We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
European, British, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Behind a 17C red-brick façade lies a light and airy, contemporary brasserie deluxe. Start with a seasonal cocktail then choose from a range of Mediterr...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
68
19
9
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
68
19
9
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison pudding soup east street a fantastic dining experience cocktail menu cooked beautifully main course three courses by the glass birthday lunch superb food special occasion lovely atmosphere wine list mouth menus
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 27, 2022 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant, with such friendly staff. They were all very welcoming and had us laughing whilst having lunch/dinner. Would definitely recommend, the food is amazing!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2022

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. I shall be sure to pass your kind words to the team that were on shift last Sunday, as I'm sure they will be delighted to hear that your expectations were met. We shall continue to...More

Reviewed November 27, 2022 via mobile

Visited this lovely local authentic restaurant in petworth today for my brothers birthday. We were greeted on arrival with complimentary champagne and seated in a quiet area by the front door near a fire. The staff were extremely friendly and also had a sense of...humour. & I can’t forget the food. It was amazing. Well presented and tasted absolutely amazing. I would highly recommend to visit if you go to petworth. I will most definitely be back again.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2022

Thank you for reviewing your birthday dining experience at Estreet Bar and Grill. We shall continue to work hard to ensure all of our valued clients are impressed when visiting the venue, and I shall pass particular thanks to Jude and Anna for looking after...More

Reviewed November 26, 2022 via mobile

Another fantastic meal at E Street Bar & Grill - it’s like a little piece of London in West Sussex. The room was buzzing, the food and service were fab.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2022

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of our Estreet Bar and Grill restaurant, we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the buzz, the food and service with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The management team

Reviewed November 24, 2022 via mobile

Sometimes in life you can try too hard not focusing on what is important. The E Street bar is a genuinely pleasant place to enter, great furnishing and lighting , inviting bar where locals can drink reasonably priced drinks in a warm and cozy environment....We were shown to our table by a surly waiter who clearly would rather have been at home watching the World Cup, but, gave us the option to choose any table we wanted due to the lack of reservations. The table we sat at was an open booth, was clean and well lit with dog eared menus sitting on top of bleached white napkins and sturdy yet pretty cutlery. We did not feel rushed in any way and chilled water was poured. We were informed there were no draught beers and that the waiter ‘couldn’t remember’ the names of all the beers. Cold beers in chilled glasses were ordered and the beer bottles turned to show the labels - a level of attention to detail that made me convinced that this was going to be a good meal (although, somewhat contradictory to the initial welcome). On perusing the menu I was taken aback by the cost of the food. The menu was poorly printed and, when spending £30 per main you would expect to read from a brand new menu with ‘no printing errors’!!!! I wasn’t sure if the pheasant was £25 or £35 - either way it would have been way too expensive for a bird that would have hopefully been shot in a field less than 250 yards away. The menu is short and well considered with reasonable choice for any pallet - I had high hopes based on the offering and unpretentious description of each plate. I ordered hake, my wife a steak and friend the monkfish. The food arrived 15 minutes after ordering - all dishes arrived at the same time and were piping hot and did not look to have been kept under a heating lamp giving confidence that the chef knew what they were doing. The hake was somewhat of a let down, lacking any real flavour relying on a tapenade and slab of processed fish cake to bring any flavour. The lentils were well cooked but again had no body of flavour to support the meaty and well cooked fish. The addition of micro herbs(bordering on becoming macro herbs) and beetroot brought no discernible excitement leaving me completely underwhelmed at what promised to be an interesting meal - baked cod and cannellini beans is a common weekday meal at home and provides much more flavour than this dish. My friends monkfish was over cooked and lacked flavour. My wife’s steak was ok, good flavour but by no means tender suggesting it hadn’t been rested for long enough. We avoided puddings due to the disappointment it would bring but I ordered a very good tasting espresso. The E street bar is a delightful looking , convivial bar with bucket loads of potential,but, the food is simply not good enough for the price - in fact it isn’t good enough for a weekday home cooked meal. I am sure that Londoners descending on the pretty town of Petworth are ‘blown away’ by the offering ,but, anyone with half an idea of what good food is will not be fooled. I recently went to Barcelona and was served the best steak ever in a Smokey little cafe with strip lighting and sweaty chefs - it was sublime and worth every penny - the food served tonight was in stark contrast. Why, in England is there a culture where it is ok to charge excessive amounts of money for mediocre food? The E street bar would be better focused on its cafe/bar feel and serve hot dogs for £1.50 for any ‘foodies’ in the local area. It is such a shame because there was so much promise and I hope that the owners can filter out what is important and what isn’t so this bar can fulfill its potential and be the great place that it could be.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2022

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent visit to Estreet Bar and Grill, and please accept our sincerest apologies for falling so short of expectation. In light of your detailed review, we shall certainly look into our offering going forward, and we would...More

Reviewed November 13, 2022

We had an excellent dinner here and we’re beautifully cooked after. Very good local venison, and superb terrine. We really admire the style and ambition of the place. We’ll be back.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2022

We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience with us. We are very proud of our restaurant and what we do. We are lucky to have a small, but dedicated team that love to please our customers (I call it: nothing is a problem...More

Reviewed November 11, 2022

We came down from London for the weekend and had booked E Street because it looked good. It surpassed out expectations. From a delicious mimosa to start to stunning venison as a main course, with excellent wine by the glass and a very friendly waitress,...this was an amazing experience, well beyond our expectations. It deserves a Michelin star for the standard of its cooking! We were very impressed and will be back next time we’re down for a show at the Pallant House or Newlands House.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2022

Thank you for your 5 star review of our Estreet restaurant. We glad that our friendly waitress (Anna) and the rest of the team surpassed your expectations. Our small team of chefs are delighted about your praised comments on the food, They are producing amazing...More

Reviewed November 9, 2022 via mobile

We were visiting Goodwood revival and staying locally and looking for places to eat We are pleased to say we found E Street what a great place, the staff were really good, attentive and knowledgeable about menu The menu had a great selection to suit...all tastes and quality of food was very good Next time we are in the area will certainly returnMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2022

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear everything went smoothly and you enjoyed the whole experience. I will pass your kind words onto the team who looked after you.

Reviewed October 23, 2022

Petworth has at last got a superb, destination restaurant. Interesting & broad menu of delicious & creative dishes. The soup and the sashimi tuna had a tremendous depth flavour. The veal & fish were perfectly cooked & beautifully presented. Good wine list, interesting beers (no...real craft ales unfortunately). Two minutes from the market square & easy parking. Already planning out next visit.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2022

We are delighted you had such a wonderful meal experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoy our Chefs food. They are very proud of what they are preparing and strangely enough, with this shortage of available ingredients, they thrive on a daily...More

Reviewed September 25, 2022 via mobile

Had a great time here recently for a friends birthday There were 10 of us & we had our own private dining room upstairs Impeccable service throughout Great wine recommendation Exquisite food Good value considering what we had Will definitely return Many thanksMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2022

Thank you for your recent review, we are glad to hear how much you enjoyed celebrating your friends Birthday with us. We will pass your comments onto the kitchen team which will be very happy to hear that you all enjoy the "exquisite" food and...More

Reviewed September 21, 2022 via mobile

Walked in off the street by chance. Really good menu and excellent set price option. All 3 courses were great quality. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2022

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal with us. We will pass your comments onto our kitchen team and look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards The Management Team

Reviewed September 19, 2022

Eight of us lunched for a special birthday , the manager Phillepe made the long lunch a very special day , the food and service was extremely good. Well done the whole team and thank you.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2022

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you all had a good time, as this is what we are aiming to provide to all our customers. Hopefully we see you on your next special birthday

Reviewed September 2, 2022 via mobile

The menu looked great on the wall outside so decided to pop in on the off chance of getting a table at lunch time. We were give what we decided was the best (people watching) table in the bar area. The set lunch menu was...interesting and had a good variety of dishes. We had three courses and all were really tasty. The cocktails too were delicious, recommend the Bonsai, very good. Great staff very welcoming and attentive without being OTT. We would definitely recommend and will return.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2022

Dear Jonathan, Thank you very much for you kind words. Chefs are delighted that you found the three course menu tasty and enough choices of dishes. Jordan, mixologist, and a master of his trade was also very happy about your comments on his cocktails. We...More

Reviewed June 4, 2022 via mobile

It’s recommended in the Michelin guide but mire work needed to get a Michelin Star!! Below are my critics : Menu isn’t complicated but waiters lack knowledge of the meals they have on the menu. Facilities are great, verranda is airy and has a good...feel. Please clean off dust on the hanging lamp balls. Cocktails and meals are great. Love them all. Steaks come with its own sauce and must say there is very little sauce, not sufficient to dip in all the meat on the plate. Deserts are outstanding. So all in all please have waiters (both of them) learn a little more about the dishes and ingredients so that they help clients make a choice especially when they’re are undecided. All in all pricey and I think the above is manageable very quickly quickly. Brgds Pierre VDSMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Estreet Bar and Grill. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch overall, however I would like to apologise for falling short of expectation with our knowledge of the Menus. I...More

Reviewed March 21, 2022

We visited E. Street for a special occasion and it did not let us down. Service with a smile and attentive Steaks were out of this world... Beautifully decorated with buzzing atmosphere We will return!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2022

Dear Annix2013, Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that all staff made you feel welcome and specially that you enjoyed the steaks, The owner will be please that you liked the deco, and for the atmosphere we couldn't do it...More

Reviewed February 26, 2022

Upmarket venue in the centre of Petworth with well laid out tables and bustling bar area. Quite old fashioned in one way together with maitre d' supervising and pleasant knowledgeable staff. Great choice of drinks and wine, the food menu is as the website plus...a few specials so you know in advance what to expect. All our dishes were well cooked and nicely presented, both fish and meat choices were enjoyed as were the desserts, although not a long list. On the pricey side so really for a special occasion for us mere mortals and lost a point as my pet hate the dreaded "discretionary" service charge at 12.5% rather than 10%, the latter is I feel more justified.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Estreet Bar and Grill, General Manager at E.Street Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2022

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your meal together. Point taken on the service charge, but is a common charge through our businesses but we look forward to welcoming you both back in the future. Kind Regards,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Foresters Arms
131 reviews
6.16 km away
Chequers Hotel
186 reviews
7.58 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
1,417 reviews
9.07 km away
The Angel Inn
388 reviews
9.09 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Meghdoots Mystique Masala
306 reviews
.16 km away
The Horse guards inn
463 reviews
1.53 km away
Tiffins Tea Room
342 reviews
.05 km away
The Star
622 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Petworth House and Park
1,521 reviews
.29 km away
Petworth Cottage Museum
29 reviews
.07 km away
The Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin
19 reviews
.19 km away
Petworth Antiques Market
29 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Yoshino212016
February 17, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from hrdsocialmedia1 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. Worth giving them a call first.
0
Votes
Patrick G
September 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TInkerTaylor_13 | Reviewed this property |
Attitude darling not closing times.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

E.STREET BAR & GRILL, Petworth - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about E.Street Bar & Grill

E.Street Bar & Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4