We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clwyd Gate

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A494 Ruthin Rd | Llanbedr DC, Ruthin LL15 1YF, Wales
+44 1824 703532
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

Went for a meal on a Tuesday evening with locals. Large party in another room - we were the only diners in the restaurant. We were made aware of the large party next door and the possibility that we may have to wait for food. OK. Unfortunately, one of our party's main course was cold and reheating was not an... More 

Helpful?
Thank aldo17
Flintshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

Would not recommend eating at the Clwyd Gate we paid £40 for a meal and a Christmas concert the music was great but the food was awful and the service was equally as bad. The starters arrived and things looked promising but when the main course started to trickle out things took a turn for the worse. Yorkshires burnt, roasties... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank momawink
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016

Hadn't been here for about 14 years.. so we were excited to visit again now it has reopened under new ownership. The food was fabulous.. great portion sizes (especially the starters), nicely presented and great quality local food. £12.95 for a 2-course lunch seemed very reasonable given the plate sizes, and I think most would struggle to manage a 3-course... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amber Y
Mold
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

Booked this for mum s birthday as a treat. We thought £13 a head should produce a decent Sunday lunch. Meal wasn't very hot, Yorkshire s and stuffing were overdone , some of us had new potatoes and the unlucky ones didn't! Manager never spoke or smiled while we were there and the waitresses were either inexperienced or just incompetent!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MoldAjb
Gronant, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

I had been to the Clwyd Gate on a previous occasion so when thinking about where to eat Sunday lunch for my birthday I decided to return to the Clwyd Gate. When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely front of house staff who took our drinks order and showed us to our table with the menus to peruse... More 

Helpful?
Thank sammigee75
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Went again to the Clwyd Gate, with a group of friends. The free bottle of wine just to be dressed up was a brilliant idea. Food was good very tasty and good value for money. Service was excellent all staff polite and courteous. Certain members go over and above to ensure a good time is had by all.

Helpful?
Thank mandyl451
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Great value lunch menu with stunning sights across the valley. Pleasant dining area with friendly and efficient service. Great portions you will not leave here hungry! We had starters and maind- didn't try desserts but they looked good. Well worth a visit for lunch and there is a walk over the valley just opposite if you want to work off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
Steve J, Owner at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and it was good to see you both again so soon afterwards More 

North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

Decided to support local for a Saturday early evening meal. Arrived and was given a table by the window. Whilst we were about to order drinks by bar before being seated the waitress stated she would be with us to seat us as she was seeing to other customers. Then I take it a man appeared in casual dirty clothing.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank welshy70
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Having eaten here twice for Sunday lunch, one evening meal and a 40th party I didn't hesitate to accept my invitation to lunch!! I can't eat gluten which has never been an issue before today!!! But today it was a very big issue. I suspect they don't have an allergens book which legislation states they should have. After several trips... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Ceri K
Steve J, Manager at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review

How unfortunate that you chose to vent your anger at a member of staff by shouting at her before you left the premises, having been rude not once but twice to that same person who had gone that extra mile to try and please you. Although we do not specialise in catering for people with allergens, we will always do... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We called in at lunchtime for a snack as we'd been walking with the hound in the area. The weather was mixed and we were prepared to sit outside with mutt; but as it was quiet, and we were in a corner, Steve the friendly proprietor allowed our (well behaved) companion to sit under the table whilst we consumed our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K

Travellers who viewed Clwyd Gate also viewed

 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to Clwyd Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$34
Cuisine
British, Welsh, International, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A494 Ruthin Rd | Llanbedr DC, Ruthin LL15 1YF, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Denbighshire  >  Ruthin
  • Phone Number: +44 1824 703532
Description
Our restaurant was opened by the new owner in mid September 2015 with an exciting head chef, fantastic team both front of house and in the kitchen. We are offering both lunch and dinner meals and traditional Sunday roasts as well as specials. Come join us for food or just a drink in our lounge area and see what delights we have to offer.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clwyd Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?