We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Steading Country Inn

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kilmartin, Drumnadrochit, Scotland
+44 1456 476231
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

This place is unique tucked out of the way we stayed just the one night and I'm sure we will treasure the memory for ever, good food good hospitality great setting don't be fooled by first impression look deeper into the character of the place and hope your stay is as good as ours

Helpful?
Thank steve12345280
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

A colleague and i stayed here overnight as we were passing through. We were late for food but owner knocked up two huge burgers for us...they were amazing. She showed us to our room and took our breakfast order. Breakfast was absolutely amazing and nothing was too much trouble. Great banter with the owners and the room was comfy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2016

This was a first visit to Scotland and our two night stay was excellent. Everything was immaculately clean, from the bed linen to the cups and saucers in the room to the bathroom and shower, etc and after a long journey it was lovely to be shown the room and how to work the shower, tv, etc. The drinks tray... More 

Helpful?
Thank TAD49
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed here for two nights in May. We were made to feel very welcome by Sheila, Garry and the regulars in the inn. Our room was spacious and clean - we could not fault it. When we arrived we were not sure what we wanted to do other than view the loch and Sheila gave us so many ideas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie E
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2016

My wife and I found the entire 9 night stay most comfortable with excellent food and service. Sheila and Garry do everything possible to make you most welcome. We would have no hesitation in booking again. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank johnej2016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2016

Very much enjoyed my one night stay here. What a refreshing change to be shown the room and how everything worked rather than just being left to it. Accommodation was very comfortable and spatious. Breakfast was excellent, I shall definitely come back here as it felt very welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Jeaniepc
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Straightforward good food made from fresh, takes a little time because of that but I think it's worth the wait. It very reasonably priced at a little over £20 per couple with sides and drinks. Great place to get some local info too with maps on the wall, leaflets and a well informed owner. Toasties on cold day too with... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimslater
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

We attempted to get food down the road at fiddlers but were told that they were too busy. Had a quick look on here and found this place. So glad we did! The owners were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. Food was great value and lovely. We liked it so much we went back again! Lots of choice on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottetopps M
Salisbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2015

We booked in for a night, after visiting nearby Glen Affric. The food was very reasonably priced and great quality - I had a venison and goats' cheese burger, followed by home made sticky toffee pudding, which was absolutely amazing. Breakfast was also excellent and featured lots of fruit, as well as the cooked items (including smoked salmon!) We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharoftheShire
Heybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We were disappointed by our first evening meal near Lochness which although filled hungry tummies was little more than fried up freezer food and not the fresh traditional meal we were expecting.

Helpful?
Thank TONS4
Gary A, Owner at The Steading Country Inn, responded to this review

We was very sorry to here that you was disappointed with the food and surprised as we do not use freezer food but prepare all our meals as per order. Could you please let us know what you ordered so that we can look into this and respond as appropriate. More 

Travellers who viewed The Steading Country Inn also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to The Steading Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating
Good for
Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kilmartin, Drumnadrochit, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Loch Ness  >  Drumnadrochit
  • Phone Number: +44 1456 476231

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Steading Country Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?