We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banana Cabana

1130 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
+1 843-886-4360
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good34%
  • Average18%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“macho nachos” (16 reviews)
“fries” (30 reviews)
“mojo chicken” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1130 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate dinner here with friends while vacationing. The food was delicious and huge portions. My teen son and I split a nacho appetizer and still had plenty left over. It was the size of a medium pizza! We sat at a table outside and...More

Thank MrsSally50
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm so glad the meal was a hit for the whole group, Sally -- I really couldn't ask for more! Between the food itself, the view, and the service, I'm thrilled the meal was nothing short of perfect. Hope we'll see you again soon for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Saturday 6/3/17 around 7:00. Walked in was seated immediately. We ordered the macho nachos for an appetizer and it was great. The seafood platter is big and everything including the fried oysters (in which normally am not a fan of) was perfectly prepared and...More

Thank Jayson B
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm happy to have earned your recommendation, Jayson! It sounds like you ordered well -- the macho nachos are a big favorite and the seafood platter is a great way to try a little bit of everything. So glad you loved the fried oysters and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view and live music saved this review from being a 1 or 2. The outdoor seating is right on the water and you can see the ocean which is great. There was a man playing live "beach" music on the patio and he was...More

Thank bcucuzza
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

bcucuzza, we're sorry that you didn't have a great time with us. It's super disappointing to see that you won't be joining us again. If there's anything we can do to help you reconsider, please let us know. Best, Gary, Owner

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This little hole in the wall restaurant features a large indoor seating area with full bar and an outside seating area connected to a walkway to the beach. Generally, there is live music, hot food and cold drinks. Beachy food baskets (shrimp and fries, oysters...More

Thank Anthony P
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Anthony, thanks for the kind words! We're so glad to see that you appreciated our service, good, and location. Serving up tasty meals beachside is always our pleasure, and we're so glad that you came to see us. Don't be a stranger! Best, Gary, Owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hole in the wall restaurant that is SUPER GOOD! Just wish staff paid more attention to table because it was empty when we were there.

Thank albrown77
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

albrown77, we're so glad you love dining with us! Come see us again soon. Best, Gary, Owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, right on the beach. Music was good. Food was just okay. I don't think I'd go back unless I was right there on the beach and needed some food.

Thank FeelingBeachy13
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

FeelingBeachy13, thank you for sharing your feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed our location and music. We encourage you to try some different menu options next time! Best, Gary, Owner

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A beachfront watering hole. We ordered 2 drinks... Our waitress forgot one of them... Geez... Don't come here.

Thank Sam B
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sam, accidents happen, and we're sorry that we didn't get your order right on the first try. We hope you won't judge our entire business based upon the confusion regarding a drink order. Best, Gary, Owner

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Great food, great service, friendly staff and all ocean front. What more could you ask for?!? Their blooming onion beats outback by a country mile and their loud puppies have bits of jalapeño in them and are amazing.

Thank Wendy C
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wendy, thank you so much for showing your support! We're so happy that you loved the blooming onion and loud puppies -- we can't wait to serve you more. Best, Gary, Owner

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Their buffalo shrimp starter is just great! Perfect for family outside dining. A little old fashioned inside, but it gives you the seaside diner feeling. Great service and friendly staff. Love their after dinner mints too!

Thank Ben B
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Ben, our buffalo shrimp is always an excellent choice and a great way to start off your dining experience with us! Our staff cannot wait to serve you again. Best, Gary, Owner

Reviewed 15 April 2017

The Banana Cabana is our local go to place. Their dinner special with blackened fish and fried oysters with beans and rice is always my favorite. They make a killer cuban sandwich too. Everything is good though. Several of the staff has been around for...More

Thank Cameron H
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Cameron, we're so proud to read that you love dining with us. Our blackened fish is always a fine choice and our oysters are as fresh as they come! We can't wait to serve you another great meal. Best, Gary, Owner

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Long Island Cafe
466 reviews
.52 km away
Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
2,119 reviews
.18 km away
Sea Biscuit Cafe
611 reviews
.16 km away
The Refuge
125 reviews
.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Palms County Park
315 reviews
.30 km away
Isle of Palms Beach
75 reviews
.13 km away
Isle of Palms Beach
24 reviews
1.32 km away
Port City Moped
56 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Banana Cabana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1130 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Isle of Palms
  • Phone Number: +1 843-886-4360
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to Banana Cabana! We invite you to bring the entire family in to dine with us, relax and enjoy the food & the view. Located right on the beach of Isle of Palms, we're a family friendly establishment offering great American classics and seafood favorites.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing