We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arrochar Fish & Chips

$
Fast food, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Old Military Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

THE Worst fish and chips I have ever had in my life. So disgusting, covered with tonnes of oil (to the point I have ruined my trousers) NO taste to fish at all and chips? I wouldn't even called them chips. All of this £6 lol this is a joke. I have actually only registered on this to express my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank witkaer
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely little chip shop in middle of village .. great menu selection. Fish cooked to perfection and two lovely young girls serving with a smile

Helpful?
Thank Myra H
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review More 

Bridge of Weir
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Frozen chips, not hand cut, Ordered a burger, got a cheeseburger (dont like cheese and was back at my hotel when noticed), burger poor quality and reheated, bun poor quality. Places like this need to up their game if they want to stay in business as modern day customers expect more nowadays!

Helpful?
Thank Cowzie
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

I'm so sorry I put cheese on your burger in error. It's a pity you didn't come back, I would have made you a fresh burger. I don't reheat burgers they are made fresh and placed in my fresh daily delivered rolls. I don't sell frozen chips. Thankyou for mentioning my place looks nice More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fish supper from here on the last night of our holiday at the Argyll cabins down the road. The fish & chips were cooked to order, the fish was very fresh and crisply battered, just lovely. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Fiona190786
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for taking the time to post a nice review, very kind More 

Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have frequently visited the Arrochar Chippy and find the owner and staff there very friendly and helpful. I particularly enjoy the sausage supper with curry sauce. Little Gem of a place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
Macduff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017

We tried to go to this fish and chip shop however found out it is currently closed due to refurbishment. Spoke to a local who said she thinks it will open in a couple of weeks. Very gutted as after hearing the reviews as I'm sure we would have loved it. I gave 3 stars for this, as thought it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Thanks for putting this on. It's open next week hopefully Thursday More 

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

Arrochar fish and chips right by the shore of Loch Long, can eat in or out, we had ours out and sat by the shore with great views of the loch and mountains. would use again

Helpful?
Thank stuart f
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Thankyou very much More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Quirky little Fish n Chip shop in the middle of the village. They make gorgeous local soaps aswell. Lovely friendly staff and the Fish n chips were the best we had tasted in a long time. Even better than our local chippy down in Cornwall.

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your lovely review, very kind More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We had quite a large order and everything was cooked fresh. Great food! And great service. Very friendly helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank Scottie0201
Atticapartment, Manager at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your lovely review More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

I've never reviewed anything before but we were so disappointed with this chip shop that I just had to. My husband myself and our two kids all got fish and chips from here about 5 hours ago and we all still feel horrible after eating it. I've never had a greaser chippy before, couldn't even eat the batter ( which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Algra93
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were not happy with your fish and chips, I aim to please all More 

Travellers who viewed Arrochar Fish & Chips also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to Arrochar Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Fast food, British, Scottish
Restaurant features
Takeout
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Military Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park  >  Arrochar

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Arrochar Fish & Chips and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Scotland, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Scotland, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Arrochar Fish & Chips staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?