We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Skylark

34_36 South End, Croydon CR01DP, England
+44 20 8649 9909
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good43%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak night” (3 reviews)
“real ale” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Pub, Bar, British
PRICE
$
DETAILS
34_36 South End, Croydon CR01DP, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was surprised at how good the quality of the food was considering how cheap it is, my meal was delicious and all of the sides I had ordered were delicious too. The atmosphere in the skylark is good, staff are friendly and helpful plus...More

Thank Andrew H
TheSkyLarkManagement, Manager at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H, It's great to hear such amazing feedback. We always strive to provide the best experience for all customers, and to hear that we achieved just that, is always great to hear. We look forward to seeing you again soon! The Skylark

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We've just had the worst experience ever here! Took the family for a lunchtime treat as we've had nice meals here in the past but all ruined today due to poor service, lack of cleanliness and bad food!! Took 30 mins for someone to come...More

Thank SharonBLondon
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management Team at The Skylark, responded to this review

Hi SharonBLondon, We can only apologise for the service you received on this particular day you decided to visit The Skylark. We unfortunately were extremely short staffed due to multiple staff absences on the day, and were trying our hardest to ensure all customers were...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

A few weeks ago myself and a few friends went to the skylark on a Thursday evening. We arrivied and we greeted by the staff in a very welcoming manner and they asked what we wanted. Throughout the evening we were able to have a...More

Thank Ashley K
TheSkyLarkManagement, Manager at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear Ashley K, It's great to hear to such positive feedback about your visit to The Skylark. We take great pride in our fantastic customer service, and to hear that we achieved this, is great news. We look forward to seeing you again soon! The...More

Reviewed 9 March 2017

The Skylark does everything a Wetherspoons should do. You know the drill - walk into a quiet room, see the same faces as last week, order a perfectly poured pint for a second-to-none price, enjoy your drink, repeat. The best thing about the Skylark is...More

Thank Karl C
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management Team at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear Karl C, We are extremely happy that you believe that The Skylark is everything a Wetherspoons' should be. In regards to the staff member in question, without anymore clarification on who you are talking about, there is not much we can do. We have...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

A real gem of a find in this area and its open and serving until midnight on a Sunday which was ace. The characters in there were really nice and helpful to me when I needed the toilets. I would go back in a heartbeat.More

Thank Ginabthegirl
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management Team at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear Ginabthegirl, It's great to hear such excellent feedback. We strive to be extremely customer-centric, by providing exceptional customer care. To hear that this was achieved is great news, and all the staff at The Skylark will be overjoyed to hear this. We look forward...More

Reviewed 1 March 2017

It seems that every pub now does its "Fish Friday" or whatever deals, and most seem to use it as an excuse for rubbish food and service. But the Skylark is efficient, good quality for the price, and the beer is really well-priced. It gets...More

Thank DP P
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management Team at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear DP P, It is great to hear such positive feedback. We always aim to do our best in all areas, and when we hear that we have done just so, it is fantastic news. All of the staff at The Skylark will be happy...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in here for a few drinks with friends before a night out in London. We ordered a shared platter for a light meal and it tasted nice. Drinks were as they should be in a pub.

Thank Belle-Noel
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management Team at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear Belle-Noel It is good to hear positive feedback. We always strive to ensure we are the best we can. So if there is any feedback to help us improve next time around, please don't hesitate to let us know. The Skylark Team

Reviewed 22 January 2017

I visited this pub on a Saturday lunchtime and it was surprisingly quiet, which was good as my friends and I got served straightaway. There was a good choice of beers on offer. I liked this pub, it has a nice interior and the staff...More

Thank TonyG1963
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management team at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear TonyG1963, We are delighted to hear such great feedback. We always pride ourselves in being warm and welcoming, and it's always great to hear that we achieve this. We hope to see you again soon. The Skylark

Reviewed 30 November 2016

What has happened to The Skylark? This used to be a great well run meeting place but now oh dear.On a recent visit 1. There was no Guiness 2. The main draught lagers were flat and lifeless. 3. There was only one single toilet cubicle...More

Thank Keith M
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management Team at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear Keith M, We sincerely apologise for your visit on the 28th of November. We unfortunately ran out of Guinness earlier on in the day. As for the toilets, we had plumbing issues which led to only the access toilet downstairs in use. It was...More

Reviewed 22 October 2016

Visited here in October before going for a meal. Nice atmosphere and great prices on drinks. Stocked the good vodkas like Grey Goose.

Thank SUNBEDSUE
TheSkyLarkManagement, The Skylark Management at The Skylark, responded to this review

Dear SUNBEDSUE, It's great to hear such positive feedback from our customers. We always aim to make sure every one of our customers feels valued and always leaves with a smile on their face! We look forward to seeing you again. The Skylark Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Karnavar Restaurant
505 reviews
.03 km away
Albert's Table
621 reviews
.05 km away
Bagattis
407 reviews
.02 km away
Yumn Brasserie
274 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Remembering 1916 Life On The Western Front
138 reviews
.58 km away
Boxpark Croydon
157 reviews
1.10 km away
Wandle Park
43 reviews
1.29 km away
Museum Of Croydon
64 reviews
.72 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
elvisfan571
Hi i am getting married and was wondering if would be possible to come to the Skylark for food and drinks after , I have eaten and had drinks in there a few times.There would be about 35 people. Would it be possible to have a section closed off for this ? Look forward to here from you. Sylvia.
17 November 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from crushertim | Reviewed this property |
There was a section being used for a childrens birthday party when I was there so I would guess so.
1
Vote
Diddillibah
Is the Skylark still open - I have heard a rumour that it's shut and am arranging to meet an old friend there for lunch this week.
6 November 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from TheSkyLarkManagement | Property representative |
We are open as per usual, looking forward to seeing you!
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$16
Cuisine
Pub, Bar, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Buffet, Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34_36 South End, Croydon CR01DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Croydon
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8649 9909
  • E-mail