We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sam's Seaside Cafe

104 Broadway St, Seaside, OR 97138-5804
+1 503-717-1725
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good41%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burgers” (20 reviews)
“tots” (5 reviews)
“cobb salad” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
104 Broadway St, Seaside, OR 97138-5804
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We cam in to Seaside late and stumbled upon this place, wish we kept on going. Ordered clam chowder and fish and chips. Chowder was too salty and fish too oily. The cheese bread that came with the chowder was goo, but not much else....More

Thank Mylien M
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We're sorry if your chowder wasn't to your taste this time, Mylien. We wish you would have let us know it was less-than-perfect because we'd have been happy to bring you a new bowl right away. We know we can do better, and we hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had dinner at Sam's Seaside Café a few days ago and we were all delighted. The décor is rustic, but the food and hospitality are tops. We had halibut and cod fish and chips and everyone declared that the portions were very generous. It...More

Thank Sandra H
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for coming by for dinner, Sandra! It's wonderful to hear that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Karen N., Owner

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Wandering downtown, my sisters and I stopped for a quick bite that turned out to be exactly what we had been looking for. We had the pan fried oysters, popcorn shrimp, clam chowder, and shrimp cocktail and all were delicious. It was during the car...More

Thank Renee B
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We're so glad you decided to stop by, Renee! Thanks for all the kind words. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area. Best, Karen N., Owner

Reviewed 29 August 2017

A friend and I were in town for an overnight trip. Lunch time when we got there and after perusing some menus, decided on Sams. It is an older building that has been remodeled to the best of their ability. You can't rebuild the building...More

Thank Jamie P
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Though I'm thrilled we were able to provide you with a wonderful lunch, Jamie, I'm disappointed your dinner experience was another story. My team had a lot going on the evening of the Hood to Coast, and I'm sorry we didn't get to you sooner....More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

I realize they were slammed because of Hood to Coast, but for what ever reason my salad came in a reasonable time but my husband's cup of chowder did not. Waitress came by our table to apologize but we didn't understand why a "busy wheel"...More

Thank TripChick403
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

I'm so sorry this is the dining experience you received from us. We were particularly extra busy the day you stopped by, and I apologize for the long wait. As for your food, I'm disappointed your order wasn't cooked to perfection. My kitchen was having...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

This place was recommended but not sure what they were talking about. The restaurant is an old building but presentable and the waitress was nice enough, if only the food delivered. I ordered the clam chowder but could only eat 3 bites. It was so...More

Thank 4feet
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

I'm so disappointed this is the impression you have of us. We do our best to prepare every order to perfection, but it sounds like my kitchen was off the day you came in and for that, I apologize. I hope you said something to...More

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

So....I came to a seaside cafe hoping for some authentic west coast seafood...the shrimp cocktail was horrible...it was tiny baby shrimp inside a lettuce leaf. The turkey sandwich was ok at best. The best thing was the peach dream drink....however it was very grapefruity and...More

Thank Jenna M
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

I'm concerned to hear that we didn't make a better impression here, Jenna, as we take great pride in the food that we serve here. The shrimp cocktail is one of our most popular bites and we typically get a great response to the turkey...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

I cannot imagine that worse crab cakes exist anywhere. Anywhere. I mean ANYWHERE. When visiting in June 2017 I had the (dual) crab cake special. One would think that a crab cake would have some, just an itty-bitty, little bit of crab meat. But not...More

Thank ilikepurple069
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our crab cakes. I want to assure you that they are not just filler, and in fact have plenty of crab meat in them. Regardless, we would have done what we could to better your dining experience if you would...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017

Our hotel recommended this little cafe to us when we checked in. We went straight there and got a table for dinner. We ordered a variety of things off the menu; chicken, fish and chips, salads and even an appetizer. Everything we tried was great...More

Thank Sawil7
Karen N, Owner at Sam's Seaside Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thrilled our food and service didn't let you down! You can count on us to serve up something delicious with a smile. Thanks for the kind words and amazing rating! Cheers, Karen N., Owner

Reviewed 14 July 2017

We just had a short time in Seaside, but it was lunchtime and we were hungry. We stopped in here after taking a quick peek at the menu. What a pleasant surprise! From the outside it looks like a small hole in the wall, but...More

Thank Stacy L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sea Star Gelato
331 reviews
.06 km away
The Crabby Oyster
427 reviews
.07 km away
Norma's Seafood & Steak
1,334 reviews
.08 km away
Finn's Fish House
561 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Turnaround at Seaside
619 reviews
.13 km away
Seaside Aquarium
1,001 reviews
.24 km away
Seaside Civic & Convention Center
83 reviews
.26 km away
Lewis & Clark Salt Works
35 reviews
.99 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sam's Seaside Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Digital Payments, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 104 Broadway St, Seaside, OR 97138-5804
  • Location: United States  >  Oregon (OR)  >  Oregon Coast  >  Seaside
  • Phone Number: +1 503-717-1725
Description
At Sam's Seaside Cafe, we help put the relaxation into your beach trip. As a casual family restaurant, we've been serving traditional American favorites for decades. From a selection of fresh seafoods to a host of perfectly grilled burgers, you'll be enjoying a great meal while listening to the sound of breaking waves. Our atmosphere consists of familiar freedom, coastal casual and seaside serendipity.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing