Fratelli

Fratelli

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 28 2588 1001+ Add website
Hours
Sun
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Mon
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tue
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Fri
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Sat
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Improve this listing
Is this restaurant good for special occasions?
CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles593 reviews
Excellent
362
Very good
122
Average
52
Poor
35
Terrible
22
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

dee r
County Antrim32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 none
My daughter and I had a meal here on Saturday 5 th March From the moment we arrived we were treated with attentive and polite service.The actual food was plentiful and tasty. We had a bottle of house wine which was very good. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a good meal at a reasonable price with a helpful staff.
Written March 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALogan
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Fratelli. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable meal at Fratelli and found the service, food and wine to be of a high quality. I am also pleased that you would recommend the restaurant and found your visit to be good value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back to Fratelli again in the near future. Kind Regards, Aaron Logan Assistant Head of Operations
Written March 12, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stephen L
Ballymena241 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
I love almost everything about this place. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Food is excellent with a good selection of choices on the menu. Currently running a 2 for 1 on main meals on a Monday which is a fantastic offer not to be missed. The ambience is great and very relaxed. There is a limited choice of draught beers but for me, the area that needs improving is their desserts which are all essentially the same consisting of a small glass, with biscuit base and flavoured mousse or creamy custard layer. I have a sweet tooth but always decline their sweet offerings. That said, overall I really like Fratellis and would be a regular visitor. I certainly recommend you try it out for yourself.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CMcCleanGalgorm
Dear Stephen L, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Fratelli. I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and that the food was of an excellent quality with a good variety of dishes on the menu. I appreciate your feedback in regards to the desserts and will be sure to pass your comments on to the Head Chef for consideration. I am pleased that you are a regular visitor to the restaurant and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future. Kind Regards, Paul O'Hanlon Fratelli Restaurant Manager
Written March 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael O
Drogheda32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019 none
We visited the hotel in Oct and eat in Fratelli food and service were excellent. We would eat Italian food on a regular basis but fratelli gave us some new option which we both enjoyed. Will certainly eat there the next time we visit Galgorm.
Written January 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CMcCleanGalgorm
Dear Go529321, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Fratelli. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you found both the food and service to be excellent and that the menu provided a good variety of options for your dining experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to Fratelli again in the very near future. Kind Regards, Aaron Logan Food & Beverage Manager
Written January 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Simon D
Moira253 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
On arrival, we were informed that we had a 2hr window in which to eat because they were fully booked, which initially seemed reasonable. While being seated the waitress immediately asked, "Still or sparkling water?" Not "can I get you anything to drink or here is a drinks menu" We asked for still water believing this to be free as by the manner of asking. Then out comes the bottle being opened and we realised this was our 1st charge at almost £5.00. The kids get to build their own pizza in which they get to dress up in chefs hat and apron. All good fun but expensive at £10.95 each, which included garlic bread, icecream a baby hot chocolate. Then the next well worded order taking to gain maximum revenue... The pasta menu shows each meal as starter or main with price beside. What we foolishly didn't notice under the dim lighting and tiny print was the chicken or prawn add on at the bottom of the menu at £5.75 each on top of the already epensive £14.25 Carbonara. It was again the manner in how the order was taken, not "Would you like to add chicken or prawns" which would make it clear it was extra. No, it was " Is that with chicken or prawns?" in a manner which made all 3 of our group order this dish believe it was included. Another nearly £18.00 to Fratelli. Waited an hour of our 2hr slot on the food to arrive and one of our group's meal didn't arrive. Waitress apologised and said they "had forgotten her meal". l had finished my meal when her's eventually arrived. As staff now were obviously watching the time on our table, the kids icecream order was taken while they were still munching on their pizza. Then it arrived with the chocolate drink only a minute or two behind. With the unexpected chicken and water added, the already expensive bill seemed worse. Add this to the forgotten and rushed lasagne and it was extremely disappointing Yes, I should have complained at the till, however having taken family guests out for a meal, I didnt want to be making an issue/scene over the bill in front of them. On a positive the setting is lovely, food was decent and staff were pleasant. Unfortunately the whole experience was disappointing.
Written February 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CMcCleanGalgorm
Dear Simon D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Fratelli. I am disappointed to read of your experience and that you did not find your visit to be value for money. Should you have raised these issues on the day, a member of the management team would have been happy to rectify any problems. I am pleased however that you found the setting, food and staff to be pleasant however I apologise that some of the smaller service issues left you feeling disappointed with your experience. Please accept my apologies once again and I hope this does not deter you from returning to the restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Paul O'Hanlon Fratelli Restaurant Manager
Written March 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Headismaximus
Greystones36 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019 none
Overall, I didn't particularly enjoy myself. I don't know if the restaurant to blame per say. I didn't like what I ordered. The main I ordered was ok but the portion was massive and it the taste was quite bland and you couldn't continue to eat it. The staff were polite and nice, the manager was nice. I just couldn't recommend the food personally.
Written April 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PDL
Portstewart232 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 none
An enjoyable meal in lovely surroundings with great service. I do have to say I found the food very expensive. We had 4 pasta dishes, all were quite good and reasonable portions, but £16 - £17 plus another c£5 for a portion of garlic fries and £7.25 for cheesy garlic bread. So effectively lasagne, 'chips' and a portion of garlic bread worked out in the region of £30. A tad excessive. I found the pizze to be very mediocre and at an average £17, would have to be classed as extremely poor value for money. Ironically these prices include VAT at the reduced 5% rate. I fully appreciate the increased cost of doing business at the moment, but really guys? Really???
Written September 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

redvelvet15
134 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 couples
We have been to this restaurant many times and we have had nothing but positive experiences . It has been our favourite Galgorm restaurant. Very disappointed with our recent visit On saturday service was incredibly slow. We ordered the house red wine and the waitress (I think it must have been a manager as she had different uniform) asked us what type we would like, I asked what was the price difference and she said all the house wines were around £24/£27 , she couldn’t give us an exact price. The wine we ordered was actually £28 on the bill! Annoying. Our focaccia starter was nice. I ordered carbonara as a main , was incredibly disappointed with the menu, on two pasta dishes!?! Very boring Italian menu. The menu seems to be a lot smaller than before covid With the carbonara, I was unable to eat it. It had the strangest taste. Maybe too much garlic as I had to pick out huge bits of garlic during each mouthful. The pizza my husband got was very oily and undercooked on the base. I wanted to give feedback but none of the staff asked us how our meal was, they didn’t ask if there was an issue when I handed back my full plate of pasta. When paying no one asked if everything was ok. We won’t be back unless their standards go back to the way they were before covid
Written August 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALogan
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to the Resort. I am disappointed to read of your most recent experience in particular with the quality of food and the service provided on this occasion. I apologise that this is not to the usual high standards you have experienced in the past in Fratelli. I would appreciate if you could contact me at alogan@galgorm.com should you be returning to the Resort to allow me to oversee your reservation and have the opportunity to restore your faith in the quality service and food we strive to provide. I hope this does not deter you from returning to Fratelli and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Aaron Logan Assistant Head of Operations
Written September 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richash85
25 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 family
We booked Fratelli as part of our Santa experience at the Galgorm and this is our fifth year doing this in a row (apart from during covid). We were really disappointed this year. The menus have gone digital - I don’t mind that but there’s half a dozen restaurants and half a dozen menus in each! Through the Galgorm app, I ended up with the Fratelli Belfast menu and was then told I can’t order from that. Someone should have really explained this as we sat down. I think the menu is extremely limited - I think there are 3 starters to choose from, 5 (maybe 6) main courses and 3 deserts. There’s only one pizza to choose from which I think is too limited. The food was actually very nice. However, the kids menu states that desert is either a small pudding or ice cream. When we asked about the small puddings, we were told that is a mistake on the menu and ice cream is the only option. My 2 kids didn’t want ice cream so we asked about other options and were told there’s nothing. Very disappointing, especially as this was on the menu. Finally, as the bill arrived, I noticed a weird £1.95 charge for aioli, which we didn’t have. I queried this charge with the waitress and she went away and came back and explained that as my daughter swapped her garlic butter for ketchup as part of her dough ball starter, there was a £1.95 charge!!! This is really poor - not only because ketchup shouldn’t be charged, no one mentioned the charge and it was a tiny pot! Unfortunately, all of this dampened our experience. Luckily, the rest of our time at the Galgorm was brilliant but we will be thinking again before returning to Fratelli
Written December 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chloe Robb
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was sorry to read of your disappointment with your dining experience in December. Should you wish to discuss your feedback with a member of the Management team, please forward your contact information to guestrelations@galgorm.com. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Vicki O'Loughlin Operations Manager
Written July 1, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jill H
11 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 couples
The restaurant was extremely cold to the extent that I had to put back on my wool coat. The heating really needs to be sorted out, especially for winter. The food was pretty good but expensive for what you got. My husband had sirloin steak which was served with overcooked chips and a mushroom sauce. There were no vegetables served with this dish, which cost more than £30. Wine was also expensive. If we dine here again, I think I would stick with a pizza and glass of wine as I would prefer to spend my money in the cocktail bar which is warm and cosy and a lovely ambiance. To be honest, Fratellis let’s down The Galgorm resort and I would not rush back.
Written December 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chloe Robb
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was sorry to read of your disappointment with your dining experience in December. Should you wish to discuss your feedback with a member of the Management team, please forward your contact information to guestrelations@galgorm.com. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Vicki O'Loughlin Operations Manager
Written July 1, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jonathan
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 none
Received a very warm welcome on Saturday evening, to what was certainly a very busy Fratellis. Unfortunately, once seated we were largely ignored and it became apparent that the restaurant was under staffed for the number of customers there. It was nearly impossible to catch a member of staff's eye and the volume of the music made conversation and ordering very difficult. We received no breadsticks and dips to enjoy whilst choosing from the (online!) menu, nor did we have an opportunity to order a drink prior to making our food choices. Subsequently, our first drinks order arrived with our food and was incorrect. When drinks finally arrived, I received the worst pint of Guinness I have had in a very long time - 2mm head. The second pint I ordered was just as bad. On the plus side my wife's duck main and mine of seared scallops on a crab risotto were both fantastic. Generally however a very disappointing evening which should have been much better, regardless of, but especially at the prices being charged.
Written June 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALogan
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to the Resort. I am disappointed to read of your recent dining experience in Fratelli. This is far from the standard of service we strive to provide our guests, so please accept my sincerest apologies on this occasion. I will be sure to investigate this with the Restaurant Manager to understand the situation and ensure a repeat experience does not occur. I am however pleased that you enjoyed your food however the issues with the service tainted this visit unfortunately. I hope this experience does not deter you from returning to the restaurant and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Aaron Logan Assistant Head of Operations
Written June 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

saz_louu
Monaghan3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 couples
We stayed in the hotel for two nights and ate in Fratellis on our second night. We were seated behind a plant with a view into the kitchen and the back room which wasn’t the most pleasant. We had to wait on someone to come down to us for a drinks order and asked for water along with them, we had to follow up on asking for water a further 3 times. The cocktails we got didn’t seem to have much alcohol or flavour - an expensive soft drink really. Eventually our water came and we ordered our food - a strange appetiser of tuna mayo and breadsticks came. Service was extremely slow and the restaurant wasn’t that busy. There were plenty of staff but they seemed to be running around aimlessly leaving one server trying to do everything. We could see them play fighting in the back room at one occasion as we waited on attention. Food was underwhelming and would not recommend unless it’s the only option left.
Written December 4, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki O'Loughlin
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was sorry to read that you experienced issues on your visit to Fratelli. Should you wish to discuss your feedback with a member of the Management Team, please forward your contact details to guestrelations@galgorm.com. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Vicki O'Loughlin Operations Manager
Written January 30, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maria T
Newry6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 couples
Stayed in Galgorm for 1 night, last time had food in the restaurant in the hotel and it was lovely. Husband wanted to try the Italian this time, when we arrived at this restaurant we were early and we had to wait ages for our table, starter was very average pasta & Pizza was very bland could make it better at home. Dessert was a disgrace, I just wanted ice-creme and was expecting a nice big glass bowl with strawberries or a waver what I got was a kids tub of ice creme with a lid that was completely frozen. I said to the lady I wanted to send it back and her response was just keep it as it’s in your package. Also the service was very slow and had to call people to get their attention for drinks etc no one came to check that everything was ok. For the price of the package which was over £500 for 1 night with 3 course meal I was very very disappointed and not what I expect from a 4 star hotel.
Written December 16, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki O'Loughlin
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was sorry to read that you experienced issues on your visit to Fratelli. Should you wish to discuss your feedback with a member of the Management Team, please forward your contact details to guestrelations@galgorm.com. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Vicki O'Loughlin Operations Manager
Written January 30, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rosamunde
226 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 couples
A bit disappointed. The service was fine and attentive. The cicchettis were tasty, but you'd need 4 to make up for not having a main course, and the deep fried mozzarella was not a good idea. Main complaint - the lasagne, which was more like a shepherd's pie. Tasted ok, but where was the parmesan, bechamel sauce, and tomato? - basically just mince, pasta and cheddar.
Written September 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ALogan
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Fratelli. I am pleased that the service provided throughout was attentive and that you found the cicchetti to be of a high standard. However please accept my apologies for your main course which was not up to standard during your dining experience. I have passed this feedback onto the Executive Chef so that he is aware and to allow him to address the issue. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative as it allows us to react to ensure a similar reoccurrence does not take place. I apologise again for this experience and I hope it does not deter you from returning to the Resort. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Aaron Logan Assistant Head of Operations
Written September 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amanda Black - Wallace
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
My husband and I had a superb dinner experience at Fratelli. An exceptional service was provided by Gaby and Tammi, who made us feel so very welcome with their friendly yet professional approach. The food was sublime as always. Well done to all the chefs. The staff have been well trained and all hygiene and safety measures were in place to ensure that we the customers could relax in this safe environment. A great credit to all of the staff here. Thank you to you all
Written July 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KateSoph
Ireland43 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
Food was decent, but not out of this world. Might have been because my serving was gluten free as others thought the food was delicious. Service was good but definitely stood out as not being at the same level as elsewhere within the Galgorm resort.
Written October 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 583
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Millside Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · European, British
The Grouse
$$ - $$$ · Irish, Bar, European, British
Sanjha Indian Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Indian, Asian, Balti
Oranmore Guest House
$$ - $$$ · Irish, British
Gillies Grill
$$ - $$$ · Irish, European, British
Gatto's Ristorante
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza
Castle Kitchen + Bar
$$ - $$$ · Bar, British, Grill, Street Food
Rococo
$$ - $$$ · European, British
The Carrie Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · British
The Clockhouse Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · British
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FRATELLI, Ballymena - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Ballymena HotelsBallymena Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ballymena
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars