We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lantern

9 Bank Parade, Burnley, England
+44 1282 426848
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“spring rolls” (4 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Bank Parade, Burnley, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in on Sunday to try the special banquet menu and we were pleasantly surprised about the amount of food you receive for the price. The quality of the food and the service was as good as we've had before and we'll definitely come on...More

Thank Phil A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

for a first timer very well well recieved. staff friendly food out of this world. red lantern is a real jem of a place. for me personally the only thing was the lighting could be better. i know they have to try and keep things...More

2  Thank waynelittler1973
Reviewed April 6, 2018

Carroll Jessica and Hannah make sure to welcome you the moment you arrive. Came for a quiet meal with my partner, the service was excellent. Attentive in taking your order and bringing drinks to your table. Very hospitable atmosphere and the food ,don't get me...More

1  Thank Alexpembers
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We had a banquet. Portions were large. All the dishes were hot and very tasty. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. What more could you ask for. Will be back soon.

1  Thank Dean070771
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Ive been here a few times and have loved it here every time, on our most recent trip here i was disappointed to see that one of the waiters (butterfly tattoo) wasnt there as ive always had her serve us. I ordered duck as usual...More

2  Thank sophpea99
Reviewed February 17, 2018

My partner and I went for a Quiet Meal.... Very cold as soon as we went in, but the SMELL was Disgusting---Smell of Stale Rotten Food throughout, we were nearly SICK! We decided to just get a Starter... Waited 20 mins for the Drinks to...More

1  Thank Justine L
angelgace6665, Owner at The Red Lantern, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2018

I wasn't going to respond to your review as I believe everyone is entitled to share their own opinion, however!..after some thought I decided it was necessary for the sake of my business to clear a a few things up. Firstly you said it smelt...More

Reviewed January 22, 2018

Visited on a Sunday again for the £15 buffet deal. Good value with more than ample variety of starters and choices of main meal. Friends/family that join us are also very happy with the food and service. Friendly reception on arrival.

1  Thank mslancashire503927
Reviewed December 5, 2017

I've visited here a few times, and always receive a lovely welcome. On this occasion, we were a party of five. Our table was ready for us when we arrived and the waitress promptly took our drinks order. She was also more than happy to...More

1  Thank Amy R
Reviewed November 23, 2017

From entering the restaurant to leaving, the evening was brilliant. The restaurant was busy but not overcrowded and the layout of the dining areas with it's subdued lighting created a friendly, relaxed and quite intimate atmosphere. The food was great and couldn't be faulted. Superb...More

2  Thank Terry C
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

All squashed round one large table despite rest of the place being empty. Place was cold some of group sat with coats on. Even one of the staff agreed it was cold. Place looking tired in need of a make over poor lighting in some...More

Thank tomo1407
angelgace6665, Owner at The Red Lantern, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

I would just like to politely inform you of the seating arrangement, the lady who organised and booked for the party of 13 discussed the seating plan with me and I gave 2 options , either have 2 big tables which would be nice and...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Burnley
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
509 reviews
.91 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
524 reviews
1.11 km away
Travelodge Burnley
156 reviews
1.30 km away
Rosehill House Hotel
380 reviews
1.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Continentals
223 reviews
.15 km away
Bellissimo Italian Coffee Shop and Eatery
141 reviews
.17 km away
The Loom Makers Bistro
169 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thompson Park
49 reviews
.72 km away
The Weavers' Triangle Visitor Centre
41 reviews
.51 km away
St Peter's Church
5 reviews
.22 km away
Turf Moor
6 reviews
.75 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Philip J
February 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from angelgace6665 | Property representative |
Hi Berdard We have 3 large round banquet tables, so your prob looking round the 30 mark...give us a call 👍
0
Votes
Sue E
December 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from angelgace6665 | Property representative |
Hi, you don't always need to book but it might be best at this time of year, we don't do buffet but have a special Sunday 3 course menu at £15 as well as our usual a la carte menu available Thanks Carole
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$47
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Friday
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Bank Parade, Burnley, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Burnley
  • Phone Number: +44 1282 426848
  • E-mail
Description
The Red Lantern opened in 2009, taking over from The Regent which had been there for 18 years. We are a family run restaurant serving authentic Cantonese food. Previuosly from "Charlie Chans" in Chinatown Manchester (which opened back in the 70s) we aim to serve Cantonese food in Burnley that is on a par with any Chinatown restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;