We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Italian Cottage

12 Cheapside, Chorley, PR7 2EX, Chorley, England
+44 1257 272669
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (36 reviews)
“carne” (4 reviews)
“sardines” (4 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Cheapside, Chorley, PR7 2EX, Chorley, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This visit to your resteraunt was terrible we had a table booked for 8 but unfortunately there was 9. The manager did nothing to accommodate us we were split into 2 tables and this was my nephews birthday meal we were told the table had...More

Thank Jane B
Italiancottage, Owner at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, when you came in last night to a fully booked restaurant with an extra person demanding to have your table increased & moved we did try to accommodate your party by offering the table next to you after explaining it would only be available...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A small gem found during an overnight stay in Chorley. From starter through main to dessert all our food was superb, very flavoursome and beautifully cooked. Service was excellent, efficient and friendly and welcoming. Easily the best dining experience we have had in sometime.

1  Thank twinksy
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your very kind positive review, we love what we do & it’s customers like yourself that make are job so rewarding. We hope to see you again when you next stay in Chorley. Regards Mark.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I remember when this restaurant was brilliant. Don't know where it's gone wrong. Bland boring food and chefs who just want to go home.More

Thank Saz89
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately we do understand that whilst the majority of our customers are happy with our busy restaurant returning regularly we will always be unable to please everyone despite our best efforts as nobody is perfect & things do go wrong from time to time but...More

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

The Italian Cottage is a cosy little restaurant with an inviting and well-priced menu. We visited early on a Saturday night and it was absolutely packed, so making a reservation is a must. They offer a great cocktail menu, in addition to a full bar....More

Thank SammyB223
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your kind review & we hope to see you again soon. Mark.

Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

We visited on a busy Friday evening and had a very pleasant and enjoyable meal. We were served by Kayleigh, she was charming, knowledgeable about the menu and really nailed the service; she got everything just right! Both the Chicken Liver Starter and Garlic Mushrooms...More

Thank simontk
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit & Kayleigh looked after you very well. We hope to see you again soon. Mark.

Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We ate here on a Friday evening. The staff were friendly and welcoming. They even managed to find a pair of reading glasses for my husband! The service was perfect - they gave us just the right amount of time to order and the food...More

Thank JanetW49
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi, thank you for your lovely review, I’m glad you enjoyed your visit & we were able to help with the loan of the glasses, hope to see you again soon. Mark.

Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I loved my visit here! The staff were warm and welcoming, the food was delicious and the atmosphere great! Good value! Will definitely visit again.

1  Thank Emmey78
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Hi, thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit & hope to welcome you back soon. Mark.

Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for the first time on Friday 21st Sept, despite living in Chorley for 18 years. Why we've left it that long I don't know! This is a fantastic restaurant. Cosy atmosphere, friendly welcoming staff and the food was excellent. Nothing was too...More

2  Thank Steve H
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi, thank you for this amazing review, we really couldn’t ask for anything more & are delighted you enjoyed your first visit with us. Hope to see you again soon. Mark.

Reviewed September 16, 2018

Party of 7 went for a birthday meal, all the starters were fine but 3 of the main dishes were terrible. All you could taste was salt. When we complained the attitude and explanations were pathetic. Apparently adding parmesan cheese to the meal was the...More

Thank mick p
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Hi, as I have already responded to your other review (under this one) I will just reiterate we did try to explain that adding a lot of extra Parmesan cheese to spaghetti carbonara can make the dish a little salty however we happily exchanged them...More

Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Started off well as the starter's were excellent however unfortunately the customer service let us down when 3 of the 7 main courses were sub standard, such a shame, will defo not be going to be back to be patronised with the bad attitude of...More

Thank Bob D
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Hi, we did exchange the dishes that where not to your taste without any issue & we are sorry to hear you will not return. Mark.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Chorley
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel
322 reviews
1.51 km away
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel
718 reviews
3.17 km away
The Lodge Motel
71 reviews
3.33 km away
Shaw Hill Golf & Spa Hotel
534 reviews
3.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Encore Chorley
88 reviews
.31 km away
The Old Stables Vintage Tea Shop
305 reviews
.23 km away
Cosmopolitan
634 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Astley Hall
501 reviews
.59 km away
Chorley Market
60 reviews
.34 km away
Pets' Corner
38 reviews
1.09 km away
Fresh and fruity
11 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrew M
June 24, 2018|
Answer
Response from Italiancottage | Property representative |
Hi, there is a large car park at the rear of the restaurant, it is free after 5 mon-fri, after 1 sat & anytime sun. Regards Mark.
0
Votes
Andrew M
June 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paul C | Reviewed this property |
You can park at the front if there's space or a pay and display at the rear on Fleet Street.enjoy
0
Votes
Richard B
November 5, 2015|
Answer
Response from Italiancottage | Property representative |
Hi, yes we have many dishes suitable for vegetarians.You can view the full menu on our website, I'm sorry trip advisor won't let me put the website link in this reply but if you google italiancottagerestaurant you should... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Cheapside, Chorley, PR7 2EX, Chorley, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Chorley
  • Phone Number: +44 1257 272669
Description
A Family run Italian restaurant in the heart of Chorley, we pride ourselves on great food, great service & a warm welcome. Our extensive varied menu includes pizza, pasta, steak, fresh fish, vegan, vegetarian & gluten free choices. Daily offers & specials available. Large parties catered for.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing