We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Braunton Inn

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Braunton road, Braunton, England
+44 1271 816547
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 570: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On holiday with friends and after being attracted by the beautiful location and building we booked a table for Sunday dinner. Very empty at 6pm but didn't mind. Lovely female waitress but everything went downhill when the coke came out flat and in dirty glass. Ordered 2x prawn cocktails. The Avocado was unedible as was 'fizzy' in taste. We politely... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan W
General Manager A, General Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Siobhan W, Thank you for taking the time to review The Braunton Inn. I am sorry that you chose not to stay for the steaks with roast trimmings that you requested. I apologise that you took the waiters explanation of the avocado as him telling you it couldn't be off. I can assure you that he was trying... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for a quiet drink together to relax. Disappointing, we both ordered Pepsi max. The lady in the bar was lovely when she poured the first drink it was a funny colour. I tried it and it was flat and tasteless. She realised the syrup had run out. He boss then said "oh yeah Pepsi max is sold out"... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Evening David W, Thank you for taking the time to review The Braunton Inn. We have been experiencing problems with our Pepsi machine recently which has resulted in multiple call-outs to Britvic. We are working to get this issue resolved as soon as possible. I apologise that you ended up with a product that was not your first option,... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here for lunch, no welcome by staff, not busy so could have made an effort to say hello at least!. Lunch order was wrong, sent wrong meal back, waiter did not come back to tell us how long the meal would take to come back. My partner therefore ate their meal alone whilst I sat and waited for mine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brighty80
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning Brighty80, Thank you for taking the time to review The Braunton Inn. I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us. I would like to apologise for the lack of communication from your server during your visit. Unfortunately, the wrong item had been put through the till by the lady that took your order. I will... More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This old country manor house has a beautiful crenellated roof and grounds overlooking an estuary. Indoors, there are cozy nooks and warm, cozy fireplaces. Unfortunately, the food doesn't live up to the surroundings or the menu claims. It isn't bad, it's ordinary.

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
General Manager A, Duty Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mike L, Thank you for taking the time to review the Braunton Inn. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our building, we are very lucky to work in such a beautiful building and area. I am disappointed to hear that you find our food 'ordinary'. I agree that the menu has some items that are popular... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The special menu had the day before date on them so avoided them as made the day before, lots of frozen food on menu and they use the paper garish on dish, reminds me of wimpy and little chef. The premises has the potential to be a lot better on food

Helpful?
1 Thank claire b
General Manager A, Duty Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Claire b, Thank you for taking the time to review the Braunton Inn. I apologise for the oversight with regard to the date on the specials menu. I can assure you that they change on a daily basis, as well as throughout the day with particularly popular dishes. We are proud to be a Vintage Inns as the... More 

Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with friends for Sunday lunch. Food expensive for the quality and measly portions.Awful inedible Yorkshire Puddings, greasy potatoes (some burnt and some under cooked), fruit trifle with no fruit! Service unimpressive. Meal a total embarrassment and we will not be visiting again or recommending.to friends. One star is for the building, which is lovely.... shame about the rest.

Helpful?
1 Thank ddsbin
General Manager A, Duty Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon ddsbin, I am truly saddened to read your review (although I thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback). Your comments have been passed on to the kitchen and the front of house staff. We will be speaking about it further at our team meeting tomorrow. I can only apologise for your disappointing visit. I am... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Both the building and the location are impressive, but this is negatively reflected in the price of the food and its quality. The quality of the food was average, and was over priced for what it was. I have had better quality food and at cheaper prices in several other local pubs and restaurants. Service was pleasant and attentive on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sphil24
General Manager A, Duty Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon sphil24, Thank you for taking the time to review the Braunton Inn. We are very proud of our building and location as you quite rightly point out are impressive! I am sorry that you feel our menu does not match up to this. We are a member of Vintage Inns and endeavour to provide both quality food and... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

rude manager no staff terrible food all its got is the view... went here for a quick bite wish we had gone on by...

Helpful?
2 Thank Marcboddy
General Manager A, Duty Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Marcboddy, I am so sorry to read this review. If you could please contact myself at brauntoninn@vintageinn.co.uk with further details of your visit, I will look into this further. Kind Regards Katie Duty Manager More 

Devon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for Sunday lunch arrived at 12.30 pm the floor in the bar was covered in mud . Ordered a drink and looked at menu decided on roast beef which was £ 11.50 it came quite quickly but the yorkshire puddings were so tough you could hardly cut them with a knife very mean portions veg was over cooked not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonSuzy
General Manager A, Duty Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon DevonSuzy, Thank you for visiting us at the Braunton. I am so sorry to hear of the issues you had during your visit. Unfortunately, due to our idyllic location on the Tarka Trail, the floor can get quite dirty early in the day. We do endeavour to clean up as much as possible during service but this is... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst service EVER ! Where do we start. 10 min wait at bar to be served. It wasn't busy. Just me and another lady who had been waiting longer for a glass of water for her son. Went to order food and no bread, NO BREAD !! I think worst thing we saw was the female barlady screaming at an... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gary F
General Manager A, General Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gary F I am sorry to read about the service you experienced yesterday, I will be bringing this and other reviews up at our weekly team meeting to ensure our staff are aware and recognise good service, I was onsite all day yesterday, I would be delighted if you could call us on 01271 816547 or email at brauntoninn@vintageinn.co.uk... More 

Travellers who viewed The Braunton Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Braunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Braunton road, Braunton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Braunton
  • Phone Number: +44 1271 816547
Description
The Braunton Inn in Barnstaple is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Braunton Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?