We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Close | Shop 4, 2, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
+61 2 4987 4618
Today
09:00 - 15:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 18:00 - 21:00
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 15:00
Wed - Fri 18:00 - 21:00
Sat 11:00 - 14:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Nice outdoor eating area, great menu and specials board options. Service is A1 but pasta dish quality is very inconsistent.

Helpful?
Thank Sheree D
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2016

Family birthday lunch 5 Specials on their lunch menu and at 12.30pm they only had 3 available. Although the restaurant is adjacent to a supermarket they made no attempt to offer any additional selection.

Helpful?
Thank Kellona
Platform_Restaurant, Owner at The Platform, responded to this review

Hi Kellona, Thank you for your review. Would you be able to provide us with some more details about your visit such as what date it was and a description of your server? Generally we run 5 or so specials at lunch time in conjunction with our full dinner menu of breads, appetizers, entrees, pastas and mains. The 5-6 lunch... More 

Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2016

I remember when this restaurant used to be called Biondi's and was famous for its garlic prawns. Now the decor has changed dramatically and there is a nice undercover eating area outside as well. I have only been there a few times for lunch and have brought family and friends with me. On all of these occasions the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine F
Platform_Restaurant, Owner at The Platform, responded to this review

Hi Christime, Thank you for your review and thank you for your support. We look forward to seeing you for lunch again. Kind Regards, Susie Solbrandt More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2016

Have had coffee and snacks here a few times. Jake and Hayley always lovely and both make really good coffee. Nice comfortable decor. Recommend this place for coffee and a friendly face.

Helpful?
Thank Tahi E
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our motel manager as being one of two of the better restaurants in Raymond Terrace. All we can say is the others must be pretty bad. The service was excellent with the two waitresses being very frendly and chatty enough without being annoying. The food however was very poor. It was bland and flavourless.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisf1956
Platform_Restaurant, Owner at The Platform, responded to this review

Hi cf1956, I will be completely honest with you in regards to why your meal was disappointing, although it is no excuse for the poor food. Our chef was on holidays (a rarity) at the time of your visit, which I remember as I served your table. We were running on a reduced menu at the time and chose dishes... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2015

We hadn't been to the restaurant since it became The Platform, and despite hearing some negative comments prior to our booking, we had a lovely Halloween experience. The staff were friendly taking the booking and on the night. We enjoyed our evening and the spooky menu. The decor and music were great. Only negative was being asked too often did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Platform_Restaurant, Owner at The Platform, responded to this review

Hi Heather, Thanks for your review and I'm very sorry about the candle! Kind Regards, Susie Solbrandt More 

Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2015

Very disappointing. Wines not available, "suppliers fault", meat not available, "butchers fault". One group members main meal came out 10minutes before anyone else's then one meal was completely forgotten/given to another table - solution, "it will take us 20minutes to get it for you". Worst pork belly ever - 2 group members opinion. Prices did not reflect decor or service.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ness2319
Platform_Restaurant, Owner at The Platform, responded to this review

Hi Ness, Thank you for your review. I apologise for your disappointing experience and I hope you made the staff member aware of this at the time. We do have supply issues from time to time, as we are a very small family owned and operated business we don't deal with large bulk suppliers. I apologise again, we do strive... More 

Wallerawang, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

The food here was really nice. Fresh and tasty. I recommend the veal medallions. Service was prompt and very friendly. A little pricey but the food was worth every cent

Helpful?
Thank Zac B
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2015

The food and services was great. There were only two of us but we had 3 courses each and everything was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2015

Enjoyed 3 course meal each, everything was delicious! Will definitely return here. Décor was ok but the food was delicious and despite being very busy the meals were promptly served with a smile.

Helpful?
Thank Julie P

Travellers who viewed The Platform also viewed

Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens
Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens
 
Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens
Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens
 
Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens
Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens
 

Been to The Platform? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Close | Shop 4, 2, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Port Stephens  >  Raymond Terrace
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4987 4618

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Platform staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?