We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, is a 19th Century Coaching in, steeped in old history situated in the Centre of the old Market town of Dolgellau, with spectacular view of the surrounding mountains is ideally located for exploring the beauty of North and Mid Wales. This historical building, which has been extensively modernised over the years has a 23 individual furnished bedrooms behind its iconic ivy-clad walls, which can accommodate for up to 51 stay in guests. Room prices start from £55 per person on a bed and breakfast basis and group discounts are available for over ten people. With its on-site restaurant, bar, large dining room and lounges available, offering Home-made local produce, to
PRICE RANGE
C$11 - C$26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
FEATURES
Seating, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
273
224
109
60
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
273
224
109
60
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie sunday roast burger fries salmon pub grub ate here lovely food pint dog veg rooms
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of walkers who had pre-booked our meal a week in advance and reserved a table for half past two. Unfortunately, our experience at the Royal Ship Hotel was extremely disappointing. Upon our arrival at the appointed time, the man behind the...bar was incredibly rude. He spoke to one member of our group very abruptly, telling him to "hurry up, it'll be supper time soon" and even rolled his eyes. This was while the gentleman was merely trying to look at the ales on offer. The barman continued with his unfriendly behavior by remarking, "you booked for 2.30 and you'll all be moaning if the food is burnt,". His attitude made us feel unwelcome from the start. Given the circumstances, we had one drink each, quickly ate our food, and left. My father-in-law didn’t even bother to have a drink; he just wanted to eat and go. In hindsight, we should have walked out without eating at all. The customer service was absolutely disgusting, and we were not made to feel welcome in the slightest.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

001keho, At 2.20 out of the 29 people there were 7 that had arrived, one lady very kindly went to ask the others sat watching live music at another pub to please make their way, we have 45 other guest's waiting to order the last...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a booking at 2 30 for a group of ramblers.When we arrived the man at the bar called John was very rude telling us that we were late when we were there on time and told us that our food would be ruined.There...were 29 of us and we had pre booked our meals a week earlier only to be told that the 7 roast chicken supremes we'd pre ordered were not available.We were made to feel very unwelcome.We will never set foot in there againMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Eryl D, 001keho, At 2.20 out of the 29 people there were 7 that had arrived, one lady very kindly went to ask the others sat watching live music at another pub to please make their way, we have 45 other guest's waiting to order...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love staying here The Royal Ship is beautiful. Rooms are very clean beds and pillows are so comfy best sleep ever. Food is amazing lots to choose from 👏 breakfast is just delicious 😋 The staff go above and beyond John Frank Ashley Dan Hannah...make us so welcome everytime, they have become special friends to us. We try and come back every month. Dolgellau holds a special place in our hearts ❤️More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Traceydrury, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed May 5, 2024 via mobile

Visited this fab hotel many times and we always have such a great relaxing time. John and his team are brilliant and so friendly and helpful. Great food, lovely rooms and dog friendly with a lovely treat for dogs.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2024

Helen M, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! Thank you again for the great review!

Reviewed April 15, 2024

Booked three rooms for one night family getaway.. All rooms beautifully decorated, beds comfortable, delicious breakfast, all staff very friendly and accommodating, especially John. Cannot fault this popular hotel which we visit regularly Dolgellau is a great little town. Ten miles from Barmouth. Some of...us cycled there along the Mawddach train whilst others caught the bus. Highly recommended place to stay and eat. We love it.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2024

Freedom20424039971, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! Thank you again for the great review!

Reviewed April 6, 2024

It was busy when we arrived at around seven during the Easter school holidays. The congenial waitress said we might have to wait (which was to be expected), but we got our food 30-40 minutes after ordering, which I thought was fair enough. The food...wasn't so good though, and over-priced, not to mention the drinks (two pints, two cokes and a medium wine for £25 anyone?). We ate the lamb koftas, the "hanging" kebabs, two burgers and the goats' cheese tart. My son's burger had a hair in it (which we didn't mention, as I'm fairly relaxed about these things (easy for me to say, as it wasn't mine, I know!), and don't really like kicking up a stink when we're out as a family. The koftas were o.k, but the goats' cheese tart was tiny, and in all likelihood mass produced off-site (please see photograph). For the prices they charge, it might at least be home made, or if not, perhaps a little larger than a Scotch pancake, or serve it on a smaller plate so you don't notice. Worse, though was the hanging kebab which simply wasn't hanging. It just lay there prostrate on the plate with no sign of hanging at all. Hanging kebabs are a "thing". They look "exciting" as they dangle there, and whilst I am being a little facetious, I expect most people expect to see something swaying on their table when they are presented with it. If it's not hanging, don't call it hanging. It's just a lie. Can't remember what everyone had for pudding, apart from my son, who had TWO SCOOPS OF ICE CREAM FOR £7.95. Come on, at least make it three scoops. That is just a rip, and is a metaphorical slap round the face for unsuspecting diners like myself. Anyway, can't say I'd recommend it, although it's quite nice inside.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2024

Cargiftworld, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your visit with us.

Reviewed April 6, 2024 via mobile

The stay was really good. Staff were excellent and the room was very comfy. The breakfast was very good but bit disappointed with evening meal. It would be nice if the bar area was nicer with some comfy seating to make it cosy.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2024

Hello Mattytcolchester, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Thank you again for leaving us this response!

Reviewed February 24, 2024 via mobile

Have been coming here for years and it never disappoints. Staff are lovely and the food is good especially the breakfasts. Our room was nicely made up and had a complimentary tea tray with lovely teas and coffee bags. I would say it’s probably time...to update the duvets and pillows as ours were a tad out of shape! That’s our only criticism as for the price we paid it was very good value for money!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2024

Nanatats, thanks for the positive review! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed February 11, 2024

Have been to this hotel a couple of times before for tea and a scone and was friendly and nice scones. Sadly on this occasion it was a very disappointing experience and I doubt we will visit again. My daughter ordered a decaf latte and...it was really unpleasant - tasted like instant coffee and undrinkable really, if you like nice coffee, I tried it also. She took it back and the older man at the counter was not helpful and made her feel as if she should not have brought it back though she did it very politely. He begrudgingly offered another drink and she chose a tea - no offer of a refund of the difference either. Another man begrudgingly and with an unfriendly manner brought over the tea and when I asked if the coffee had been instant he said no and they serve the very best Brazilian coffee beans and everyone says how lovely it is and basically that we shouldn’t be complaining! Anyway I found this hard to believe as my daughter’s decaf latte was awful. I asked a pleasant waitress after if the decaf was instant and she said it was not the beans but came out of a packet! Hmmm…. What I had suspected all along. So not a great experience -poor, unhelpful and misleading customer service and unpleasant coffee, the scones were nice and interior pleasant but will try somewhere nicer next time.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2024

Ceitidh_1, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your visit with us. 1 I took the coffee from your daughter without question and was happy to replace, 2 I also took the replaced with Earl Gray has requested. Decaf Coffee comes...More

Reviewed November 28, 2023

Little trip to our fav place and hotel. It was amazing inside xmas decorations were up they looked stunning. Staff are amazing and so friendly and have become our friends. Bedrooms are lovely shower very powerful bed so comfy Breakfast is the best just love...coming back ♥️More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2023

Traydey, thanks for the positive review! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed November 9, 2023

Lovely spot right in the centre of town. We left our EV car on charge in the nearby car park while we had dinner. Good food and respectable prices. Very dog friendly and our little Jack Russell loved the Sunday Roast dog treats.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2023

Terrygparrott, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! Thank you again for the great review!

Reviewed November 4, 2023

We went to the Royal Ship last Wednesday. We were shown to 2 separate tables right next to each other, by an older man who spoke to us very abruptly. We asked if we could move the tables next to each other as we were...a group. He said no, then told us to sit down! We were really taken aback that he was speaking to us in such a rude manner and so we just left. Customer service at its worst. We went over the road to T H Roberts coffee shop where we had a lovely warm welcome, delicious food and a lovely time with our friends.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2023

nobody would ever tell a customer to just sit down EVER, the fact tables could not be put together is because we can not get around to serve and it blocks tables on the other side. I understand this wasn't what you wanted to hear...More

Reviewed November 3, 2023 via mobile

We hadn’t booked and it was quite busy but the greeting was warm and friendly, drinks served quickly, menu varied and the food very nice and reasonably priced. Service also cheerful and the decor very tasteful and not overlit which seems to be the case...often these days. Will definitely return when we are in the area.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2023

53ursulal, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! Thank you again for the great review!

Reviewed October 29, 2023 via mobile

Just needed to eat lunch in a decent looking place that had room for us . Parking was limited to an hour on the square but we risked it . Menu was a bit more interesting than the cafe across the road and it had...3 eating areas plus outside tables . A very friendly and personable welcome . Drink orders quickly taken, and decision made . Homity pie for me chips and mushy peas . For Mr B, Steak and ale pie , mash and veg with a half of the local brew. Toilets visited and note at door says non patrons are welcome to come in to use their pristine loos. How nice. Food arrived . Good homely food at a reasonable price. Table in the window to watch the world go by . Friendly waitress brought the bill and we were on our way 1 hr 10 mins later.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2023

Jill B, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed October 17, 2023

Came for dinner with a large group. The food was good, the Sunday roast especially. The service was prompt and very friendly. Prior to our visit the staff had been very helpful and responsive with queries about our booking - always got back to me...quickly. Would recommend to anyone coming to Dolgellau.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2023

Bluebell_cat, thank you for sharing your positive experience! We hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Y Meirionnydd
408 reviews
.11 km away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
177 reviews
2.86 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hotel & Gardens
78 reviews
2.99 km away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
161 reviews
6.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Y Meirionnydd Restaurant
537 reviews
.10 km away
Tafarn Y Gader Tapas, Bistro & Bar
535 reviews
.07 km away
T H Roberts Coffee Shop
961 reviews
.01 km away
Torrent Walk Hotel
202 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cymer Abbey
47 reviews
1.52 km away
St. Mary's Church
9 reviews
.13 km away
Y Bont Fawr BrIdge
6 reviews
.16 km away
Dolgellau Farmers Market
5 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NatalieEmma4
October 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Julian H |
Yes, it is, but in the bar area only (where you can have a meal). Not the restaurant.
1
Vote
Balvind
August 15, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Balvind | Reviewed this property |
Only if basil faulty is not around
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ROYAL SHIP - DOLGELLAU - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Ship - Dolgellau

Yes, Royal Ship - Dolgellau is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Royal Ship - Dolgellau is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5