We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion

Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
+44 1442 213594
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (106 reviews)
“fillet steak” (8 reviews)
“halloumi” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 610 reviews

Reviewed today

Been a few times in the past but I must say how poor the whole experience was this time. We went as a party of 11 the food was very poor £7.50 for squid which if you had bought it from the fish munger would...More

Thank MrParker1
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came on Saturday 24th March for my Dad's birthday. Beautiful restaurant area, very comfortable. We regularly come here for any special occasions or family lunches. Every single time the food is a consistently high standard. Anyone complaining about waits for food and drinks etc.. just...More

Thank Elle B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with family, had pre booked a table for 6. Shown seats, given menus then nothing. Some 15/20 minutes later some pleasant male waiter took our drinks order. Should have asked us for drink requests the minute we were shown our seats. Drinks arrived. Two...More

Thank _gillmarkham
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

It is good to hear you enjoyed the chicken burger and the fish & chips. But it does sound like we need to have a chat with some of our team members about how they come across, they didn't mean to sound rude. We will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Rather noisy in main part of restaurant (it was Friday evening) but found a quieter spot in another section of the pub. Ambience lively. Appeared to be an ambitious menu with jous and fondant potatoes but actually when you got down to it, there was...More

Thank Happycouple448
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided very last minute to visit the Red Lion at Water End with two freinds. As usual the place was very busy and we hadnt booked, the staff were very welcoming and helpful and suggested we take a table in the bar area for...More

Thank nigel m
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for Nan's 88th birthday lunch. She had pork belly- best she'd ever tasted! The rest of us had fish &chips, duck leg and haddock risotto- all delicious. Waiting staff were very attentive and brought out a complimentary dessert, complete with candle! Lovely experience.

Thank Tracy F
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many happy returns to your nan. The chef is very pleased to hear that it was the best pork belly she had ever had.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed an early evening supper at The Red Lion. The service was a little slow but not enough to be a problem and both servers were very polite and friendly. The food we chose was well presented and tasty and provided good value...More

Thank Emms60
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here twice this year. The kitchens can't cope with the number of bookings. Both times waited over 2 hours between ordering and receiving main courses. Bits to oily, bits over cooked. Sadly not the place it was 2 years ago. I feel sorry...More

Thank PDHANNABY
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My house burger was dreadful. Really salty and overcooked. Partners pizza was soggy and undercooked. I know it was bank holiday but no excuse for poor food.More

Thank 64janineh
Oakman I, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we hope you mentioned something about this to your server at the time? We would have been happy to replace this for you. If you wish to discuss this further, please get in touch: enquiries@oakmaninns.co.uk Kind Regards, The Red Lion...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great venue, Great service and great food. Simple! Only downside is you have to drive because of the location or just Uber.

Thank misspiggy1977
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
192 reviews
3.80 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
807 reviews
3.91 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
443 reviews
4.36 km away
The Watermill Hotel
446 reviews
4.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Crockers Chef's Table
104 reviews
2.13 km away
Chiang Mai Cottage
356 reviews
2.67 km away
The Cochin
524 reviews
2.76 km away
Moroccan Kasbah Restaurant
366 reviews
2.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Frithsden Vineyard
84 reviews
2.31 km away
Gadebridge Park
125 reviews
2.82 km away
St Mary's Church
26 reviews
2.79 km away
Piccotts End Wall Paintings
11 reviews
1.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jade G
27 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Helena E | Property representative |
We do indeed! Give us a call in advance or just pop in.
1
Vote
ted821
2 November 2015|
Answer
Response from mouseHerts | Reviewed this property |
Sorry we didn't have the steak, so I can't comment.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Monday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Tuesday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Wednesday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 213594
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing