We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox

$$ - $$$, British,
129 Bradford Road | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
+44 1943 873024
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (16 reviews)
“pudding” (14 reviews)
“steak” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
129 Bradford Road | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 444 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Having been a local who uses the pub regularly I was hugely disappointed at how the general feel of the pub and it’s standard had dropped......UNTIL VERY RECENTLY THAT IS! Heathers appointment as the new manager has totally revitalised the place and all the staff...More

1  Thank Andy H
Reviewed 5 days ago

HOW often dare you write a review of your "local" ? It is legitimate surely if there has been a Changing of the Guards and there has certainly been changes over the past few months in this always friendly hostelry. Taking over the reins is...More

1  Thank Peter O
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Afternoon Peter, What a wonderful wonderful review. We're struggling to put into words how grateful we are for such a complimentary review, It is so nice to hear that all the hardwork Heather, Adam and the team have done is finally paying off. We're constantly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Living locally we keep trying this restaurant in the hope it improves but again tonight sadly disappointed. Quite empty when we arrived at 5.30 so good choice of table. Our waitress was very friendly and took our order quickly. Ordered drinks she came back to...More

Thank LeedsJack
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening Jack, I'm so sorry to hear we were not up to your usual standards. Unfortunately due to an issue with our supplier we did not receive any sparkling water, I can assure you that if you do chose to return we will most...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in today for a relaxed lunch. A very pleasant welcome from the staff. Very nice interior. A good choice of food at very good prices. A lovely 2 course lunch with drinks for £30 ain't bad at all. The food was very good and...More

Thank Stephen C
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review Stephen. We strive to make the exprience the best it can be at The Fox and we’re very happy to hear you’ve enjoyed yourself. We look forward to seeing you soon. Hywel Morris Assistant Manager

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

A very pleasant lunch with my husband. The scallops were very tasty. I had the squash soup. It was excellent. My choice was the beef short rib with mash and delicious gravy. Service was good and the ambience was cosy.More

Thank Sue W
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Good afternoon Sue, Thank you for leaving such a positive review, the quality of the products we serve is something we focus on very much and I'm happy to hear you've enjoyed them so thoroughly! I can't wait to have you back in at The...More

Reviewed 16 March 2018

We love the Fox and enjoy & look forward to our visit every time, we have never had a bad experience ever and the food is always excellent and never had a long wait. Keep up the good work guys. Michelle & MattMore

Thank Michelle B
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Afternoon Michelle, Thank you so much for your kind words, we're working very hard here at The Fox to improve our standards day by day, It fills me with joy that you have consistently had a good experience with us. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

I visited The Fox with my family for lunch and we were all left extremely disappointed! The service was terrible! All the staff were miserable and had no customer service skills whatsoever. We seemed to wait a lifetime for our food, when it eventually arrived...More

1  Thank Rebecca H
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we greatly appreciate all feedback whether negative or positive. I would like to assure you that what you experienced at our venue isn't the 'norm' by any stretch of the imagination. I...More

Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday night. Decided against the roast dinners as you can never tell how good they are on a Sunday evening! Chose the fish and chips. Freshly cooked and hot. Took some time to arrive after giving our order. Lovely open fire in...More

Thank watsta
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Fox and that you found our pub inviting and cosy. I apologise that you seemed to have a bit of...More

Reviewed 5 February 2018

I previously visited The Fox last spring after which I wrote a review (which has since disappeared) noting the very slow service. There have been several similar comments left on this website, and the manager generally replies with an apology. I visited again towards the...More

2  Thank SteveWharfedale
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I would firstly like to take this opportunity to apologise for the standard of service you received on Sunday. Please be aware this is not the 'norm',and I am very disappointed to...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

We have been to the Fox for Sunday lunch several times and never been disappointed, we had not been for several months and went today looking forward to the good food and excellent service we had received in the past. Sadly not although the food...More

1  Thank nellmolly
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I would firstly like to take this opportunity to apologise for the standard of service you received on Sunday. Please be aware this is not the 'norm',and I am very disappointed to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Ilkley Hotels
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1,161 reviews
3.46 km away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
1,940 reviews
3.47 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
259 reviews
4.99 km away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
956 reviews
5.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Chevin Inn
300 reviews
.77 km away
Westbourne Spice
421 reviews
1.41 km away
Solo Catering and Delicasolo
16 reviews
.76 km away
Menston Arms
10 reviews
.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Guiseley Retail Park
31 reviews
2.80 km away
Guiseley Well
10 reviews
2.53 km away
Otley Courthouse Arts Centre
31 reviews
2.95 km away
Coopers - Bar, Dining & Function Room
15 reviews
2.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fox staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 129 Bradford Road | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Ilkley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 873024
  • E-mail
Description
traditional Yorkshire village pub & restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing