We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Chateau

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Coombe Lane, Croydon CR0 5RE, England
+44 20 8686 1244
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 229: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really friendly staff and the food was fantastic. Stayed until the late hours and they were very accommodating to this. Will definitely be booking another visit!

2 Thank Arshy B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked our Christmas party here,never been there as always were told it's a posh and exclusively expensive eatery.I think our boss chose really well as the place oozed class and for what we paid for ,the food,the service,and the bar drinks were very well presented and great value.The waiting staff were relentless in their task and coped with all... More 

2 Thank armandem442
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This place has 4 stars on trip advisor but I am struggling to see why. I know mass catering for large parties of people at christmas can be a struggle but seriously this was a challenge for the staff. The room we had been given was upstairs and we were with 2 other groups. Tables had not been pushed together... More 

Thank Hirschie
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having booked a table for myself & a couple of friends- it occurred to me that it has been 30yrs since I last visited this place - hardly a regular! I am happy to report- that nothing much has changed. The valet parking has gone - I miss that nicety - it has a 'Monte Carlo' feel about it 😊.... More 

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Teachers from six European countries spent a week in the area and we wanted to host a meal for them. The Chateau was an excellent choice. They were intrigued by the time-warp decor and the polite but old-fashioned service. Inside it was warm on a cold night and the table layout was exactly right to allow conversation across a large... More 

4 Thank Nick B
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Very old fashioned. Food just about ok but nothing special. Waiter kept calling all the women in our group 'darling' which was not appropriate. Man who we presumed was the owner was surly and unwelcoming Toilets grim.

4 Thank Ballinpittle17
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We highly recommend using The Chateau for any occasion as we thoroughly enjoyed every stage of our experience with the team at this establishment, from the early planning stages to the last minute settings and final touches we had the staff's full support and reassurance that the party would be a success. We feel that the management went above and... More 

Thank Shona B
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had booked an all-adults family meal on a Saturday evening. We were bringing an older family member who has mobility problems and needed to be taken to the front of the restaurant. However, the parking was so chaotic that we couldn't do this, and had to help her walk from further away. There is a car park a few... More 

Thank Liz M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Just visited the chateau. As usual the food was well presented and tasty you could not fault it. The decor could do with a bit of tender care but it is the food that matters. I would recommend it for those special meals.

Thank jamesjames M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I was immediately alerted to the lowering of standards as we walked in the door- frayed & dirty carpet in the stairwell- too busy at the bar to serve us yet tables all empty in the restaurant - so we agreed to our aperitifs at the table- no atmosphere... I wanted to be optimistic but hard to do when service... More 

5 Thank millietrip
Venturi69, Owner at The Chateau, responded to this review

The name napoleon was dropped around thirteen years ago,quiet a while since your last visit!!!! We all expected that you would write something on tripadvisor and you did not disappoint. Extremely spiteful and bitter when considering we only failed to bring your desert in time to your table,which we did offer for you to have on the house. At this... More 

Travellers who viewed The Chateau also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Croydon, Greater London

Been to The Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
European, British, Gluten Free Options
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coombe Lane, Croydon CR0 5RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Croydon
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8686 1244

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Chateau and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
London, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Chateau staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?