We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schwaben House

$$ - $$$European, German,
1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
+1 864-329-8681
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sauerbraten” (20 reviews)
“apple strudel” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, German, Central European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

Came upon this accidentily. It is a bit pricey but well worth it. Staff is great. Food was fabulous. I thought the beach decorating motif was a bit quirky. Make sure you check out the sink in the ladies restroom.

Thank captmom
Reviewed 19 May 2017

My lady Joanne and I visited this restaurant while visiting Greenville. I spent 2 years in Germany during my time in the US Air Force and I wanted to try some local German cuisine. We arrived right at opening time, and were immediately seated at...More

1  Thank Terry W
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The food was delcious!!! As first timers we had the house specials Sauerbraten and Jagerschnitzel were unbelievably tasty & the Knoedle (Side dish) brought back childhood memories. We shared a Carpaccio...as an appetizer that by far was the best mouthful of the night.. highly recommended....More

1  Thank NA N
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We could not say enough good things about this restaurant. It is superb and has really thoughtful servers who remember you, what you've eaten and make suggestions at what you might like to try. Don't be scared away if you don't know German food. They...More

2  Thank Codeedo
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Place is really decorated nice. Menu has some great choices . My boyfriend got the butchers plate which was a special. All the sausages were good. I got the spätzle which was good. Service was outstanding and desserts they had the small bites available. I...More

Thank athena5365
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Hands down, my favorite place to eat in Greenville. Wonderful food, good atmosphere, friendly and attentive wait staff. The food arrives quick, hot, and is incredibly tasty. Good selection of beers and wines. I have never had anything but a great meal here. It is...More

2  Thank TravelingBikerdoc
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time and giving us a five star review. We do take pride in our food and service and it is always wonderful if the whole team gets rewarded for the hard work with a good review. We are looking forward...More

Reviewed 2 April 2017

My wife and I went on 4/1/17. I ordered the butcher plate which came with three different kinds of sausages. All three were not good. Two had very little flavor and the other was tasted like something from Hillshire Farm. When I politely informed the...More

2  Thank 1998TIGER
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Let me make some comments on you review about bad food: After the server brought your entrees, she came back and asked how your food was, your wife said hers was delicious and you said yours was good. She came back a second time and...More

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

I am visiting USA on business with my colleagues. After two weeks we wanted something from Home... The restaurant looks good all the waitresses treated us nicely. But there we're a young Tania. She messed up our orders then started to look angry on us...More

1  Thank Zoltan S
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

We are sorry that you had some issues with the server. The misunderstanding started after the food order was already sent to the kitchen and you made changes afterwards. We are all humans, and we are not perfect but at the end you received your...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Have been here several times. Myself and friends who come Are always impressed by the amazing food. Never been disappointed by any dish. Great beer selection and service is always top notch. Highly recommended.

Thank marshall t
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to The Schwaben House in two weeks and on both occasions the food was great, the service superb and great company of friends. We have not had a meal at the Schwaben House that has not been beautifully served, well...More

Thank CAMPIEIan
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased that you came back twice and had a wonderful dinner experience. We hope that there are many more visits to the Schwaben House in the near future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kitchen Sync
60 reviews
.24 km away
Da Vinci's Ristorante
77 reviews
.62 km away
Runway Cafe
82 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Runway Park at GMU
105 reviews
.85 km away
TD Convention Center
105 reviews
1.40 km away
Quest Brewing Co
28 reviews
1.39 km away
Camelot Cinemas
15 reviews
.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jean4282
22 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from amridgeway | Reviewed this property |
No but they seem to love kids. We brought our 12 month old son and they were all about him. I'm sure they'd accommodate any request for a little one.
0
Votes
janice m
18 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Sarah O | Reviewed this property |
Nope - I live several hours from both places. If you look at my other reviews, I tend to suggest other places if the original was bad. The food was awful - my guest who lived in Germany for years agreed. No clue why... More
2
Votes
victoria p
4 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Annette F | Property representative |
Please give us a call at 864 329 8681. Thank you looking forward to hearing from you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$36
Cuisine
European, German, Central European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Greenville
  • Phone Number: +1 864-329-8681
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing