We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Surf

10 Gwithian Towans, Hayle TR27 5BT, England
+44 1736 752575
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good21%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (13 reviews)
“cakes” (15 reviews)
“ciabatta” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10 Gwithian Towans, Hayle TR27 5BT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Excellent food and lovely view from the cafe to watch the sea and surfers. Really recommend for family, solo and couples and even bring your dogs into the cafe for a nice chill.

Thank Joe P
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, great service, great food worth paying a bit more and dog friendly with amazing view

Thank tiatarn
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks,glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been here many times and I have never been disappointed. Delicious food : I love the chicken burger and the steak burger , ohh and the cake . Very clean and very friendly staff . Highly recommended after a surf or a walk...More

Thank Patricia D
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for the lovely review, it means so much to all of us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We regularly visit Sunset Surf due to my husband being an avid windsurfer. It is a lovely little retreat for me when the wind is blowing and even better they are licensed so a sneak sauvignon blanc is on the cards. Stopped in twice last...More

Thank Tracy B
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the lovely review - we are looking at the breakfast menu at the moment - and seeing how we can tweak it a bit. Thanks for the suggestions......

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great outside seating area. Dog friendly. Nice staff. Great chips and lovely coffee. Limited choice of lunch time snacks though, everything on the menu is over £8.

Thank Paul G
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hate to say it but soup is under £8. Loads of stuff is £8.50 but lets not split hairs! Do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely spot overlooking the beach but no one had wiped the seats down so got wet bums! Tasty coffee but £3.00 for a small black white is a little pricey. Didn't eat so can't comment on the food.

Thank Jo P
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Damp bums are never a good start to the day! Apologies for the wet seats. Come again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice selection of breakfast choices, very good coffee, friendly staff and an amazing view! This cafè has a lot to offer.

Thank Vit L
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the kind review - hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a Mum of 2 energetic girls, I always struggle to find a family restaurant in which we are comfortable - we were camping close by and I knew this place was busy in the day so I just by chance phoned to ask if...More

Thank Jo L
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Don't tell everyone - they'll all want to come!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived for breakfast at 10 and got a seat just before the hordes... ever popular so expect a wait at the busiest of times. Despite staff shortage and the ice cream delivery that just arrived food and drink was delivered quickly and courteously. This is...More

Thank Keith E
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much and also for being so understanding!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got takeaway to eat on the beach, food was perfect! Meals looked a little over priced but the chips were not expensive at all and were WONDERFUL! Friendly helpful staff and the cafe was bright fresh and clean!

Thank Kels5579
Annabelle S, Owner at Sunset Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review - chips on the beach - can't beat it.... Yum!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Jam Pot Cafe
71 reviews
.29 km away
Godrevy Cafe
511 reviews
1.07 km away
Hells Mouth Cafe
54 reviews
.02 km away
The Rockpool
372 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sunset Surf
36 reviews
1.46 km away
Hayle Towans Beach
404 reviews
3.35 km away
West Cornwall Golf Club
21 reviews
4.85 km away
Coast 2 Coast Karting
119 reviews
5.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mummyzara23
15 January 2015|
Answer
Response from Alistair B | Property representative |
Yes we are most definitely complete with high chairs and a menu selection with gluten free and vegetarian options. We will always do what we can to help with both access and any other special requirements. As a small cafe we... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$27
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 18:00
Monday
10:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 18:00
Thursday
10:00 - 18:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Gwithian Towans, Hayle TR27 5BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Hayle
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 752575
  • E-mail
Description
Sunset Surf beachside cafe and licensed bar is open all year round, serving high quality food and drink, served fresh and prepared from locally sourced, seasonal ingredients wherever possible. With breathtaking views of the beautiful St Ives bay, from Godrevy Lighthouse, along Gwithian Beach and across to St Ives, we provide the perfect setting for you to relax and enjoy your time with us. We are constantly working hard to improve everything we do, striving to provide you with the very best Sunset Surf experience in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We believe strongly in employing staff from the local area, working wherever possible with local suppliers and working hard to run a sustainable business with minimal impact to the environment.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing