We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon

) #86 of 93 Restaurants in Herne Bay $ , British,
78-80 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
+44 1227 370316
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good30%
  • Average23%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (7 reviews)
“sea front” (19 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
78-80 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Why do the barstaff have to keep asking 'who's next?'. Real barstaff should be in control of their work space and able to see who comes up to the bar and when. This has caused the bar ladies to insult and threaten clients today and...More

Thank PimlicoPete
Reviewed 1 week ago

A Tuesday evening. Packed ,loud, rushed service. Choose basic beefburgers and chips to be able to leave early. NOT a pleasant experience.

Thank Jenny E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a little bit like going into a library with no books. I went there with my children and besides the plethora of dirty tables, when we ordered our drinks they had run out of a lot of draught beers and the same happened...More

Thank Mark M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spoons is a right let down in Herne bay to be honest....it's very outdated inside and always seems a bit grubby....staff are okay I guess could maybe be better....maybe a bit of music wouldn't hurt as it's a little dead tbh..... 1/10 for me real...More

Thank Legend R
The Saxon Shore M, Social Media Rep at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately due to company policy we are unable to play music on our pub. This is because we cater to such a wide range of customers and music doesn't appeal to everyone. The Wetherspoons company is always updating and refurbishing...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm quite a fan of Wetherspoon's, part of their attraction being the actual venue and it's atmosphere, this one just did not impress with either aspect. They still had the usual offerings which, as usual, represented good value but still left me comparing it to...More

Thank tim p
Reviewed 12 May 2017

It was light and bright in the front of the building, where we found a lovely large table for our big family to gather together on a Sunday morning. The menu is large and extensive and we all had plenty of choice from either the...More

Thank Floridge
The Saxon Shore M, Social Media Rep at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are proud to offer a menu with variety that can cater to every individual. We are glad you had such a pleasant experience with us and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Decided to visit mainly to get out of the bank holiday weather and also to try the Wetherspoons order and pay app. The pub was really busy and all most walked out but found a table at the last moment we sat down and ordered...More

Thank 47,093
The Saxon Shore M, Social Media Rep at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. Our order and pay app is a relatively new feature and we're happy you were satisfied with its ease of use. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience at our pub and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 9 April 2017

Walked in and out again. Looked dirty and very unwelcoming. Such a shame as it has a great location on the sea front. Shame on WetherspoonsMore

Thank DDBKent
The Saxon Shore M, Social Media Rep at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your time to provide us with feedback. We are sorry you were dissatisfied with your visit. Wetherspoon's are currently in the process of refurbishing pubs across the country and we like to know what our customers are looking for to provide them...More

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Had a hot, fresh full English breakfast was very tasty. Served hot and quickly. Friendly staff, will be going back soon.

Thank JulieHerneBay
The Saxon Shore M, Manager at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi Thanks for your review glad you enjoed your breakfast. Regards Katie

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Ok so this is not going to a glowing review simply because The Saxon Shore is not a glowingly nice pub. The staff are all young as expected but they are often swept off their feet and waiting at the bar can become tiresome and...More

Thank CT1612
The Saxon Shore M, Manager at The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi Thank you for your review, we have recently changed our menu so glad you like the improvements. I'm sorry you get tired waiting at the bar, but its something we are trying to improve at the moment, we also have an app where you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Vintage Empire
276 reviews
.16 km away
The Wine Bar
246 reviews
.17 km away
Shad Restaurant
401 reviews
.18 km away
A La Turka
209 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Herne Bay Central Beach
159 reviews
.09 km away
Central Bandstand
86 reviews
.09 km away
Waltrop Gardens
44 reviews
.09 km away
The Seaside Museum Herne Bay
52 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Saxon Shore - J D Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78-80 Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Herne Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 370316
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing