • Phone Number: +44 1794 519515
  • E-mail
Description
A truly special place to drink, dine and stay at the edge of the picturesque market town of Romsey. The Cromwell Arms boasts locally-sourced specialties, a host of perfectly-stored ales and wines, and a fabulous marquee. It’s the perfect place to rest a while on the South Coast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing