We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Prince of Wales

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
23 Bridge Road, East Molesey KT8 9EU, England
+44 20 8979 5561
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri 12:00 - 00:00
Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good selection of food and drink in pleasant location not far from Hampton Court. Good atmosphere and efficient service.

Helpful?
Thank Colin W
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went to this place for lunch with a few friends in March this year. The service was great as we did not have long to wait for our orders to be taken. We were given a list of the local ales and beers if we wanted to select our drinks from. Great idea as we could taste the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave R
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with friends on a busy bank holiday, just had a BBQ burger and chips but had more flavour than any I have had for ages. Service was very attentive and professional by George. Good selection of beer too :-)

Helpful?
Thank nel_anthony
Oliver E, General Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words in your review. Both George and the rest of the team at the Prince of Wales are extremely happy you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again very soon. Kindest regards, Oliver More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my boyfriend for Easter Sunday lunch, and it was lovely! They had a lovely vegetarian option (vegetable sausage in toad in the hole - as in the picture), it's often hard to find a nice veggie roast!😊 Lovely atmosphere and nicely decorated! The only thing was it took 20 minutes to get someone to take an order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca G
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Takes ages to get a drink at the bar here and the staff are pretty unfriendly. We go for the odd drink but decided to not go back for food after we experienced a very rude waiter. Need to work on personality to make it more charming.

Helpful?
Thank Wreets
Oliver E, General Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Having read your review I am very sorry to here that you think our staff are all rude. We do pride ourselves on offering friendly service and great quality fresh food and on this occasion we did not deliver. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience here at the Prince of Wales. I will certainly be holding a team... More 

Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We turned up ...no booking...10 of us......we had a.great welcome by a lovely Scottish lass and she sat us down in the lovely garden out the back and looked after us...nothing was too much trouble ..great service and fab food...x

Helpful?
Thank 153Tops
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Maybe I was just unlucky or the chef was too busy(no real excuse) but my steak meal was awful. It felt like lumps of knotted elastic bands in my mouth! That's when I managed to cut some, there was so many tram lines in it. I cant imagine why the chef would serve a steak like that. He must have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jentol57
Oliver E, General Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our public house after your visit. I would like to sincerely apologise for the negative experience you had at the Prince of Wales. Having read your review I am extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your steak dinner. I am not sure how you ended up with steak, chips and peas... More 

surrey,united kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The prince of Wales always delivers on every visit I have had with my friends and family. I live about 15 minutes away and have been here numerous times over the years. I came here on Sunday with a table of 8 of us including kids and prams. The staff work very hard to look after everyone. The waiter took... More 

Helpful?
Thank jillian h
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I hate leaving bad reviews but felt I had to say something. Sometimes, a chef can had a bad day and when service is busy on a Sunday with endless Sunday roasts to serve, but everything we had was burnt, soggy or tasted truly horrible. I had mussels as a starter, but they smelt really disgusting and tasted of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonyhancock1
Oliver E, General Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Many thanks for your insight and I would like to sincerely apologise for the negative experience you had at the Prince of Wales. Having read your review, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your meals as we pride ourselves on offering wonderfully fresh and appetising food. As you will see from our other reviews we deliver... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Great location for a drink or a meal. We came to eat as there was the Vi nation game taking place and despite lot of people, there was so much space. if you do not like rugby, there is even space far from TV. On top of it food was good. Like in any of my first time in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JVG2012

Travellers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

East Molesey, Surrey
East Molesey, Surrey
 
East Molesey, Surrey
East Molesey, Surrey
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 Bridge Road, East Molesey KT8 9EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  East Molesey
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8979 5561

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Prince of Wales and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Prince of Wales staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?