We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coconut Joe's Beach Grill

1120 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
+1 843-886-0046
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good35%
  • Average22%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“red rice” (13 reviews)
“burger” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1120 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 260 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2016

Stopped at Coconut Joe's for drinks after a nice, long walk on the beach. You can see everything from here. Great frozen beverages.

1  Thank John J J
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thanks, John! We aim to please!

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

We came here for breakfast which I don't think is their specialty. We had good food but not great. We had wonderful views though which is worth the visit. I think they do have fun dinners and drinks with a roof top bar but couldn't...More

Thank funfamily20
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Hmmmmm….it is true that our breakfast vibe is completely different from our dinner vibe. It's pretty peaceful in the mornings.

Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Visited with family of four with two kids under 6. Live music on rooftop deck was perfect place to burn minutes while you wait for table - very safe roof deck for children. Great service and great food ( ordered the Macdaddy dinner for 2...More

1  Thank JCalcar
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

I was so happy to read your review, because you get what we are trying to do here. We are not interested in anything snooty; we are a fun, playful place that is oriented toward making families happy. We welcome everyone else, of course, but...More

Reviewed 1 April 2016

We went there for lunch. It's right on the beach on Isle of Palms. The staff is professional and friendly. We had the big po boy sandwich and the grouper sandwich and both were good size portions and very tasty. They give you a nice...More

1  Thank Joan O
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

We are happy that you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your nice review; hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 April 2016

We were visiting the area for spring break and we consisted of 3 adults and 3 kids. We were seated quickly and the menu had enough variety to make everyone happy. I ordered the Grouper Au Gratin which was absolutely delicious! My husband ordered a...More

1  Thank Kathie M
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you so much for your nice review. Aren't those copper mugs great? We're glad you had a good time!

Reviewed 29 March 2016

Visited Coconut Joes for the first time since remodeling. The new look is very welcoming and looks good. Our lunch on the outdoor deck was delicious and well prepared. I had the mahi tacos and my wife had the chicken tenders. Both meals were delicious....More

1  Thank Bob B
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Hahaha! Oh, Bob, you are too kind! Thank you for your lovely review! -Queen of the Mud :)

Reviewed 26 March 2016

My wife has had 2 hip replacements and needs a knee replacement. Stairs are possible but very difficult. Unfortunately thing can go wrong but it is how an establishment responses that is critical. The elevator was out of order but the manager offered to seat...More

1  Thank KDMagin
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Oh, my gosh! I was so upset about the elevator! Thank you so much for being so understanding! I'm glad ya'll got a good meal with a view. Hope you'll come see us again soon!

Reviewed 25 March 2016

Great views, great service, good food! Meaty pieces of fish in the fish and chips. Lots of meat in the sandwich wrap.

Thank Wendy M
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you, Wendy. We're glad you had a good lunch!

Reviewed 23 March 2016

I ate here this weekend with my son and I would not recommend it. The seafood was frozen overcooked coconut shrimp, the service was slow, the porch was loud, and the portions are small for the price.More

Thank Mashsr4077
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

I'm very sorry that this customer did not enjoy her meal. I'm a little baffled by "The seafood was frozen overcooked coconut shrimp" for several reasons. Our seafood menu includes much more than our handmade coconut shrimp. Oysters, mahimahi, grouper, crab cakes and shrimp, prepared...More

Reviewed 23 March 2016

Stopped here for lunch after strolling the beautiful beach. My daughter and I had the grouper sandwich which I would recommend, very tasty. Price of the food was OK but the view of the beach made it a bargain. I enjoyed looking at a lot...More

Thank MountainMurf
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Awwww……I'm so glad we made you happy. The albums belong to one of our two original partners. He will be so tickled to know that you enjoyed them.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Long Island Cafe
497 reviews
.56 km away
Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
2,198 reviews
.19 km away
Sea Biscuit Cafe
626 reviews
.15 km away
The Refuge
141 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Palms County Park
335 reviews
.33 km away
Isle of Palms Beach
103 reviews
.14 km away
Isle of Palms Beach
28 reviews
1.16 km away
Port City Moped
58 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John R
24 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Elizabeth B | Reviewed this property |
I do not know. Sorry
0
Votes
CoconutJoe2014
20 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Roger-and-Thea | Reviewed this property |
My review was good. No complaints about anything.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
08:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1120 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Isle of Palms
  • Phone Number: +1 843-886-0046
Description
Coconut Joe's is a family-friendly restaurant right on the beach. We have a wide range of entrees on our menu: burgers, seafood, Caribbean specialties, entree salads, wraps, and plenty of choices for the children. During the season, we have live music at our rooftop bar every night, and this is a fun place to be if there is a wait for your table. We offer call-ahead seating up to 45 minutes ahead of your anticipated arrival. During the cooler months, we offer a spectacular view, and a quieter environment to enjoy your meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing