We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
+44 1665 606576
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 437: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Went here on the morning of my brothers wedding for the breakfast as it had been recomended by others. Paid for breakfast too be told that it finished at 9:30 however we would keep it open for a little longer too accomodate. Thats good customer service if you ask me. Selection was OK but could be better. Found bacon cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martyn K
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

So sorry you felt this way about our breakfast, thank you for leaving the comment's. We do hope to see you again soon! More 

Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at lunch time 12pm and were offered a table not too far from the bar. We ordered a "beef skillet" and a "pork, black pudding burger" Both meals were excellent and we then ordered a cheese board and a winterberry crumble. The cheese board was again excellent but the crumble was exceptional. No complaints whatsoever about the food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnrd1957
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the 5 stars. I'm pleased to hear you had a lovely dinner with us, we like to assure that everyone is happy. We all hope to see you again soon! More 

Rutland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on the way up to watch Scotland vs Italy and so pleased we did. The room was massive and great for our 2 year old toddler, food in the evening and breakfast were all really excellent but the friendliness of the staff is definitely worth a shout out - they were truly outstanding. Would definitely stay here again

Helpful?
Thank ChippyRutland
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind words. Really appreciate the 5 stars, we do take great pride in our services and aim for the highest standard in every area. Hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Sunderland. Co. Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting for just a one night visit this time we received the usual very warm welcome from Jamie who checked us in quickly and efficiently as always. As ever our room was perfectly prepared and comfortable. Parking is always easy here and once parked the wide selection of beers can be sampled. All of the staff go out of their... More 

Helpful?
Thank redcap68
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, we do hope to see you again soon! More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for lunch while visiting Alnwick. It was quiet, but the staff were friendly and attentive. We both ordered jacket potato, which came quickly, and the portion size of the filling was generous. Only downside was the price - tiny bit too expensive. We'd return, but probably for an evening meal rather than lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Sophie0808
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, we do hope to see you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the second time - room lovely and like the place but the food lets it down. It's just average at above average prices. Breakfast to be honest is poor - not great quality - frozen summer fruits and a poor quality cooked breakfast. Having said that, the service is really good, staff friendly and the rooms great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, please do come back and give us another try. More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very poor service & lukewarm food, overpriced. Chips appeared to be pre cooked & possibly reheated not very well as all food was lukewarm on arrival. Gammon overcooked & dry. Beefburger black & dry could not eat it. Very disappointed will not be trying restaurant again as we eat out regularly & get better quality & value for money elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank grastep
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your review and to hear that you had not enjoyed your dining experience with us. We try our best to ensure everyone who walks though our doors has a fantastic meal with us so that they return to dine again and recommend us. Please be assured that our food is all home made and cooked... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting, staff very helpful. Food was very nice except portions were very small for price most meals were over £10 left feeling disappointed and hungry. Thankfully kids got an ice cream with their meal as puddings were £5 to £6 each. Expensive for what we got :-(

Helpful?
Thank Claire R
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comment and review, most customers usually compliment the food sizes but we will pass your comment's on to the chef. We feel our food is great value for your money - all home made, freshly cooked to serve. Did you raise any issues felt to anyone as we would of happily changed this for you? More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently had a two night bed ,breakfast and evening meal stay. Excellent value for money. Comfortable room and very good shower. Great choice for breakfast and good evening meals. Two minutes from the centre of Alnwick .

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne W
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, pleased you enjoyed your visit. We do hope to see you again soon! More 

Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here for a meal as we were hungry and tired and just needed something to eat before heading off to our B+B for the night. Surprisingly good food - better than you usually get in these modern chain type pubs. We had a Scampi and a Steak and Ale Pie - both were well cooked and tasty though... More 

Helpful?
Thank ladybiker2012
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave this review, we all hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Travellers who viewed Hogs Head Inn also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Hogs Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 606576
  • This restaurant is at The Hog's Head Inn

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hogs Head Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hogs Head Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?