We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mizen Head Hotel

Lucker Road | NE69 7BS, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
+44 1668 214254
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (81 reviews)
“seafood” (134 reviews)
“moules” (22 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lucker Road | NE69 7BS, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Mizen Head with my girlfriend and her grandfather after the New Year. The standard of the food was excellent and the service impeccable . I had tempura prawns to start, my main course was plaice with potted prawns and a chocolate mousse...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank jbobjones
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic meal - seafood is their specialty and boy oh boy is it special! Extensive wine lol st and a huge variety of gins in the bar.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank JillTwizell
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in room 7 mini suite with patio in the annexe. Ate both nights and breakfasts and both the food and service was very good. I thought the food was a little overpriced though it was very nice and fresh. Wine by the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jakkisr
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We invited four friends to the evening. The four course meal, preceded by Prosecco, was excellent with lovely choices. There was musical entertainment, which was very discreet while we were eating ......and the interaction between guests and the singer was fun. It was quite lively...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Valerie W
mizenheadbamburgh, Manager at Mizen Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed our Christmas event. we are hoping to do another in the near future and hope that all the guests that joined us for our first will return in the future. we also enjoyed the night and Jason King will...More

Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

This hotel was freezing cold The walls had no insulation so they were very cold to the touch Even with radiators hot we needed a fan heater The staff appeared in denial of this Even the restaurant was as cold with diners eating with coats...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank L5S1pain
mizenheadbamburgh, Manager at Mizen Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I am terribly sorry that you felt this way, I would however like to say we were sympathetic about the heat, we are not in denial about the fact the building was cold and unfortunately as it is an old building we are limited to...More

Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

There was some confusion with our booking but this was handled well and we were accommodated as the restaurant was not busy. Unfortunately the service was disappointing. We were shown to our table where there was bread but we weren’t given any time to enjoy...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mwalshm
mizenheadbamburgh, Manager at Mizen Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I am sorry you felt rushed. We brought you through to the dining room when your starters were ready as you were enjoying a conversation with your guests in the bar and we did not want to disturb you until you were ready to go...More

Reviewed November 19, 2018

We went with friends and had a brilliant time. Dinner was superb, with lots of wonderful fish dishes ( plus steaks , chicken etc) to choose from, as well as a good wine list and some interesting gins. Breakfast was also very good, with plenty...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Lindsay W
mizenheadbamburgh, Manager at Mizen Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

thank you for your wonderful review. we hope to see you again soon and we hope you have a lovely Christmas and new year.

Reviewed November 16, 2018 via mobile

Delicious meal. We both thoroughly enjoyed our choices. The waitress was so lovely and made us feel very welcome. The only tiny downside is that we didn’t think it was open! The main door was closed and there wasn’t a soul to be seen! I...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank KimShepherd
mizenheadbamburgh, Manager at Mizen Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2018

Hi Kim Thank you for your lovely review. We do tend to get more quiet in the winter days however we hope you still had plenty of atmosphere. We are keeping the front door closed on particularly windy days at the moment due to our...More

Reviewed November 12, 2018

We visited the restaurant after a recommendation. We were a group of six. Although it may appear a little pricey and the menu is predominantly sea food, it is definitely worth a visit. If you like fish/seafood you will not be disappointed. As with other...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Ted W
mizenheadbamburgh, Manager at Mizen Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2018

Thank you for your kind review Ted we are very glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. We do get many compliments on our moules so I am glad that you agree. I would like to let other guests know we do offer meat...More

Reviewed November 12, 2018

We have eaten at this Restaurant several times & always try to book when we are in the area. Its probably regarded as a Fine dining restaurant & the prices reflect this but if you like good Fish (we had the Halibut) its well worth...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Paul T
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
The Victoria Hotel
1,168 reviews
.17 km away
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
487 reviews
.39 km away
Waren House Hotel
262 reviews
3.02 km away
St Aidan Hotel
477 reviews
4.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Potted Lobster
753 reviews
.15 km away
Wyndenwell
136 reviews
.44 km away
Restaurant at Bamburgh Castle
315 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Aiden Beach
460 reviews
.66 km away
The Northumberland Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
792 reviews
1.01 km away
Grace Darling Museum
822 reviews
.19 km away
Church of Saint Aidan Bamburgh
194 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jgw1953
September 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from teamhal134 | Property representative |
Hello, we are not pet friendly in either the hotel or restaurant however our sister hotel the lord Crewe does offer a pet friendly area in their bar Kind regards Laura manager mizen head
0
Votes
sarahkay11
August 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Andi P | Reviewed this property |
No, unfortunately not.
0
Votes
Tracey B
May 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Bob B | Reviewed this property |
Yes they certainly do. Best roast beef dinner but also a very extensive menu available and great wine.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lucker Road | NE69 7BS, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Bamburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 1668 214254
Description
A new extension to an old hotel.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing