We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Canbury Arms

) #47 of 297 Restaurants in Kingston upon Thames $$ - $$$ British, ,
49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
+44 20 8255 9129
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good30%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (16 reviews)
“scotch egg” (14 reviews)
“haggis” (3 reviews)
Opens in 11 min
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Local pub with good service and lovely food, we had the roast! Lots of tables to choose from outside or in. Even my favourite still cider, will definitely be returning

Thank Kathy A
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review, thanks for your support, it's really appreciated. Is it the Flat Tyre cider with rhubarb you like? It's really popular and a great drink to sip outside on a sunny day. See you again soon. Charlotte and Michael

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice food and lovely atmosphere but not much different to before the re furbished! !! The pizza availability is better and a good selection of drinks in beers etc too..... worth a visit but as a neighbour we saw the length of the works...More

Thank mick h
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I think you are confusing us with the Norbiton (and Dragon) we haven't had a refurbishment, they have been taken over by a chain of pubs, Food and Fuel.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This used to be a genuine gastropub now it is a mediocre pub, with very overpriced poor quality food. The owner really disinterested in getting polite feedback. Peas like bullets, old chips and very poor service. Will definitely not visit despite living in the neighbourhoodMore

Thank cindyhQ1065QA
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your feedback and to contextualise your review, you arrived at our pub at 5pm when our kitchen was closed and I spoke to you in person and made certain you were aware of this. Your food order was put through to the kitchen...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a drink before dinner here this week and was shocked at the price of one large glass of Sauvignon - over £9!! The meal was good, though, with attentive service, giving me time to get over their extortionate prices for wine (in the...More

Thank Ros S
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're delighted you enjoyed your meal with us, but sorry that you were surprised by the price of the wine. As you can imagine the cost covers not only the price of the wine but everything else that contributes to bringing that glass to your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dined here a long time ago and was tempted back via a leaflet drop with an offer. The service was friendly, welcoming, attentive and efficient. The food was really very good. I had the fish & chips, the fish was so well cooked and the...More

Thank Mmm_Spicy
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is great to read your review, your appreciation is a wonderful thing! We sent out the leaflet offer so we could reach out to past, present and new customers. It has been successful and rewarding to get feedback from our postcard and it's just...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have excellent memories of meals at the Canbury Arms in its glory days six or seven years ago. I remember especially the scallops with black pudding and the slow-roasted pork belly: things of beauty, both of them. So I was particularly disappointed when we...More

Thank Secondbass
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. Having been at the Canbury for 12 years we have served many meals and drinks to many people. Even in the days when you came to us we had some customers complaining about prices, ie the scallops around £10 as...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a Friday night table based on the pictures on trip Advisor and the reviews. If there weren't also pictures of the place itself I'd be convinced we had actually gone to the wrong place. The service was appalling, we waited 15 mins for...More

Thank pompeyjo
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. I am truly sorry to note the disappointment in your review. It is a such a shame you had to wait so long for your drink to arrive, there was a queue at the bar and it was one of the...More

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Great menu with tasty food and great snacks too... good service and location... welcoming and good atmosphere... all recommended ..been many times

1  Thank 1953nigel
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your review is delightful. It is so warming to read that you continue to enjoy our place so much. We are basically a back street pub trying to do a great job, thank you for supporting us, it means so much. Charlotte and Michael

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We have had a birthday lunch here for my bf and have come again as a couple. The staff are really welcoming and friendly and fun! I am vegetarian and all my mates love their meat and nothing is a problem. My main interest is...More

Thank Emma S
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Emma, your review is an absolute pleasure to read. We try to please most people, I agree about the veggie roast, I do believe we could have even more veggie options on the menu, I'm working on this with chef! I'm delighted you...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017

A lovely quaint pub just outside the town very popular always full,booking advisable Sundays the food is wonderfully,wide choice of drinks and beers always there glad I just live nearby !!More

Thank mick h
Charlotte S, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What lovely feedback, thank you! It's great to read your review and to get feedback about your visits. We try to do our best in terms of quality food, beers and service, it's lovely to hear that you are a regular who enjoys returning to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cappadocia
619 reviews
.33 km away
Obon Sushi & Udon
134 reviews
.29 km away
The Grey Horse - Smok'd Restaurant
115 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
"Out of Order" by David Mach
206 reviews
.37 km away
Rose Theatre Kingston
181 reviews
.91 km away
All Saints Church
74 reviews
.74 km away
Ancient Market
59 reviews
.78 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Canbury Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Kingston upon Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8255 9129
  • E-mail
Description
We are a Gastropub serving great homemade food, outstanding wines and superb real ales, service is second to none. Our style is relaxed but professional, we are independent and proud, committed to our community and embracing of all our cutomers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing