We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant

23 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
+44 1929 288188
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
23 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Sit in the pub garden with a beer, some reasonable pub food & watch the steam trains running through Corfe Station. Pleasant barman & not too busy outside. I think there is free parking off Station Road. Car park was quiet [I had parked elsewhere]....More

Thank Aldhelm
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the surroundings and the welcoming staff. The parking is free to customers. The food is freshly prepared each day and to order for each customers. Depending on...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Arriving just on 9.30pm so food was just ending, but was served anyway. Had to ask to clean table and for cutlery from the waiter, who seemed to not have a clue what to do. Food came out fast but wasn't pleased with what we...More

Thank gib-ta
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for leaving another review from your table. Please see my response below to the review left by your friend. Kindest regards, George

Reviewed 1 week ago

A very nice traditional pub. Sat outside, very nice. Good pub food, traditional ales. Had a great time there.

Thank UrsulaHans
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience and we hope to see you back here for more soon. Kindest regards, George

Reviewed 1 week ago

Shockingly unfriendly staff with over priced food and drinks. Such a shame as its in a great location but we didn't feel valued at all.More

Thank ecallaghan
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking time to review your visit with us. I am confused as the review doesn't explain anything and is factually incorrect. Our drinks are the second best priced in the village as we are not tied like the other establishments in Corfe....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately we have arrived quiet late, around 9:30pm and we didn't expected they will still serve food, however we have been told they will take last order. Had to ask for table to be cleaned,ask for cutlery and not even a steak knife at that...More

2  Thank Jana P
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are all disappointed that you did not have a good experience. We were aware when you came in and asked for food that you had no where else to eat in Corfe...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Historic hotel with a modern feel. Friendly attentive staff - barman broke off from his lunch to serve us. Good choice of food. Crab sandwiches very tasty as was accompanying salad but no crisps!More

Thank SUSSEX020
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am glad that the staff were so attentive and made you feel at home. I will pass your comments onto the chef and ask him to look at the crisp situation! We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate at the Bankes last night. Unfortunately it was a huge disappointment. The setting at Corfe is stunning and there is a fairly captive audience, with only limited competition locally. (The Greyhound, being the other very local pub.) We had pre-booked a table and...More

2  Thank Babs S
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are disappointed that it was not up to your expectations. In relation to the service I will be sitting down with George and going through his training again. George is one of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have been coming to the area for over 40 years, initially totally separately with our parents , then as a couple, then with a family of our own and now as and older couple with a puppy, We have seen the...More

Thank APH0363
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking time to review your visit. We are delighted that you had such a good experience and were so well looked after by the staff. I will pass your comments onto all of the staff who work so hard to ensure that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel Restaurant with its historical name is located within eye site of the famous castle on the main road in the centre of the village and close to the little railway station. It is a fine building of some character and the staff were...More

Thank davquayle
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are glad that the staff were well trained and dealt with you professionally. I will look into your comments in relation to a cold lasagne and tough meat. We have built up...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

The staff and pub interior were lovely, but the food seriously lets this place down. I had the paella - unfortunately a flavoured packet rice and a bit of fish does not a paella make. The burgers were underdone but the chips were good. I...More

Thank Ginner24
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the surroundings and the staff made you feel welcome. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the food. The rice is boiled and not from a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Corfe Castle Model Village
215 reviews
.07 km away
The Castle Inn
727 reviews
.36 km away
The Greyhound Inn
1,253 reviews
.03 km away
National Trust Tea Room
392 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dorset Waterpark
493 reviews
.73 km away
The Blue Pool and Tea House
343 reviews
2.80 km away
Putlake Adventure Farm
104 reviews
4.86 km away
RSPB Arne
246 reviews
4.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bast163
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from George P | Property representative |
Hi Bast 163 If you look at our website you will find our menus there. If you have any other questions please do not hesitate to contact us. If you need anything else please do not hesitate to contact us. Kindest regards... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$45
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Isle of Purbeck  >  Corfe Castle
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 288188
  • E-mail
Description
A real foodie haven, The New Kitchen Chef Designed Kitchen at the Bankes Arms Hotel will produce a Seasonal locally sourced menu. Bread is baked in the Village Square, The abundance of fresh seafood in nearby waters allows us to have fresh scallops, crab, lobster, plaice and bass on offer together with a superb selection of Game Chicken, Beef Pork and Lamb where possible from Dorset Farms. Mindful of choice, a variety of fresh vegetarian dishes will also be on offer including Gluton free.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing