We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dornan's Fish and Chips Shop

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Winner of several awards this family run traditional fish and chip shop provides excellent quality, lightly battered fish and beautiful chips. Choose from MSC North Atlantic Cod & Haddock or locally caught Plaice, Huss, Hake & Scallops. Don't fancy fish? Then why not try one of the home make steak and kidney puddings or steak pie? You can also get a haggis or black pudding supper, or perhaps a portion of battered cockles! Enjoy xx
PRICE RANGE
US$8
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
112
6
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
112
6
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tartare fish and chips haggis chip shop mark and sarah changed hands chippy sauce small cod cooked to order tasted lovely take away portions are generous the portion size light batter lovely friendly staff worth the wait cooked fresh
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This chippy changed hands a few months ago. I always used to make the trip out of Brixham to go there, but hadn’t been since the changeover, partly because of mixed reviews. However, went last night and was very pleasantly surprised. At least as good...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank petersM9789TZ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent fish and chips. May have changed hands but fish and chips still as good. Lovely friendly staff.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Patricia C
Reviewed December 12, 2018

The best fish and chips I’ve had for a very long time. The cod and batter was delicious and not greasy at all. I’m only in the area once a year but will definitely go back to Dornans. From the “small cod” lady.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Kingswear
Reviewed November 9, 2018

We had a fish and chip takeaway tonight and quite frankly it was disgusting. The batter on my haddock was soggy, thick - almost gloopy and oozed oil. I had to wipe the plate there was so much residue. I really thought it was Dornan's...More

Date of visit: November 2018
5  Thank Lindy P
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Second time of getting fish and chips from here. Really good.. No soggy chips and the batter on the fish is nice and thin. Friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TA584H
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Just came across this little gem, there's new owners apparently and they're doing ok as far as I can see.just had fish and chips but the batter melted in my mouth and the fish tasted lovely, they were experimenting with the chips as they'd had...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jsm69
Brixham_Samurai, Owner at Dornan's Fish and Chips Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Tim

Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We don’t often get a takeaway but we decided to treat the kids to a fish and chip supper. The food we got was absolutely burnt to a crisp. I wanted to call to make a complaint but I over heard the owner when I...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank janeR4332OE
Brixham_Samurai, Owner at Dornan's Fish and Chips Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thanks for your review. I pleased that you called back in for a full refund. In fact, none of your food was burned, but we had a problem with colour. Without too much boring detail, a problem with the oil, which we have now solved....More

Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

I only recently discovered this place as it is out the way of town , the chips are delicious and not oily ( they are cooked in beef dripping I think it says in the board but they will also cook in normal oil suitable...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jasmin H
Brixham_Samurai, Owner at Dornan's Fish and Chips Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed it all. Kind regards Tim

Reviewed September 17, 2018

My first visit since the business changed hands but new owners have certainly stepped into the shoes of their predecessors and the quality remains high. Great fish cooked to order and the same oils used as before.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Col-Hathi
Brixham_Samurai, Owner at Dornan's Fish and Chips Shop, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Tim and Sam

Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

After using this place for years its just not the same quality anymore after new owners have taken over I'm gonna have to go hunting again for better quality and taste again.More

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank vegasblade
Brixham_Samurai, Owner at Dornan's Fish and Chips Shop, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thanks for your comment. Interesting because Mark and Sarah trained us in their methods and we are using the same ingredients, cooked in the same way, at the same prices. We are also using the same opening hours. We have increased the quantity of fresh...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
andysR3183CG
June 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from Brixham_Samurai | Property representative |
Hi, 8.30pm
0
Votes
LynneMick B
October 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jon B | Reviewed this property |
not sure
0
Votes
mspell4
September 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 318sarahd | Property representative |
You can. They only rule we have is that if there is a queue we don't answer the phone. This is because we feel it would upset customers waiting in the shop. So we will answer if we possible can. Sarah Dornan
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing