We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cafe Sunart

$
Cafe, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Smart Oakwoods, Strontian, Scotland
+44 1967 402277
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

Lucky to get a table in this cafe as it was busy with a mixture of locals and visitors. Good variety of food to eat in or take away. Pot of Tea and cakes served promptly. Soup looked delicious. Reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank maizedaisy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

What do a Cafe Sunart bacon roll and Miss Piggy have in common? Both are a tasty bit of pig with soft buns. I digress. I had a bacon roll and a soft drink. Partner had a sausage roll. Partners mum had a date slice. Was pleased to get a pot of tea when I was only expecting a cup.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angus S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The cakes were scrumptious and warmed briefly before served! The Brownie was particularly yummy! Lovely place! All reasonably priced as well.

Helpful?
Thank Brodie S
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

A lovely fish and chip lunch on the terrace of this charming cafe! Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and such a beautiful location!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2016

Really friendly staff in this cosy wee place. Quiet when we arrived so didn't have to wait long to be served good fish & chips. Basic public toilets adjoining.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016

This wee cafe near the little hamlet's shop and tourist information center (as well as a local pottery shop) is a wonderful addition to the headland: cheerful friendly staff, simple food (fish and chips, macaroni and cheese, toasties, smoked haddock pate with oatcakes) and marvelous home-baking (the coffee-walnut cake and date slice the best ever). We've eaten there several times... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived today with a coach party having booked in 2 days ago. As we approached we were sent away. Told no coaches. Very rude and obnoxious staff. All that business lost. We are spreading the word. We hope their cafe shuts down soon. A disgrace to Scotland

Helpful?
1 Thank Tourismo92
575lizzie, Owner at Cafe Sunart, responded to this review

This was a 50 seater coach..at no time was a booking accepted or indeed made..we had informed the bus company the week previous to find a venue capable of coping with there numbers..we have 24 seats in total..do the maths. My staff politely explained we did not have the seats or staff to deal with these numbers. Perhaps your complaint... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016

There are few places to eat on this headland so we were very pleased to have stumbled across this little cafe. You really can't fault it for value and quality. I had fish and chips and they were lovely as was my wifes toastie.

Helpful?
Thank andrewrowe21
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2016

Visited Cafe Sunart twice last week, once for morning coffee and on the second occasion for lunch. On both occasions we were impressed with the friendly service and pleasant atmosphere. Our meal was prepared quickly and of excellent quality. Highly recommended cafe.

Helpful?
Thank John C
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2016

I had freshly made chicken and noodle soup with a fresh roll it was delicious, and very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank letmetellyouaboutit1

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sunart also viewed

 
Lochaline, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe Sunart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Smart Oakwoods, Strontian, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Strontian
  • Phone Number: +44 1967 402277

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cafe Sunart and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sunart staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?