We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle and Ball

High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
+44 1672 515201
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good38%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (22 reviews)
“sandwich” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eaten here many times but lately the food is dropping off,the usual quality has dropped, Hope its only temporary,presentation is awful,maybe there's been a chef change ....shame but won't rush back

Thank T E
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback. We have changed our menu this week, so I hope you will come back and see what new choices we have.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two of us had lunch on a Monday around noon. We both ordered steak & chips (medium rare), but they took a very long time and by the time we got them the steaks were cold and so had gotten tough and chewy. The chips...More

Thank Megan G
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm really sorry about the problems you had. I hope it won't put you off coming back to give us the chance to show you how well we normally do.

Reviewed April 21, 2018

Meals come prepacked to the kitchen which means that no changes to main meal constituents are allowed. They ran out of one of the vegetables that comes with most of the meals. Only let us know when delivering food to the table. Waitrose is opposite...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank johnaG4205RL
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm sorry about the issues with the vegetables, I can assure you that the meals don't come pre-packed, and the team should of offered you a replacement. I will conduct some additional training to ensure they all know this, so thank you for bringing it...More

Reviewed April 13, 2018

This was, and probably still is, the grandest hotel in Marlborough. It's been sympathetically renovated with tasteful decor and furniture. There are quite a few nooks and crannies, and on the midweek evening we visited, it was mostly full of older clientele, many of whom...More

Thank watsonworld
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thank you for your review, I will pass on your compliments to Karina and the team.

Reviewed April 10, 2018

Food is average-poor British pub, all sounds much better than what arrives. Prices are good so that is kind of acceptable - but the service is bad. You have to order yourself - then there is nothing - would sir like another drink? (yes -...More

Thank Mightymark9
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

I am very sorry for your disappointing visit. I hope you will give us another chance, and possibly book a table in our restaurant where you get table service, instead of the lounge where you need to order at the bar.

Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Food was lovely, useless staff. Grumpy, rude staff who made us feel we were a inconvenience to them as we were a large table of 27 who had pre-booked. No sauces offered to go with meals, one waitress did not know the difference between scampi...More

2  Thank Samantha D
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

I'm so sorry for the upset during your meal. We would of been happy for you to pay individually but it would of taken a really long time as that process is very time consuming on our till. I will be talking to the staff...More

Reviewed March 4, 2018

My partner organised a family event for 30, she wanted a pleasant setting, nice food and friendly staff, so booked the Castle & Ball, Unfortunately they had other ideas! Having been told we all needed to pre-order we expected it all to come out at...More

4  Thank Noodlebones
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

I am sorry your group encountered so many issues. I was on this shift, and I would of been happy to discuss this straight away had you mentioned anything at the time. I will of course be talking to the other staff working that day.

Reviewed February 28, 2018

had a lovely stay here in the great location of Marlborough. well worth the money with the winter discount.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Diane B
Old_English_Inns99, Owner at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed February 18, 2018

Having already pre-booked a table and specified my mother had walking difficulties, I arrived to be informed they had no record of my booking. No apology and treated with indifference we were shown to a table, and told the customer who 'had booked it' would...More

1  Thank 281nicky
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

I'm so sorry that out of all your enjoyable visits to us we have let you down this time. I do hope you will come back to give us the chance to prove that you can still have a really nice meal with us.

Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Its ok..would have given a 4 but for the incredibly small double bed. Needs an update but its an old building and everything is in keeping - our room had steep steps leading up to it and we did struggle a bit with the luggage....More

Thank LevAriel
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. All standard double rooms have double beds, but we also have superior rooms that have king sized beds so please ask about these if you come to stay again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Marlborough Hotels
The Castle & Ball Hotel
683 reviews
.01 km away
Parklands Hotel
101 reviews
5.40 km away
Chiseldon House
234 reviews
10.55 km away
Alexandra House
1,122 reviews
10.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mercer's of Marlborough
227 reviews
.09 km away
Pino's Ristorante
339 reviews
.21 km away
The Food Gallery
226 reviews
.21 km away
Rick Stein
624 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marlborough High Street
273 reviews
.17 km away
The Merchant's House Marlborough
73 reviews
.08 km away
Wiltshire Walks
22 reviews
1.41 km away
St. George's Church, Preshute, Wiltshire
8 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MDDG_12
July 23, 2017|
Answer
Response from Christine N | Reviewed this property |
The car lot is small there may be parking out front on the street!
0
Votes
NStandley
April 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Old_English_Inns99 | Property representative |
Good morning, Yes we do have car park which is free for residents. Check in is from 2pm onwards. Many thanks, Castle & Ball Hotel
1
Vote
Tracy C
January 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Old_English_Inns99 | Property representative |
hi, Yes we are in the high street and please book for the restaurant.Our opening times for lunch are 12.00pm till 10.00pm. our contact number for reservations is 01672 515201 many kind regards jim
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Marlborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1672 515201
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;