We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Stables

Fontwell Park Fontwell Avenue | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
+44 1243 543082
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (8 reviews)
“pizza” (14 reviews)
“fish and chips” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Fontwell Park Fontwell Avenue | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Booked table for 4:45 - fine & ordered Waited 45 minutes for our roast dinners to come out - after asking if anyone knows where are food is. Food came and the gravy had a skin over it ,.. where it had been waiting in...More

Thank ImooM
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Sorry to hear that your recent visit wasn't as great as previous visits. We take all feedback seriously and I have discussed your visit with my kitchen team this morning. Again thanks for your feedback

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Well i say quick ..... Arrived approx 6.30 and was seated very quickly. There was about 4 other tables eating. Service was very quick and staff friendly. We ordered the lamb duo and steak and mushroom pie. Waited ages for our food. Well over 40...More

Thank Chazgirl
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, thanks for your feedback. We have recently changed our menu and we constantly review feedback in how we can enhance and change our dishes to cater for all our guests. My apologies that it wasn't great on your last visit and my apologies for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came highly recommended by a friend we usually use the bosham inn which is another member of the chain and we never have a problem, table booked for 2pm ordered drinks as soon as we arrived got them at 2:35 starter turned up at gone...More

1  Thank Steer75
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Steer75 Thanks for your review and our apologies that your visit with us wasn't up to our usual standard. Unfortunately 2 of our team had gone absent that morning and we unfortunately could not cover them which left us short staffed. The team that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Travelodge next door to The Old Stables. The pub is very friendly & the staff very welcoming. We had some beautiful meals here, the menu is varied & the specials board offers some lovely meals. My daughter & I had the...More

Thank JulieY96
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review JulieY96, Myself and the team are glad you enjoyed eating with us and I passed your comments to Julie and Amelia who is new to the team so that has really made her day! Again cheers for the review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this restaurant last night for grandson birthday meal and there were 14 of us. It was very busy for a Wednesday and is a Vintage Inn so know what the menu is like. Had the calamari which was delicious and hunters chicken which...More

Thank Mazzie67
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mazzie67 Thank you for the review! Yes it was very busy Wednesday evening and the team did try to accommodate for everyone and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I've passed your comments on to Emily and Billy who were working and they were...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a lovely meal upon our first evening staying at the adjacent Travelodge. We walked in again the following evening to be told "Pre-bookings only". There were no signs advising this and we were told by another customer, this wasn't a one off incident....More

Thank calamityjane_11
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review calamityjane_11. Glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Unfortunately we were unable to take any extra guests the second evening and to ensure that we could operate a great level of service had to reduce the intake of people wishing to...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

The Old Stables is a lovely place to go for a meal. The staff are always friendly and the service is excellent. There is a good choice of food and drinks. We live locally and go there on a regular basis and haven't had a...More

Thank _the1glancy
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and we're glad you enjoy your visits with us. I've passed your comments in to the team and we can't wait for xmas either.

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Had a wonderful evening here last Friday. Service at the bar was very good followed by excellent and speedy service at our table. We were a party of six and I don't think that any of us had any cause to complain about anything. We...More

Thank Steve B
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review Steve B, I've passed your comments on to Billy who was most pleased and we're glad you enjoyed your evening. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 5 September 2017

This pub was a mere stone's throw from our B&B(Woodacre) and I recommend it. The staff were helpful and the locals were too. I have an allergy and the food was adapted without complaint. It was also delicious! They serve from 5pm which help families.

Thank rjdy
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We always aim to delight all our guests and changes to any dish for you to enjoy is never too much trouble for us. Again thanks for your review.

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were told that they had been very busy over the bank holiday weekend but as it was Wednesday I thought they might have restocked. The number of things not available was huge. We chose the prawn and lobster cocktail as a starter but were...More

Thank Tina H
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tina H Thanks for the review and apologies we didn't have everything in stock when you visited. We endeavour to run a full menu and unfortunately our suppliers do let us down which we try to substitute items on the menu for this. I've...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Shanghai Brasserie
35 reviews
.41 km away
The Forge
96 reviews
1.83 km away
The Holly Tree
323 reviews
2.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fontwell Park Racecourse
104 reviews
.10 km away
Gaston Farm
59 reviews
1.97 km away
Tangmere Military Aviation Museum
575 reviews
4.50 km away
Arundel Cathedral
423 reviews
6.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
deannauk_lower
18 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mike W | Reviewed this property |
My partner is disables and she was treated very well. No problems encountered at all.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fontwell Park Fontwell Avenue | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Fontwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 543082
Description
The Old Stables in Fontwell is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing