We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

) #7 of 22 Restaurants in Par $$ - $$$ , British,
Polmear Hill | PL24 2AR, Par, St Austell PL24 2AR, England
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (11 reviews)
“roast dinner” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Polmear Hill | PL24 2AR, Par, St Austell PL24 2AR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 259 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Our first stay at Par. I am disabled and it was my husband's and my wedding anniversary. Went to the Ship Inn for a meal. When we went inside, it was filthy dirty and every single table had a reserved sign. When my husband asked...More

Thank Marie T
Reviewed 2 days ago

We visited for dinner which was not the best. We found that visitors came second to locals when it came to being served. Our meals were served by a waitress who could not care less whether we had all we needed or not, shrugged her...More

Thank Lorrainne M
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

First time at this pub; took my family; we liked the fact that the pub was quaint and not modern. Gave it character. Staff were friendly. The Carvery we had was lovely; no complaints there. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, would visit again 😊

Thank Serafina H
lynrose0104, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your recent feed back. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you visiting again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We dined this evening eating a carvery and it was delicious. Many tables were reserved but we managed to get a table. The atmosphere in the pub was good. Only problem getting to the bar with so many bar sitters

Thank John A
lynrose0104, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thankyou for your very positive review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to The Ship Inn.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Sorry, but this place was awful, we were served stale cake, lukewarm coffee, and the place needed a good clean.....won't be going again.

1  Thank jenniefree
lynrose0104, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We were very sorry to read your review and you can be assured we take your comments seriously. We will be speaking to staff about this review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the food was ok... this is a very average pub with staff who simply can't be bothered. We were given no menus or info on how to order, my wife had to ask a passing waitress. I stood waiting to buy our food and...More

1  Thank andythomas29
lynrose0104, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We were very disappointed to read such a negative review of our pub. We have since been in touch with the reviewer privately and currently taking action to deal with this unsatisfactory behaviour.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit here some time. I remember my parents coming here when I was a child and listening the brass band on a Sunday in the beer garden. There was a band advertised for this Sunday too. Stopped in on the way back from Fowey...More

Thank N9eav
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

went in pub bit dated staff friendly food very basic tasted ok but no wow factor bit annoyed and put off that they let dogs in bar when your eating even though there on a lead still think its bleeding gross when foods about the...More

Thank jerryleenottingham
lynrose0104, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi The Ship Inn is an 18th century building with many original features "a character pub" .....so dated yes. We serve freshly prepared 'pub grub" and I apologise if it wasn't suitable for you. We are situated next to a dog friendly beach, so yes...More

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

The atmosphere n friendly service of the bar staff n waitresses were excellent great food, great drinks,clean

Thank kashmore11
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Went yesterday for a Carvery. The placement is right by the entrance so cueing and collecting your food is a nightmare (people stood in the doorway). The food was very basic, meat was dry and only peas, carrots and partially mashed swede. The only good...More

Thank Jemz P
Nearby Restaurants
Sam's On The Beach
1,065 reviews
1.45 km away
The Strand Bistro
188 reviews
.88 km away
Yummy Scrummy Bakery
137 reviews
.98 km away
Val's Place
76 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Polkerris Beach
213 reviews
1.45 km away
The Fishermans Arms
18 reviews
3.67 km away
Wingz Bird Sanctuary
266 reviews
2.08 km away
Marsh Villa Gardens
59 reviews
1.81 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Polmear Hill | PL24 2AR, Par, St Austell PL24 2AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell  >  Par
  • Phone Number: 24-2-01726-81-25-40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing