We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nellie Crumb

17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
+44 1929 552524
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good24%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (40 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived as a party of seven and were seated immediately. We had a range of cooked food and sandwiches, all of which were tasty. The building is quaint, good service by Jessie and the price was reasonable. We didn't sample the cakes but they...More

Thank Sarahbird33
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review - we glad that you enjoyed the food that you had with us and I know that Jessie will be pleased that you felt you were well looked after by her when you visited us recently. Hopefully next time you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely lunch here after a long drive down on holiday. Great choice of sandwiches, paninis, toasties, hot dishes. Good service and friendly staff. We went back a few days later for a cream tea which was nice, but slightly let down by...More

Thank Jane B
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate you taking the time to put your review on our page - we're pleased that you enjoyed your lunch when you visited us recently. I guess every-one likes there scones served differently - we find that most people like them slightly warmed and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived at 1.45pm, a table was quickly cleared for me, and my order was taken quickly. I then had to wait 45 minutes for a meltie (bacon, mushrooms and cheese on toast). Staff were very apologetic, when I mentioned the wait. Other tables were...More

1  Thank Lesley C
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments - I'm pleased that you were served promptly when you came in. Unfortunately due to the bad weather of the last few days we have been extremely busy and as most of our menu is freshly prepared we can struggle...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The welcome seemed a bit chaotic, but the good thing is you don't have to wait to be seated - just grab a free table. The staff were friendly and actually quite efficient. They made an effort. I had whitebait - the portion wasn't over-generous,...More

Thank Libby H
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review. I'm glad that you had no problem finding a seat and that our team were friendly and able to serve you quickly. As you said the whitebait is more of a light lunch and if you wanted a full...More

Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Called in Saturday lunchtime for a cream tea. Fast and efficient service and one of the best cream teas in the area. Other meals serviced looked delicious. Would recommend.

Thank RonD47
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your very kind review - it's good to hear that you enjoyed your cream tea and that you thought it one of the best in the area we really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Popped in around 1.30 pm on a Saturday, we took a table as no one was there to show us. Some other groups of people also arrived after this and seated themselves. After 15 minutes and after watching the staff give menus and serve all...More

Thank TCsurrey
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

I was sorry to see that you had slow service when you recently visited our tearooms. When you came in it was lunch time and we were busy with about nine tables all coming in at the same time - as we are a small...More

Reviewed 24 June 2017

We had a very enjoyable breakfast there today all freshly cooked, good to see that dogs are allowed in.

Thank 13Annie13
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfast when you visited us recently - we welcome dogs as we know they are part of the family and it's certainly been too hot recently to leave them in cars. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 15 June 2017

A very pleasant little restaurant. There were plenty of people eating but we were served quickly in a very friendly way despite being quite crowded.More

Thank Terry R
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you found us pleasant and that you were served quickly even though we were busy. We never really know what each day is going to bring and quite often two days are never the same...More

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Only went in because we were desperate for a coffee and couldn't find anywhere else that would let us indoors on a chilly morning with our dog. The back room had rows of tables crammed in so we felt we were sitting on a bus!...More

Thank Jane D
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

I can't work out when you visited us in view of a chilly morning which we don't seem to have had recently. I'm really surprised at your comment about a building that was built in 1736 and has the beams and character of this period...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017

As a group of four (slightly damp) cyclists we were extended a warm welcome and offered a place to park the bikes "around the back". Enjoyed a very nice lunch.More

Thank Philip H
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

We do get several cycle groups calling when they are on a tour round the Purbecks - we are pleased to offer the facility of keeping their bikes safe in our back yard and hope that next time you come the weather is a little...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Italian Kitchen
291 reviews
.10 km away
The Quay Inn
391 reviews
.09 km away
The Salt Pig
430 reviews
.14 km away
The Old Granary
818 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wareham Saxon Wall Walk
43 reviews
.39 km away
Wareham Town Museum
22 reviews
.13 km away
St Martin On The Walls Church
9 reviews
.15 km away
The Rex Cinema
112 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Nellie Crumb staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 552524
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing