We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macs Fish & Steak Bar

9 Higher Fore Street, Redruth TR15 2AJ, England
07762430501
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Fast food, British, Seafood
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Higher Fore Street, Redruth TR15 2AJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

We've just come back from a 2 week tour of Ireland. Tried local fish and chips when we could........not a patch on Mack's! We even had "posh" fish and chips in Solihull, at Loch Fyne......nah!

Thank Dave A
lolahoney, Manager at Macs Fish & Steak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you very much. We are happy you enjoy our food. See you soon!

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

I've never had a bad meal from here. It's always been good quality, hot and tasty. I usually phone ahead with my order and it's always ready when I get there. The chips are the nicest chips I've ever had from a fish and chip...More

Thank Cornish_Always
lolahoney, Manager at Macs Fish & Steak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your kinds words.

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We always get chip's from here all the family do it really is amazing food ... but the lady who served us ... Her customer skills were disgusting we placed a big order and the way we were spoke to I couldn't believe ! I...More

Thank Hannah F
lolahoney, Manager at Macs Fish & Steak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hi I am so sorry you were not served the way you should have been. It makes me so upset that my staff let me down like this. I really thank you for bringing this to my attention as when i'm cooking I can't hear...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017

Excellent fish, freshly cooked, delicious chips and a good range of other food on offer. Even steaks and curry.

Thank Jill M
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

They offer vegetarian options! The starting product may be vegatarian but the end product, described as vegetarian, is anything but as it is cooked in beef dripping. These options should not be described as such if they are cooked in animal product. When I asked...More

1  Thank HJT001
lolahoney, Manager at Macs Fish & Steak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

As a traditional fish and chip shop we have always fried in beef dripping. If we are asked what we fry in we always tell the customer. We do not try to fool anybody. You came in for your mother at 8.25 on a Saturday...More

Reviewed 8 December 2016

Disgusting chips over cooked made me feel sick thought I would try one, even though they looked over cooked I was hungry. Very poor you don't expect to buy food over cooked like this was, they must know what they are serving up very very...More

Thank jenee555
lolahoney, Manager at Macs Fish & Steak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Various levels of starch in potatoes turn the chips dark..I believe on this occasional they should have been treated with a product called starch doctor but had been failed to do so. I'm really sorry you had a bad experience with us.

Reviewed 18 November 2016

Went for the large portion. Lovely chips and an enormous piece of fish. Couldn't fault it though I'll be ordering the regular size next time. Traditional and somewhat pokey seating area to the rear but it was fine. Quite a bit of parking for customers.

Thank Tim&AlanCornwall
Reviewed 2 November 2016

this is the place to visit.nice and clean, good service, fresh fish and chip"S, and the chips are to die for, the very best we have ever tasted my wife and i have been visiting here for three years now and there is a car...More

Thank lilyxfred
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We had never been here before and thought we'd try it instead of going to Cousin Jacks, but it was a mistake. On arrival the staff were flapping and in a total mess, no-one knew what anyone was doing, several orders were wrong or did...More

Thank Christopher F
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited Macs last week, this was at short notice due to our planned pub venue being closed. I had a large fish and chips meal my wife had the regular all freshly cooked and as good if not better than any...More

Thank 4321allanl
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Amity Tandoori Cuisine
155 reviews
.04 km away
The Organic Coffee House
51 reviews
.30 km away
Zest Deli Cafe
50 reviews
.19 km away
Bray's & K's
24 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gwennap Pit
53 reviews
1.51 km away
Cornish Studies Library
12 reviews
.26 km away
Regal Cinema
137 reviews
.40 km away
Ghosthunting Cornwall
28 reviews
.50 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Pipandmac
What has happened to our fav fish and chip shop, we had takeaway and it was awful chips were dark and tasted old, we decided to give it another go and ate in restaurant. The tables were grubby looking, the fish was ok but again chips were not up to normal standard. The person who served us had batter spilled down their clothes and the loo was dirty and dingy. Please let's have it back as it was. Thanks Irene.
30 June 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from jan c | Reviewed this property |
I'm surprised to hear of your bad experience as I've eaten from macs this evening and was as usual very happy with the food and the service..maybe give it another go as hopefully was just a one off.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Higher Fore Street, Redruth TR15 2AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Redruth
  • Phone Number: 07762430501
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing