We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Braunton Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Braunton road, Braunton, England
+44 1271 816547
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good21%
  • Average14%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible27%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (12 reviews)
“fires” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Braunton road, Braunton, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On Sunday evening, after attending the local cinema, my adult son suggested we go out to eat. Fine with me. Our first couple of choices had stopped serving at 3pm. So, I suggested The Braunton Inn. In the past I have had week day lunches...More

Thank Sharman v
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called in on spec as we were in the area and wanted lunch. It was busy and we got the last free table in the bar, right next to a lovely open fire. The staff were busy but efficient, our food arrived promptly, and...More

Thank Curatorgirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this pub on Thursday 1st November with my family. The food was ok but the service by Donna was appalling. I work for M&B and was very disappointed with the standards of the service. We were served our starters and the kids mains,...More

Thank l0uprice
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the braunton inn for lunch the service was excellent the food was also excellent. Great choice on the menu a great experience under the new management!!

Thank Voyage52858264243
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was very good. My pizza was lovely as was my husbands steak but service was extremely slow to say the least. We waited 40 minutes for our coffee and pudding which even with an apology isn’t very good. Just one waiter to serve...More

Thank SueTimmis
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dreadful! Terrible food, poor service, when you complain they simply ignore you. Cant recommend this restaurant.

Thank Sonia D
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We never ignore our customers, when we ask how your food is, we listen. If it is poor quality we do something about it.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here today for a family Sunday meal with 6 of us. Had booked the table a few days before and got a table sorted for 2.30pm. Was greeted upon arrival and shown to the table, but then immediately advised that the only roasts available...More

1  Thank Andy D
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us your comments about your recent visit. I have answered your points in the previous review, as you are from the same party. I would like to say that is extremely difficult to judge how busy we will be on a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have lived in North Devon for 16 years and this was the worst experience I have ever had. To make it even worse, we were celebrating my cousin's 60th. Our starters came at different times - so most of us had them cold. We...More

1  Thank DevonLocal4
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am extremely sorry that your food was not up to our usual high standard. Whilst we do take responsibility for the poor quality of your meals, we did not appreciate your attitude towards our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off for evening meal for wedding anniversary and met by friendly polite staff. We were shown to table and served by a lovely waitress. We were then given a menu each, which were different ! The food was the main let down, cheesy garlic...More

1  Thank 125garye
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave is your feedback. I do apologise that you meals were not satisfactory. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen manager and his team to go over and put measures in place so this does not...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, and place shame that food is mediocre considering I’ve ate at other vintage inns and they have been better , had a lovely big fire inside , been twice unless it changes the grade of food won’t go again

Thank Dvrk
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I will be passing on your comments to head office with regard the food and our suppliers. I do hope that you will give us another chance. Thanks again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Braunton
Barnstaple Hotel
1,570 reviews
3.56 km away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
293 reviews
4.48 km away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
688 reviews
4.91 km away
The Imperial Hotel
1,916 reviews
5.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fremington Quay Cafe
806 reviews
1.67 km away
The Corner Bistro
400 reviews
3.01 km away
Han Court
219 reviews
2.52 km away
The New Inn Fremington
63 reviews
2.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Biketrail Cycle Shop & Cycle Hire
88 reviews
1.65 km away
Marwood Hill Gardens
262 reviews
4.12 km away
Walking On Waves Surf School
62 reviews
4.26 km away
Museum of British Surfing
34 reviews
3.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DevonLocal4
October 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from sandmtwinbedders | Reviewed this property |
Was always quite good there, but suggest you read the latest reviews,
0
Votes
mumablueg
January 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DevonLocal4 | Reviewed this property |
Poor!
0
Votes
Ryan S
July 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JohnS9573 | Reviewed this property |
Agree
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Braunton road, Braunton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Braunton
  • Phone Number: +44 1271 816547
Description
The Braunton Inn in Barnstaple is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing