We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Willett Arms

) #15 of 74 Restaurants in Wimborne $$ - $$$ , British,
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
+44 1202 883144
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Didn't want to come here as the last 2 visits were bad but decided to bow down due to peer pressure. Again the service and understaff of the restaurant was shocking. 2 hours from arriving to the main meal, we also had a starter. Came...More

1  Thank markbuffery
Reviewed 6 days ago

We took some friends to the Arms who we recommended the pub too . The service and food were fantastic as usual. The Rib Eye was done to perfection , washed down with plenty of good wine . We were last to leave, we had...More

Thank dodgy69
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a meal with friends and family. Staff are really attentive and polite and Vicky was a great host nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and cooked to perfection. Also attended the Peroni party prior to the meal which was great fun...More

1  Thank Teresa C
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a bad day to come to Wimborne, the day after the Folk Festival. It seemed nowhere was cooking food, and so this is why we chose The Willett Arms for Monday Lunch. My initial impression was of a smart & efficient restaurant. The...More

Thank Michael D
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Michael D, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We're disappointed to hear that you found the crackling to be dry, we will pass these comments on to the chefs as well as sending your compliments regarding the scallops! We hope to be of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited before the refurbishment in February. A competent referb but not glamorous as promised. Sadly the food is average but overpriced. We were served by a young lady who was the only excellent element of the visit. She worked hard and seemed to be...More

Thank Outofthelaw
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Outofthelaw, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to visit on a regular basis but apart from excellent Sunday roasts it was just OK. However, since the recent revamp it has improved so much. Really nice decor and lovely covered outside area. They have opened up the old 'ball pit' kids...More

Thank Fennes
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Fennes, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Was staying close by in merely court in a lodge and we walked to this restaurant.from the outside this place looked so inviting,and it didn't disappoint.sevice was very good food was stunning. I had the seafood linguine which was beautiful. Great tasting and packed with...More

Thank Tilermark
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Tilermark, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this pub for a friends funeral lunch. The pub has plenty of parking outside which is visible from the road. The building has been recently refurbished and looks great. Inside is equally smart. We were in a separate room which was ideal and gave...More

Thank AngieP49
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Angie, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lunchtime today 8th June...ordered drinks took 15 minuets to arrive (2wines and 1 beer) Ordered food and inspite of complaining three times about slow service it eventually arrived 45 minuets later. The pea purée was dried onto the plate the asparagus was dry and lukewarm...More

Thank deuxchein
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having not been to the willet arms for a long time I felt it would be a lovely place to spend my 25th birthday, and, for the most part I was right!!!! The food was delicious, the waitress that served us was friendly, welcoming and...More

1  Thank Leanne C
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Leanne C, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Firstly, may we apologise for the oversight regarding the Roast Pork Loin. We regret that on this occasion we were unable to serve the pre-ordered meal and for this we sincerely apologise....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cloisters Restaurant
223 reviews
1.42 km away
La Vie En Rose
104 reviews
1.49 km away
No. 9 On the Green
152 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wimborne Minster
236 reviews
1.57 km away
The Priest's House Museum & Garden
67 reviews
1.58 km away
Affordable Studio Art
39 reviews
1.60 km away
Butcher's Dog
12 reviews
1.47 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Karen H
Have you a Burns night planned if so can you book in advance.
12 January 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from bonjgb1009 | Reviewed this property |
No I dont believe there is. Plus it is closing down for refurbishment on the 5th February.
2
Votes
Everyonelovescake
Hi We're visiting the area next week and would like to know if we can bring my mums guide dog although not working whilst we're away. Also can you adapt the children's menu for it to be gluten free?? Many thanks
11 September 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager... A | Property representative |
Hi We do allow guide dogs in the bar area, but not in the restaurant. And we can adapt the menu for gluten free and if there isn't anything on there we can use the main menu as we have a lot of options there too Hope... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wimborne
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 883144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing