We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Italian Cottage

12 Cheapside, Chorley, PR7 2EX, Chorley, England
+44 1257 272669
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (32 reviews)
“penne” (7 reviews)
“pork belly” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Cheapside, Chorley, PR7 2EX, Chorley, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Booked a table for 2, the food was delicious and the service was prompt and the staff had an excellent manner. The restaurant was clean and the food was very reasonably priced.

1  Thank Mellissa H
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, thank you for the lovely review & we hope to see you again soon. Mark.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Myself & a friend decided last minute to meet up and have a Wednesday night catch up and tea out. We were able to park on the nearby car park located to the back of the restaurant & got seated downstairs against the wall, near...More

Thank Beth H
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, thank you for your review it's good to hear you enjoyed your meal & the service you received. It is fair to say the tables are quite close but like you said we are a small restaurant so have to try to make the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I absolutely love this restaurant. Consistently good quality food dishes. Great menu to choose from and a lovely ambience too. Cannot recommend this enough. If you haven't visited you are missing out.

2  Thank 62Felicity
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, we would all like to say a very big thank you for your wonderful review, reviews like yours make us very proud indeed. Mark.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a Thursday evening. Greeted and shown to our table immediately. Pleasantly surprised there was a 3 course special ( Thursday/Sunday only) £13.95. Excellent value for money and plenty of choice. Food was delicious and service was polite and friendly. Would definitely go back,...More

1  Thank jwefc
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for the kind review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. I'm sorry our wine list was a little limited for you but we do have a lovely house white, red & rose wine which is priced at...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with family and got a last minute table with was nice of them to fit us in. The food was great but it's so cramped in there you can't move around without bumping into anyone or disturbing people. It's disappointing because the foods...More

Thank Laura E
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry you found the restaurant cramped, we are a small cosy restaurant so try to use the space as best as we can to keep our offers & prices competitive as we only have 8 tables on each the lower & upper floor. We are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us came, 2 couples, the atmosphere was good, we were seated to a table upstairs, which was busy, quite a few others had arrived at the same time so we were a bit concerned that we might have to wait a while for...More

1  Thank almip
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, we are really happy to hear you all enjoyed your visit with us & thank you for very kind words. Hope to see you again soon. Mark.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Usually enjoy meals here but on the last two occasions we visited we have been disappointed... whilst the staff are lovely, friendly and can't do enough the food was very greasy... italian grill was swimming in it although from where we were sat it looked...More

Thank Helg24
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, we are sorry to hear you where disappointed with your meal, some of the meats on the Italian grill are coated with garlic butter & pork belly is a very fatty meat so I can only apologise if it wasn't to your taste, we...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Came here on August bank holiday Sunday with family we hadn’t booked so wasn’t even sure we would get in however we did. The food as always was amazing we opted for the 3 courses for £13.95 my personal choice was the black pudding 😍...More

Thank lancslad27
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Hi, thanks for your great review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit & enjoyed your meal & look forward to seeing you again soon. Mark.

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

My partner and I was in last night, we ordered from the 2 course menu. I had the pate which was nice, also order the chicken and mushroom dish. So did my partner, we was very disappointed it was bland we both couldn't put are...More

Thank Yvette M
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi, sorry to hear you found your chicken in a creamy mushroom sauce bland, in future if you are not happy please let us know as we check back on your meal. We check back on all tables whilst eating to make sure everything is...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Whilst being out Sunday afternoon in Chorley felt peckish and decided to try here as we've never been before. With it being bank holiday Sunday and just after 5pm we were unsure if it would be busy or if they could fit us in. We...More

1  Thank Jo-Anne E
Italiancottage, Manager at The Italian Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi, thank you for your review I'm glad you enjoyed your visit & will be returning. Mark.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bees Country Kitchen
115 reviews
.33 km away
The Old Stables Vintage Tea Shop
271 reviews
.24 km away
Cosmopolitan
562 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Astley Hall
411 reviews
1.36 km away
Chorley Market
35 reviews
.37 km away
Fresh and fruity
10 reviews
.29 km away
Chorley Little Theatre
105 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Richard B
5 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Italiancottage | Property representative |
Hi, yes we have many dishes suitable for vegetarians.You can view the full menu on our website, I'm sorry trip advisor won't let me put the website link in this reply but if you google italiancottagerestaurant you should... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 1:45 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Cheapside, Chorley, PR7 2EX, Chorley, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Chorley
  • Phone Number: +44 1257 272669
Description
This can be found and reviewed on sugar-vine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing